We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best curry on chaweng”

The Orchid Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #48 of 186 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Orchid Restaurant & Bar is situated in the heart of Koh Samui's Chaweng Beach Road. We offer a perfect location for you to step off the street or beach and escape the noise and heat. Our fusion of Western standards and Eastern flavors provide a delightful dining experience. We are located Equidistantly between Central Festival and Hard Rock Cafe on the Chaweng Beach Road.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best curry on chaweng”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A very nice, friendly and small restaurant. All their curries are excellent, and better than most of the other, and more expencive restaurants/hotels. The quality is excellent and prices are cheap.

Helpful?
Thank Jan-Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    99
    26
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I would hightly recommend this restaurant
Delicious food and staff very friendly
Good location
Great

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CAROLE255122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice friendly atmosphere. Food very good. All tastes catered for. Many choices of food styles. Value for money!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality mid-range Thai”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I spent most of my holiday down the South end of Chaweng because the centre is too busy. The one night I did venture into the centre I was delighted to find the Orchid Restaurant. It's a small place before the madness of Chaweng's main night zone. As I only eat Thai in Thailand the food in the Orchid was great. They will make it as spicy or non-spicy as you like! The service was fast and friendly. Overall the food quality, service and price is mid-range.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwardo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChawengOrchid, General Manager at The Orchid Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mediocre at best... Disappointing given the high tripadvisor rating”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The reviews said that this was amazing and cheap Thai food. I found the food to be average, especially given that we are in Thailand and it is difficult to find bad Thai food. Also the prices average compared to other very similar restaurants on the same strip. The staff was extremely nice and corrected a dish that was incorrectly made and the atmosphere is nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChawengOrchid, General Manager at The Orchid Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We welcome everyone’s opinion.

So this is the only Contribution that you have made on TripAdviser!
I really question your Motivation or even your Legitimacy!

I think it's fair to say that our Average score tells the real picture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchid Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Chaweng, Bophut
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Orchid Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing