We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel, loved staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Just spent 9 nights at Sareeraya and loved it. We were looking for a relaxing get-away and this was just perfect. Got a great rate on the Sareeraya suite with sea-view, which was huge - large balcony with day bed and great view of the ocean, spacious room and an oversized bathroom with walk-in shower. As the hotel is relatively new (it opened in 2009), the decor is fresh and modern.

The pool area is really good, perfect for relaxing - it's so picturesque. I thought it might get a bit full at times, but I was wrong. We were always able to get a couple of deck chairs and it never felt crowded. The beach directly outside the hotel is perfectly manicured (they sweep it down every morning in fact!) however it's quite shallow at low tide and isn't great for swimming - but there is a large sandbar just a couple of hundreds metres north of the hotel which is perfect for taking a dip. The hotel thoughtfully supply you with a beach bag and straw hats (as well as flip flops), so you can take these out to the sandbar and not worry about getting your belongings wet.

Sareeraya is located at the quieter north end of Chaweng Beach. This was our 2nd time to Koh Samui, so we were happy to stay a bit further away from the centre of Chaweng - everything was a quick walk (5 to 10 minutes) or even quicker baht bus ride away (going rate seemed to be 50 baht into the town centre and 50 to 100 baht to come back).

Buffet breakfast was great - good quality food, delicious pastries that changed on a daily basis and a good range of made-to-order offerings, including waffles, pancakes, omlettes and more.

Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. We had emailed a couple of questions before we arrived and they were always prompt to respond. It's a beautiful hotel, professionally run, but the overall feel is friendly and relaxed. We would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyFromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

Dear PennyFromMelbourne,

Thank you for sparing time to review and rate us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comments and also uploading the wonderful photos of our breakfast, accommodations and exterior. It is great to hear that you had such a pleasant stay here in Sareeraya Villas & Suites and we were able to meet your needs in all aspects. We look forward to hosting you again when ever your travels bring you back to Koh Samui!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 914 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

I read several raving reviews and decided on Sareeraya based on these and more important, the beautiful pictures on the hotel site, of the rooms with picturesque views. I was sure I didn't want a resort that was too "concrete".

Boy, was this a disappointment! I should have guessed when I was told there was a 2nd and 3rd story.

Our front door opened to the Samui International Hospital and our jacuzzi had the view of someone else's roof. Our balcony was also inches away from a possibly, staff quarters, of the resort next door. We had to draw down the blinds in the balcony and this made terrible noises when the wind blew.

The jets of the jacuzzi were also filthy and I had to let the water run at least twice the first time I used it.

On the last night the AC vents made disturbing noises through the night too.

To make the experience even more disappointing was the inconsistent water temperature of the bath tub. It would switch rudely from scalding hot to icy cold for no apparent reason!

We had a good look at the pool access jacuzzi suite down below and realized that even this was not well-designed as the so-called pool is as narrow as a length of a body and it overlooks the concrete back of the other villas.

I'm not sure if the villas would have had a better view etc (it was a real mistake on my part for confusing between these two huge discrepancies) but I believe the pictures on the resort were misleading and the general design and location of the rooms are plainly, bad. The only saving grace is the fact that it's a boutique resort and hence the occupancy is small and cosy.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaraTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Dear SaraTroy,

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We understand from your review that you were dissatisfied with the surroundings and the general design of our Hotel and we did not exceed your expectations in this regard. We will not argue with this, as it really is a matter of opinion, although most of the reviewers have been very satisfied with our design and environment. You do not mention anything about our hospitality and services, but we hope that we were able to fulfill your expectations in this area.

In regards to the jets of the Jacuzzi, AC vents and inconsistent water temperature of the bath tub, we do have engineering and housekeeping on duty 24 hours to help our guests with any issues they encounter in their room. We are surprised that you did not inform our staff about these things while you were staying with us. Your suite has since gone through maintenance and our engineering is now working on air-conditioners in each room. This can rectify issues concerning the AC vents within a short time.

You did not stay in the Jacuzzi Suite on the first floor and in fact cannot give a review of this room type without an experience. However, as you mention the pool is not designed for swimmers and it also does not provide a sea view, a thing we always inform to our guests when they are making their booking. Actually, the pool access is convenient in a number of ways and many of our guests prefer to stay in this floor.

We would argue that most people, who have been to our property and seen our Hotel photos online, would say they are very honest. In fact, you can read some of the previous reviews stating the same. After reading your full review several times, we believe that not only our hotel surroundings and exterior, but perhaps even Chaweng Area, was really not what you were looking for on your holiday.

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We have just returned from the most wonderful 12 days at Sareeraya. Both my husband and I have extensive experience in hospitality and were continually impressed with the standard of service provided. Beautiful rooms, fantastic food and the best cocktails ever! This resort is by far the most exclusive in that area of Chaweng Beach and so reasonable in terms of cost. We charged everything to our room on a daily basis and couldn't believe how cheap it was for such 5 star surroundings.

I must make special mention to the lovely staff who treated us like royalty everyday. Oi, Pung, Tan and Woody, I miss your smiling faces every day. Thankyou so much for making us feel so special. I truely hope the staff are well looked after by management because they made our holiday perfect.

We can't wait to return, back at work and I imagine sitting by the pool when things get tough in the real world. THANKYOU!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessandglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Dear nessandglen,

Many thanks for submitting your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are excited to read that you had such a great time while staying with us on your special Honeymoon. Your positive comments towards our services and accommodations have been well received by all of us and especially by our Bar & Restaurant staff. Indeed a great motivator to all the persons you mention in your review. It was truly a great pleasure looking after you and we all look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I am extremely satisfied with Sareeraya this trip and glad I chose this over the other hotels.

The staffs are very friendly, facility has a nice zen and modern touch. Pool is nice and clean; beach front is kept clean. Breakfast was fantastic too.

The only thing I didn't like it is that there are too much mud in the ocean and that didn't feel too nice when you play in the water.

The location is in upper Chaweng, less than 10 min of walk to the Chaweng main street. 100B for bus fair to Lamai and 150B to Bophut and there are both family mart and 7-11 adjacently across the street. No dogs baking at people as other visitors had previously reported. However, there is a lot of garbage piled up in the lot next door so walking by you can smell a strong stench.

In general, great hotel selection and I will strongly recommend Sareeraya!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CooCooRiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2011

Dear CooCooRiku,

Thank you so much for your great review. Your kind words about our friendly staff, modern facilities and fantastic breakfast are very much appreciated. We are very glad to read you enjoyed your holiday and that you would strongly recommend Sareeraya Villas & Suites to fellow travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

hello

we stayed at sareeraya last year for 3 nights in november, though it was offseason and raining there when we checked in but we were taken back by the excellent location the hotel has, it opens right on the beach ...rooms were big and very comfortable they had a very balinese touch to them ....
breakfast was ok but would reccomend the hotel to all ...

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2011

Dear zuheb,

Thank you for your kind review. Great to see you relaxed and enjoyed your holiday. We appreciate your comments towards our big and comfortable rooms. I would also tend to agree that our location is one of the bests whilst staying in Chaweng. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Sareeraya is a beautiful boutique hotel on North Chewang Beach equipped with luxury accommodation, attentive and friendly staff and the perfect location. After touring Koh Samui Island and walking the full length of Chewang Beach daily, we agreed that Sareeraya really was the best resort with the best access to both relaxation, activities and night life options. It provides the perfect balance for an all round wonderful holiday. The rooms are well appointed with plenty of luxuries and space. We had a king room with a balcony over looking the ocean and it was spectacular! The pool and pool bar are right on the beach and enjoy constant sun and sea breeze. The beach has an amazing sand bar that you can walk out on and then dip into the beautiful clear water. The restaurant has an incredible chef with a very full and delightful menu. We highly recommend Sareeraya and will definitely book another holiday there again.....You will not be disappointed!!!! (The photos on their website are 100% accurate.....it really is that beautiful!)

Room Tip: Book a room over looking the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for submitting your glowing review on TripAdvisor and for acknowledging so many positive elements of our hotel facilities and services! We are delighted you stayed with us and had “Absolutely Amazing Holiday” . Your experience is what we strive for every day and it is very rewarding to hear that what we strive for we are achieving. We look forward to welcoming you again to Sareeraya Villas & Suites!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed at Sareeraya for Three nights and booked it after reading the great reviews on tripadvisor and the experience was special.

Location: Great location in the heart of koh samui located just at the starting of the happening chaewang beach area. The beach is just five steps away from this boutique resort.

Rooms: The location and the room is the USP of this resort. Rooms are huge with a bed which is good to sleep SIX people. Our rooms has a private deck with an attached open air jacuzzi which made the whole experience special. Bathrooms are huge as well with attention to detailing. Only thing missing from the room was that it didnot offer a view of the ocean - we could only see our private jacuzzi and pool from the room.

Food: The only let down is probably the quality and variety offered for breakfast. Even our room service food we ordered once was not great.

Value for money: This is maybe one of the more expensive accommodations on chaewang beach but it is still it is so much more worth it - if you want to stay at Chaewang - look no further.

I am coming back to Koh Samui and I am coming back to Sareeraya.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jainabhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor, your kind comments are well appreciated. We are very pleased you had a great time while staying at Sareeraya Villas & Suites and that our accommodations and services reached your expectations. We agree the location of our Hotel is superb, right on Chaweng Beach within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Suites on the first floor do not have sea views, but as you mention they come with fantastic open air Jacuzzis. Great to hear this particular room feature made your stay and experience special.

We regret for not exceeding your expectations with respect to the breakfast buffet. Each morning our buffet offers more than 60 items including a variety of breads, Danish and cakes, cereals, yougurts, fruits, juices and Asian & Western dishes, many of them changing daily and cooked to order. If there was something you were unable to order, please let us know and we can add it to our breakfast menu.

Thank you again for choosing Sareeraya Villas & Suites and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
918 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
1.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sareeraya Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Address: 100 / 1 Moo2, Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $200 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sareeraya Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 49 exquisite suites and pool villas, Sareeraya Villas & Suites is conveniently set on the quieter part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance to the most popular shopping, nightlife and entertainment area. Each villa provides a private plunge pool while each suite features a spacious terrace with ocean view or outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel facilities include Raya Spa, Gym, Swimming pool, Transit Lounge, Chef’s Table Restaurant, Read Red Bar, Her Bar & Free WIFI Access. The perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sareeraya Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sareeraya Villas And Suites
Sareeraya Villas Hotel Chaweng
Sareeraya Villas & Suites Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing