We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel for a quiet getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel for a quiet getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I can't praise this hotel highly enough. The staff are friendly and efficient and were always happy to go the extra mile to make our stay more enjoyable. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and very comfortable with large beds, great air conditioning and well equipped bathrooms. We were upgraded twice during our stay - once to a room with outdoor spa and then again to a private villa with its own plunge pool. While it was a bit of a palaver to have to repack each time, staff helped and really it was worth the effort for the upgrade, especially to the gorgeous villa.
Breakfast each day is a generous buffet with something for every taste. It was quite a highlight!
The hotel is at the quieter end of Chaweng, which is what we wanted and one of the main reasons we picked it. There's a trade-off here though: the beach is definitely better in the busier end of town. The beach at the Sareeraya is groomed every day and is pristine, but the sea is choked with seaweed and very shallow, so not really suitable for swimming or snorkelling unless you wade quite far out. However, we spent our time by the pool anyway. The pool is quite small, but then this is a smaller hotel, so it never felt busy or overcrowded.
Having said the hotel is in the quiet end of town, it's not remote. There are plenty of excellent beachfront restaurants right next to the hotel (make sure you try the food at Lazy Wave - part of the Tango resort), and a five minute walk into town takes you to shops and restaurants galore. We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear RamoGirl,

Thank you for your generous compliments! We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us, especially the hospitality, well-appointed rooms and breakfast. Our convenient location makes it easy for guests to relax and unwind in peaceful surrounds and take in the shopping and activities of Chaweng center.

During the summer months the water sea level is usually lower than average and limits swimming possibilities around Koh Samui. Many people, however, happily lay on the beach or walk along the sandbar to take a dip further away from the beach. Sun loungers and shade umbrellas are available for our guests to use on the beach and also by the swimming pool.

We look forward to your return!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    192
    58
    24
    20
See reviews for
124
495
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We really loved this hotel- beautiful open air decore mixing Thai and modern styles, well appointed and spacious rooms (ours had an outdoor shower in addition to indoor shower), and a private jacuzzi balcony. The infinity pool is beautiful and has a small swim up pool. It felt romantic and cozy, unlike those massive sprawling resorts. Service was absolutely wonderful from the moment we arrived. If your room is not ready at arrival, they have a "transit lounge" with tv, internet, and changing room/showers. Great breakfast with made to order eggs/pancakes/waffles/etc and variety of juices and fruits. Hotel is a 5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants on the main drag in Chaweng but on the quieter north end. Only drawback is the beach it's on is so full of seaweed, you can't really swim in it. But we just walked down 10 minutes along the beach towards the southern end and found the waters there crystal clear and calm for swimming.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Nomadgal,

Thank you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel to be romantic, cozy and well located. Our rooms are well appointed and have many personal touches, which makes them finest in the area. We are happy that you also enjoyed our breakfast buffet, which features a good variety of options from western to our local cuisine to suit all palates.

The location of our hotel is very convenient as we are set in a quiet area of Chaweng Beach, yet only a few minutes walk away from the bustling downtown. Pieces of drifting seaweed sometimes wash ashore like anywhere else, but you can still swim in sea and our staff is always making sure that it is removed along the shore and the beach is kept clean.

We look forward to having you back soon!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We spend 10 days at Sareeraya and unfortunately had to leave with very different feelings. On one site we enjoyed the absolute beautiful and very well maintained hotel facility. The staff was very friendly and helped where every they could. On the other site was there the fact that the hotel mainly was occupied with large families with small children. The permanent noise of the kids and especially the parents who tried to get them under control when running around the pool, was far away from what I call pleasant. The fact that the hotel was far overbooked and some families had to stay in other hotels but understandable enjoyed to come to our pool for a swim during the day, did not very help as well. We really had more the feeling of being in a Club Med or Robinson Club than in a boutique hotel.
But the biggest disappointment was that from the hotel management nobody was present where we could have addressed our disappointment. The General Manger of the hotel did not a single time the effort to be present and available for his guests. I'm living in Asia since more than 3 years and have spent times in many hotels in the same price area and in every other place for the GM it is just the normal level of service quality to invite his guests once for an apero or at least be once available e.g. during breakfast and ask the guest active for a feedback.

I had spoken several times with the staff at the reception but understandable they tried to be friendly to everybody and didn't want to get in a discussion with all the parents. I also filled out the feedback form and placed my disappointment including my email address. But again no feedback - that’s what I call poor management.

As a summary it is a lovely place, the staff is great, the food very good and the rooms average. But be carefully when booking this hotel, double check that it is not overbooked, be aware that there can be large families with young kids and especially don't expect to get the attention and help you would expect from a general manager.

Would we go back? Most likely not.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor which had a beautifull view over the sea. Never else the street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralph_O_________88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Ralph_O_________88,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Koh Samui. We are glad that you were satisfied with our beautiful and well maintained hotel facility and staff, who strive to make every guest feel welcome and provide the best service possible.

We regret that you were unable to completely enjoy your stay with us due to the number of children on the property while your stay. Although our hotel is ideal for couples looking for a peaceful and pampering retreat, we, like any other resort, have more families than usual during school vacations. During these periods, we always set up additional sun chairs on the beach for those who prefer to stay in a quieter spot outside the main pool area and as you saw, we have a separate kids pool, where the children play. Although our general manager is not on site all the time, other hotel management is always present and can be contacted at any time to listen to and assist our guests.

If you ever decide to stay with us again on another period, we are confident that we will exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is my 5th trip to Samui and 1st time in Sareeraya Villa & Suites. This trip tops it all! The reception we received ( while making reservations ) before even checking in was fabulous. It was a short stay but the hotel ambience and pleasant staffs made it count. Breakfast was great, my kids enjoyed the food which really matters to us. View and the ocean breeze was heavenly. We had a breathtakingly beautiful lotus pond by the side of our seaview villa, blooming and bloomed lotus is truly a Godly sight. Had stayed in Samui's bigger hotel names but none came close to the wonderful experience we had in Sareeraya. Even the meaning of 'Sareeraya' is lovely. We have a property in Bohput but my family has made a choice to come back again real soon and maintain this as our Hotel of Choice. Oh yes!! the private plunge pool with jacuzzi and jacuzzi bath tub is awesome. No regrets, No complaints only compliments.

Room Tip: Choose Villa's with Seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS RAVIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear CHRIS RAVIN T,

Thank you for choosing Sareeraya Villas & Suites for your holiday this year and for taking the time to write your magnificent review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that our hotel ambience, accommodations and in particular our service team was able to make your stay a pleasant one. We receive a lot of favorable comments in regards to our lovely setting with lotus ponds and beautiful views and are happy you also enjoyed these aspects of our hotel. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming your family back for a return visit!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had two wonderful weeks at Sareeraya in Koh Samui in April 2012. The resort is ideally located, being a just 10 minute walk to the main restaurant strip in Chewang, but far enough away to allow us to enjoy the serenity of Koh Samui Thailand. A great restaurant is located in the hotel, and I was very surprised to find the food of the highest standard. Usually I don't eat in hotels, but Sareeraya is now an exception to that rule. We were fortunate enough to enjoy a complimentary upgrade for our last four nights, and we really enjoyed the extra facilities in the Villa. All in all a most enjoyable and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: If you can stretch your budget, I strongly recommend you consider a Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Ron S,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback through TripAdvisor. We appreciate you recognizing our convenient location and excellent restaurant that showcases a great choice of international and local signature dishes in a beautiful beachfront setting. We are glad that you also enjoyed the upgrade to one of our Pool Villas and that you had the most enjoyable and relaxing experience here with us. We hope you will join us again soon!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The hotel is nicely decorated, our rooms were spacious. We like the location, that it is not in the middle of the crowded Chaweng, the beach is quiet. The food in the restaurant is just o.k, there are other restaurants nearby that serve much better Thai food. The Friday BBQ buffet was good!.
I had a cooking class which was very nice and fun. I thought the service was not that good. I had to beg for service at the beach each morning... The breakfast is very rich with many options.

Room Tip: We preffered the rooms on the 3rd floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SivanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear SivanS,

Thank you for your contribution and kind review on TripAdvisor. We are glad the convenient location of our hotel along with spacious accommodations served you well. Our guests typically rate our Chef’s Table Restaurant very high and we are happy to hear that you were pleased with the wide choice of dishes we offer. Our BBQ buffet in particular welcomes many guests every week and is a real feast of tastes.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and are always very pleased to receive feedback from our guests to ensure that our high standards are retained. Having been particularly busy during your staying period has clearly placed a strain on our normal standards of service on the beach, which we regret.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We are regulars at Koh Samui and we definitely found our favourite place on Chaweng this time around. We got a room with a spa on the balcony with a beach view which was nice (especially when it rained and we couldn't use the beach chairs) but the rooms below us had direct access to a semi-private pool from the verandah which would have been nice too. There are pool villas as well if you want to spend more money but we quite enjoy being around the main pool with direct access to cocktails! We had breakfast included in our rate and overall found the cost to be very reasonable for the quality of the hotel, which was relatively new.

We pretty much like to lie on beach chairs, read our books and drink cocktails on our Koh Samui trips to wind down, and this place was great for that. The beach at that end of Chaweng is much quieter than the hussle and bussle down south, but close enough to walk down for dinner or drinks later on.

Ther service was amazing and the staff were super friendly, we will be back here when we return. We left just after the Qantas strike stopped which we were kind of disappointed about as we didn't want to leave and were looking forward to spending some more time there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear SoniaScott,

Thank you for staying at Sareeraya Villas & Suites whilst on your holiday last October! We are delighted to learn that your accommodation with outdoor Jacuzzi was comfortable and that you found our facilities and service to be amazing. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is always a great pleasure to hear from guests whose expectations were met. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.2 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sareeraya Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Property: Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Address: 100 / 1 Moo2, Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sareeraya Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 49 exquisite suites and pool villas, Sareeraya Villas & Suites is conveniently set on the quieter part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance to the most popular shopping, nightlife and entertainment area. Each villa provides a private plunge pool while each suite features a spacious terrace with ocean view or outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel facilities include Raya Spa, Gym, Swimming pool, Transit Lounge, Chef’s Table Restaurant, Read Red Bar, Her Bar & Free WIFI Access. The perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sareeraya Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sareeraya Villas Hotel Chaweng
Sareeraya Villas And Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing