We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and good food”

The Orchid Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #51 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Orchid Restaurant & Bar is situated in the heart of Koh Samui's Chaweng Beach Road. We offer a perfect location for you to step off the street or beach and escape the noise and heat. Our fusion of Western standards and Eastern flavors provide a delightful dining experience. We are located Equidistantly between Central Festival and Hard Rock Cafe on the Chaweng Beach Road.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We ate at the Orchid one evening, unfortunately we only found it the night before we came home. Andy and his staff were brilliant and the food very good. Decent food at decent prices. Andy was very helpful and gave us some useful information regarding our journey home. If we return to Chaweng we will certainly visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    95
    24
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

After all of the rave reviews we were looking forward to trying this place. The staff were friendly but that is about the only positive I can find. The thai green curry was like a thin, watery soup with an obvious layer of oil on the top. It was also far more spicy than other green curries I have eaten. The cocktails hadn't been mixed properly and had a thick layer of sugar on the bottom of the glass. Perhaps we caught the chef on a bad day but this was overall quite a let down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChawengOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Orchid Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are interested to listen to all comments and personal views.
We apologize if our Thai Cuisine didn’t meet your high expectations.
With regards to the Thai Green Curry that you ordered. This is our top selling Curry and most Customer feedback the very positive. In your review you mention the runny consistency and oil on the top of the Curry. Yes, the Thai Green should be of a soup like consistency. This is normal. With regard to the oil, this is coursed by naturally occurring coconut oil from the coconut milk which we use. If a dish is left standing it can result in the coconut oil separating from the milk.
We have since changed the type of coconut milk that we use in order to prevent this from happening.
You also mention that the Curry was too spicy. All of our curries are toned down to suit foreign guests. Because our curries are freshly made to order, we can make them as spicy or non-spicy as you like.

Our policy is clear; if you are not satisfied with a dish then we will offer a replacement or a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu County, Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good,cheap,delicious”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

從SALA hotel走出來,最熱鬧的一家泰式餐廳,坐滿了歐美人仕,我和家人餓極了,很快的態勢傳統green curry上菜了,好吃又便宜,難怪生意這麼好!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willlin185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and great food”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff at The Orchid restaurant are very friendly. Free WiFi and the food is beautiful Thai style. (They do international as well). Recommend a visit to try. The whole snapper is great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really good authentic thai food, at a very reasonable price, however on two occasions after being very specific with the staff there that we only wanted to order a fish fillet (which is an option on the menu) we were later billed for a whole fish. Other than this, can't speak highly enough about the cleanliness and authenticity of the food here, great thai food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaD089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchid Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Chaweng, Bophut
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Orchid Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing