We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We booked a regular room at the hotel.
When we got to the hotel we were welcomed in a Thai way, it was very nice.
The room was great! Big room with a big balcony.. But there was a problem with the air con, it didn’t cool the room, the crow in the reception was extremely nice, and send the engineer to fix it , during the day we were out of the room and when we came back the air con still didn’t work properly.
I was a bit upset about the situation, but I must say that the hotel manager took the matter in to his hand and immediately apologized for the inconvenience and upgrade us to an AMAZING villa with an outdoor Jacuzzi.
I will say it again- the villa was amazing!
It had an amazing outdoor Jacuzzi, a huge Jacuzzi in our room, a huge shower and another one out door! The bed was big and the air con was wonderful.
Before we came to this hotel we were in 2 very good hotels as well (Thai house beach resort in LAMAI beach, and SANTHIYA resort in ko phangan) but I must say that this villa we had here was the best accommodation we had all our trip!
The breakfast is great with many choices and every morning we ate something new.
The pool area is amazing as well and they have the most cool and smart thing, in front of the beach they made an artificial beach that is separated from the beach itself by 3 steers, that gives you a felling that you are laying on the beach but without the hassle of the beach sellers, these annoying over charged sellers will try to sell you everything they can.
In this case they cannot come close to you , it’s great!
The hotel is located next to the Amari hotel; it’s a 5 minute walk to the city center.
On the beach next to the hotel you can find a nice bar, with good music and plenty of fireworks to blow up! It’s fun!
Over all I must say that we had a great experience in this hotel,
We will definitely recommend this hotel to all of our friends and definitely visit again!
Thank you
Effi & Alona Gal

Room Tip: villa with an outdoor jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effigal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Effi & Alona Gal,

Thank you so much for your great review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit to Sareeraya Villas & Suites. We are pleased to read how much you liked our pool and beach area, breakfast and accommodation. We are very fortunate with our location being only a few minutes walk from everything Chaweng has to offer.

We apologize that there was an A/C problem at your original suite and you had to be moved. Fortunately it was not too much inconvenience to you and you were eventually more than pleased with the upgrade. It is very delightful to receive such high praise about our villas.

We are glad you chose to stay with us during your vacation and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    201
    62
    26
    23
See reviews for
132
531
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

After checking out of 'the briza resort' after one night we were so glad to stumble across this magnificent resort only a hundred meters further along the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at sareeraya and are already planning a return trip next year.

We had a pool access suite which suited us very well as we had a 8 month old baby at the time. We did use the baby sitting service once or twice and it was fine, although not that cheap.

The food was great, breakfasts were buffet and of good quality. The cocktails were good too.

Lovely beach out the front, excellent landscaping and great location being walking distance to the main chaweng shopping area (great atmosphere, shopping, restaurants etc) and opposite a small group of shops and the hospital.

We hired a motorbike through the resort and we would recommend this if you want to hire a bike. It cost about 100 baht more per day than hiring off the street however we heard some stories about what can happen if you hire off the street vendors.

If you are planning a trip to Thailand, koh samui and sareeraya resort should be top of your list!

Room Tip: Get a pool access villa and try to get one at the far end for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brycedownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear brycedownunder,

Many thanks for completing an excellent TripAdvisor review on your recent visit to Sareeraya Villas & Suites! We are glad that you stumbled upon us and had a very relaxed and enjoyable holiday. Thank you for mentioning our quality breakfast buffet, lovely beach and great location. We are delighted that you made the most of our facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Traveling for the first time with our 2 years old son, we arrived to Sareeraya with a lot on our mind. How can we have a vacation that will be great for our baby but also relaxing for us? Sareeraya was everything we hoped for. The great wide rooms, pools (in the room and the public one), the great excellent smiley service (they just adore babies), and the thinking off all the details (a hat, a bag, DVD movies rental for free, toys for the pool - you'll find them all and more) - made our stay a great experience. It's true, Sareeraya isn't located on the best beach in Thailand (the sea in front of the hotel is very shallow and muddy), but I guess you can't have it all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alonbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear alonbrenner,

Thank you for staying at Sareeraya Villas & Suites and providing such a positive review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our accommodations, service and all the little details and amenities we have to offer. We really appreciate your comments and feel very proud that we were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming your family back for a return visit.

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Just spent 9 nights at Sareeraya and loved it. We were looking for a relaxing get-away and this was just perfect. Got a great rate on the Sareeraya suite with sea-view, which was huge - large balcony with day bed and great view of the ocean, spacious room and an oversized bathroom with walk-in shower. As the hotel is relatively new (it opened in 2009), the decor is fresh and modern.

The pool area is really good, perfect for relaxing - it's so picturesque. I thought it might get a bit full at times, but I was wrong. We were always able to get a couple of deck chairs and it never felt crowded. The beach directly outside the hotel is perfectly manicured (they sweep it down every morning in fact!) however it's quite shallow at low tide and isn't great for swimming - but there is a large sandbar just a couple of hundreds metres north of the hotel which is perfect for taking a dip. The hotel thoughtfully supply you with a beach bag and straw hats (as well as flip flops), so you can take these out to the sandbar and not worry about getting your belongings wet.

Sareeraya is located at the quieter north end of Chaweng Beach. This was our 2nd time to Koh Samui, so we were happy to stay a bit further away from the centre of Chaweng - everything was a quick walk (5 to 10 minutes) or even quicker baht bus ride away (going rate seemed to be 50 baht into the town centre and 50 to 100 baht to come back).

Buffet breakfast was great - good quality food, delicious pastries that changed on a daily basis and a good range of made-to-order offerings, including waffles, pancakes, omlettes and more.

Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. We had emailed a couple of questions before we arrived and they were always prompt to respond. It's a beautiful hotel, professionally run, but the overall feel is friendly and relaxed. We would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyFromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear PennyFromMelbourne,

Thank you for sparing time to review and rate us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comments and also uploading the wonderful photos of our breakfast, accommodations and exterior. It is great to hear that you had such a pleasant stay here in Sareeraya Villas & Suites and we were able to meet your needs in all aspects. We look forward to hosting you again when ever your travels bring you back to Koh Samui!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I read several raving reviews and decided on Sareeraya based on these and more important, the beautiful pictures on the hotel site, of the rooms with picturesque views. I was sure I didn't want a resort that was too "concrete".

Boy, was this a disappointment! I should have guessed when I was told there was a 2nd and 3rd story.

Our front door opened to the Samui International Hospital and our jacuzzi had the view of someone else's roof. Our balcony was also inches away from a possibly, staff quarters, of the resort next door. We had to draw down the blinds in the balcony and this made terrible noises when the wind blew.

The jets of the jacuzzi were also filthy and I had to let the water run at least twice the first time I used it.

On the last night the AC vents made disturbing noises through the night too.

To make the experience even more disappointing was the inconsistent water temperature of the bath tub. It would switch rudely from scalding hot to icy cold for no apparent reason!

We had a good look at the pool access jacuzzi suite down below and realized that even this was not well-designed as the so-called pool is as narrow as a length of a body and it overlooks the concrete back of the other villas.

I'm not sure if the villas would have had a better view etc (it was a real mistake on my part for confusing between these two huge discrepancies) but I believe the pictures on the resort were misleading and the general design and location of the rooms are plainly, bad. The only saving grace is the fact that it's a boutique resort and hence the occupancy is small and cosy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear SaraTroy,

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We understand from your review that you were dissatisfied with the surroundings and the general design of our Hotel and we did not exceed your expectations in this regard. We will not argue with this, as it really is a matter of opinion, although most of the reviewers have been very satisfied with our design and environment. You do not mention anything about our hospitality and services, but we hope that we were able to fulfill your expectations in this area.

In regards to the jets of the Jacuzzi, AC vents and inconsistent water temperature of the bath tub, we do have engineering and housekeeping on duty 24 hours to help our guests with any issues they encounter in their room. We are surprised that you did not inform our staff about these things while you were staying with us. Your suite has since gone through maintenance and our engineering is now working on air-conditioners in each room. This can rectify issues concerning the AC vents within a short time.

You did not stay in the Jacuzzi Suite on the first floor and in fact cannot give a review of this room type without an experience. However, as you mention the pool is not designed for swimmers and it also does not provide a sea view, a thing we always inform to our guests when they are making their booking. Actually, the pool access is convenient in a number of ways and many of our guests prefer to stay in this floor.

We would argue that most people, who have been to our property and seen our Hotel photos online, would say they are very honest. In fact, you can read some of the previous reviews stating the same. After reading your full review several times, we believe that not only our hotel surroundings and exterior, but perhaps even Chaweng Area, was really not what you were looking for on your holiday.

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We have just returned from the most wonderful 12 days at Sareeraya. Both my husband and I have extensive experience in hospitality and were continually impressed with the standard of service provided. Beautiful rooms, fantastic food and the best cocktails ever! This resort is by far the most exclusive in that area of Chaweng Beach and so reasonable in terms of cost. We charged everything to our room on a daily basis and couldn't believe how cheap it was for such 5 star surroundings.

I must make special mention to the lovely staff who treated us like royalty everyday. Oi, Pung, Tan and Woody, I miss your smiling faces every day. Thankyou so much for making us feel so special. I truely hope the staff are well looked after by management because they made our holiday perfect.

We can't wait to return, back at work and I imagine sitting by the pool when things get tough in the real world. THANKYOU!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessandglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear nessandglen,

Many thanks for submitting your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are excited to read that you had such a great time while staying with us on your special Honeymoon. Your positive comments towards our services and accommodations have been well received by all of us and especially by our Bar & Restaurant staff. Indeed a great motivator to all the persons you mention in your review. It was truly a great pleasure looking after you and we all look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I am extremely satisfied with Sareeraya this trip and glad I chose this over the other hotels.

The staffs are very friendly, facility has a nice zen and modern touch. Pool is nice and clean; beach front is kept clean. Breakfast was fantastic too.

The only thing I didn't like it is that there are too much mud in the ocean and that didn't feel too nice when you play in the water.

The location is in upper Chaweng, less than 10 min of walk to the Chaweng main street. 100B for bus fair to Lamai and 150B to Bophut and there are both family mart and 7-11 adjacently across the street. No dogs baking at people as other visitors had previously reported. However, there is a lot of garbage piled up in the lot next door so walking by you can smell a strong stench.

In general, great hotel selection and I will strongly recommend Sareeraya!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CooCooRiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear CooCooRiku,

Thank you so much for your great review. Your kind words about our friendly staff, modern facilities and fantastic breakfast are very much appreciated. We are very glad to read you enjoyed your holiday and that you would strongly recommend Sareeraya Villas & Suites to fellow travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,334 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
813 reviews
1.2 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sareeraya Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Property: Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Address: 100 / 1 Moo2, Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sareeraya Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 49 exquisite suites and pool villas, Sareeraya Villas & Suites is conveniently set on the quieter part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance to the most popular shopping, nightlife and entertainment area. Each villa provides a private plunge pool while each suite features a spacious terrace with ocean view or outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel facilities include Raya Spa, Gym, Swimming pool, Transit Lounge, Chef’s Table Restaurant, Read Red Bar, Her Bar & Free WIFI Access. The perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sareeraya Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sareeraya Villas Hotel Chaweng
Sareeraya Villas And Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing