We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails! Even off menu choices catered for!”

The Orchid Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #50 of 183 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Orchid Restaurant & Bar is situated in the heart of Koh Samui's Chaweng Beach Road. We offer a perfect location for you to step off the street or beach and escape the noise and heat. Our fusion of Western standards and Eastern flavors provide a delightful dining experience. We are located Equidistantly between Central Festival and Hard Rock Cafe on the Chaweng Beach Road.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cocktails! Even off menu choices catered for!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Thanks for the mudslide! The only bar in samui with amaretto!
Friendly English speaking staff make it easy to get exactly what you want and how you like it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MBainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    95
    26
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Best thai food we had in Thailand. Cheap food. Be aware of small portions; we recommend men to have both starter and main dish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SiriHeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian/vegan/meat meals and consistant all round”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

On our recent holiday to Thailand I was in need for a very good vegetarian meal of which I found at a few places. The Orchid Restaurant is one of the best that I have been to.

Let me start with some detail around the meal.

For starters, the spring rolls were quite good and presented nicely (I have had better spring rolls at other restaurants but these were not oily and were quite fresh). I am very fond of Thai and Indian flavours and for a change I was able to have a Thai curry without having to worry about fish sauce and the like.

A massaman or red curry is a good start when trying Thai food. The curry that I ordered was of a high local standard and was thoroughly enjoyed. I have no complaints in this regard so try one of the curries if you are vegetarian as you can get a morning glory stir fry almost anywhere.

Furthermore on a second visit I decided to try the Tom yum vegetarian soup which will warm you up quite nicely so as a recommendation it is definately worth a try if you enjoy spicy flavourful food.

For non vegetarians try a chicken dish or appetizer.

The meals and drinks are priced well all round and there is free wifi.

Try out a fruit shake while you are here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh Thai food”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This lovely little pavement cafe, very casual, but the food absolutely fresh and so tasty. Owner present at all times. Staff very efficient, service was very good. Very tasty meal was had.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiguas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice thai food in a cozy little authentic restaurant”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had one of their set menus with soup and a stir fry and everything was very tasty. The restaurant is located on the busy and sometimes noisy road, but very cozy authentic atmosphere and the owner always ready for a chat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CIRCUMNAVIGATOR_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchid Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Chaweng, Bophut
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to The Orchid Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing