We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ribs in town”

The Orchid Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #49 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Orchid Restaurant & Bar is situated in the heart of Koh Samui's Chaweng Beach Road. We offer a perfect location for you to step off the street or beach and escape the noise and heat. Our fusion of Western standards and Eastern flavors provide a delightful dining experience. We are located Equidistantly between Central Festival and Hard Rock Cafe on the Chaweng Beach Road.
Manama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best ribs in town”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Anyone who knows Chaweng will understand that you can be overwhelmed by the choice of places to eat. This is our third trip to Samui and we always find ourselves returning to The Orchid, for a number of reasons, chiefly the consistently excellent food, but also value, location and atmosphere, enhanced by Andy's quiet, unobtrusive but genuine welcome. Andy, the host, is an authority on Samui and a very willing advocate for other venues and attractions. The new bar addition to the restaurant is a superb spot to wind down and watch the world go by. Superb Thai curries, amazing pork spare ribs and yummy banana pancakes! Very drinkable wine by the glass, carafe or bottle. A little gem, highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertOryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    95
    26
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing thai food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We ate here 4 times during a 10 night stay in Koh Samui in September 2013. The thai food was amazing (we didn't try the international food from the menu). We tried different dishes each of the 4 times and we never disappointed. The portion sizes were smaller than some of the other restaurants but still more than enough to fill you up. The prices were very reasonable too. Friendly staff who remembered us after we visited the first time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really enjoyed the food.
Ate here twice as food was so nice and good value for money. Services was really friendly.
Enjoyed the banter with the co-owner about football - he was a Leicester fan though - not his fault I guess!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our most regular eating place. We were here in 2010 and were so pleased that Winnie was still there. It has had a few changes made to make it larger and when it's full obviously you have a longer wait for food but we were never ever disappointed and it's the friendliest place ever. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Okay, but not the best!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We came here for lunch while exploring Chaweng and had an okay lunch. The restaurant offers both Thai and international cuisine. The food was all very average. The restaurant was very very hot at the time. Prices are very good and very cheap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchid Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Chaweng, Bophut
Chaweng, Bophut
 
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to The Orchid Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing