We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$373
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$93
$63
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$23
$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$88
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$121
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Talay Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$94
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muang Samui Spa Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$235
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Buri Rasa Village Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$250
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,415)
Filter reviews
1,415 results
Traveler rating
849
320
135
61
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
320
135
61
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshillside pool villabarge restaurantrice bargehill sidekoh samuithai restaurantwedding plannerbuggy driversgolf buggiesour honeymoonbuggy serviceoutdoor showerchaweng beachmin drivesea view roomtuk tukshuttle bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
842 - 847 of 1,415 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were staying in the hotel 5 nights and have to say in general everything was ok. Staff was very kind and helpful. Rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious. Swimming pools were very nice and clean. Unfortunately hotel is well overpriced and a bit too far from the centre!!! There is no activitis provided by hotel and you're kind of borred after a while, especially during the evenings. We were thinking to eat in the hotel restaurant, but the prices over there...just crazy!!! For the price of one dinner You could easly eat in the town for the next 3-4 days!!! Beach it's not really ready for swimming...it's tiny and very rocky. In general we were happy enought, however as we travel a lot we can compare to the other same price range hotels - it was good but nothing special!

Room Tip: sea view is a must!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zielkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanupong901, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Many thanks for taking your time to share your experience on your recent stay at The Nora Buri resort and spa koh samui in the Trip Adviser

we are very glad to learn you were very happy in term of room cleanliness , friendliness of our team as well as our exceptional facilities such as 3 stunning pools on the hill top and by the beach side

your writing will be very useful to those travelers who want to visit our paradise Island

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back again very soon

yours sincerely,

chanupong M chamni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at Nora Buri for 6 nights in a Deluxe Hillside Seaview room. After waiting 40 minutes to check in we were advised that our room was not ready. We accepted an offer of an alternative as we were tired and just wanted to get in and unpack. It took a further 15 minutes for our luggage to be delivered. The room we were given had a concrete wall on one side obscuring the view and a roof in front, but we could see the ocean on the right hand side so I guess this still counts as a seaview. We were woken at 3am due to some noisy neighbours entertaining on the balcony nearby. The next morning, I discussed this with the duty manager who agreed to move us. We settled into our new room with an unobstructed seaview, yay.
The room was spacious and clean but the bathroom facilities were poorly designed and the water did not drain out of the shower, it just pooled in the bottom. The sink plug did not work properly. We also had to ask for extra pillows and coat hangers. These are not big deals but usually come as standard.
The pools were lovely and well maintained but due to renovations on the deck area there was a shortage of lounges available at times.
Breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious with a nice variety of foods on offer. We enjoyed a meal at the Barge restaurant and also ordered room service on several occasions. All the meals we had at Nora Buri were delicious and reasonably priced.
The resort offers a free shuttle bus to Chaweng but it only seats 10 people so you need to book early to get a spot. The times seemed a little unusual and didn't really fit in with our plans. The porters can arrange a taxi or can take you in the resort bus for a fee. We went to Chaweng in the resort bus with the porter on several occasions and the price for this trip was inconsistent. On each occasion we paid cash directly to the driver and were sometimes given a receipt?
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Nora Buri but feel that with a little more attention to detail and staff training, the resort could improve the standard of service to their customers. We would not stay here again as there is plenty of options available on Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenLQldAust_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanupong901, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Karen,

Greetings from the Sunny Island of Koh Samui!

thank you very much for taking your time to write us of your comment and feedback in trip advisor

we are very pleased to learn you were generally happy with our Pool and its stunning view as well as the Breakfast which is one of the high light in the resort . Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and it is like some thing we want our guest to start off the happy day with the best thing .it is nearly 100 items start from Asian conner, european, chinese , vegetarian, Thai, home made bakeries , fresh fruits cutting 10 kinds , and fresh fruits on season, juice , dried fruits , egg station, and fresh choices brew of coffee hot and cold

i have taken noted of your comments regarding the bathroom condition which I have double checked and sorted it out right after you have left the room

Apologize for any inconvenience as part of the pool deck need to be repaired due to wood quality is not safe for our guests after long rainy season and we can't let it be since too risk . however it could solve and fix it back in normal use already

we look forward for the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon

yours sincerely,

chanupong M chamni

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good to stay here.
The beach here is for decoration. But, others are good enough. From here to Chaweng Street is about 5 mins by car. It is not possible to visit Chaweng street by walk. From airport to here is 5mins by car. But, it is quite during the night. Staffs are nice and would like to help you. There are two parts of this resort. The pool in the hillside is bigger than the beach side.

住在這裡的感受,可以體驗到海島的感覺。但實際上這個飯店的海灘是不能游泳的,因為沙子粗而且水裡有海草和礁石。飯店的員工絕大多數都有熱於助人,飯店的設施維護的也都可以。早餐的選擇也可以。不過住在Hill side的區域,走到海邊有一段距離,不過可以打電話到櫃台,請他們派免費的buggy載囉~~

Room Tip: We stay in 736 which is closed to stairs. I don't recommend this one. 我們住的房間是736,靠近走道的樓梯,我不推~
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickpeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanupong901, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Karen,

Greetings from the Sunny Island of Koh Samui!

thank you very much for taking your time to write us of your comment and feedback in trip advisor

we are very pleased to learn you were generally happy with our Pool and its stunning view as well as the Breakfast which is one of the high light in the resort . Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and it is like some thing we want our guest to start off the happy day with the best thing .it is nearly 100 items start from Asian conner, european, chinese , vegetarian, Thai, home made bakeries , fresh fruits cutting 10 kinds , and fresh fruits on season, juice , dried fruits , egg station, and fresh choices brew of coffee hot and cold

i have taken noted of your comments regarding the bathroom condition which I have double checked and sorted it out right after you have left the room

Apologize for any inconvenience as part of the pool deck need to be repaired due to wood quality is not safe for our guests after long rainy season and we can't let it be since too risk . however it could solve and fix it back in normal use already

we look forward for the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon

yours sincerely,

chanupong M chamni

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was selected as it gave a really good package. We wanted to be on Chaweng Beach, and the bonus factor for Nora Buri was that there was complimentary shuttle buses to town and a complimentary dinner during our stay and spa discounts.

Location-wise, there isn't much to see around the hotel and you will need to find your way out for shopping and alternative dining options. We didn't get round to utilising the shuttle bus, which only starts in the afternoon (?) instead opting to rent a car, but the staff made the arrangements for that smoothly and efficiently. They have a great team at the counter, as well as the spa and pool. There was a hiccup with our arrivals where they overlooked to fetch one from our group (transfers being part of our package), but service recovery was done by reimbursing us the value of the taxi fare for the trip.

We were there to celebrate birthdays, and the team not only organised a cake as we'd asked for, but also surprised us with a singer. We found the thoughtfulness delightful. Buggy service also comes promptly if you don't want to brave the steep incline from the rooms to the facilities by foot. The staff at the spa was also most gracious when we had to cancel our 2nd appointment unexpectedly as we couldn't secure late check-out and waived the fee that would normally be charged.Treatment at the spa is also quite an experience, with lovely views of the ocean from the treatment chalets. Book early, as it's quite popular. Service for drinks at the pool was charming and patient. There's a happy hour where drinks goes for half-price so plan for that.

The rooms are spacious and clean in classic Thai style heavy teak furniture. While the pool may be small, it's designed with jacuzzi-jet alcoves all around that give little pockets of privacy. Be prepared for an underground trek to get to the pool from the hillside.

The area where there could be room for improvement may be in the area of catering. The breakfast selection, while adequately extensive, could be more authentically Thai in flavour. Some dishes were rather bland. After a few days, variety is a little lacking too.

Room Tip: We went for hillside rooms and a room closer to the dining/ spa/ gym may be preferred rather than those higher up the hillside (with better views). The incline is steep and can be quite a cardiovascular workout for some.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancee in the middle of June, and I have to say, I was somewhat sceptical ahead of arriving as I had never heard of the hotel before from previous visits to Samui. We had previously stayed at the Amari Palm Beach, which was gorgeous, with OK rooms, but very limited to no sea views. This review will contrast and compare -

Well, on arrival at Noru Buri, and after having to pay $13 for a hotel car to drive 5 minutes collect us, it became very apparent that in many rooms, the sea views there were not a great unless you were happy with half roof, half sea. We complained as we had paid for a sea view room, and two days later were offered a pool view villa. Now we are talking, and thanks so much to Bo and the staff for giving us more than what we had expected. However, the price of these upgrades would ordinarily be very expensive. The villa itself was lovely, and views amazing. If it were not for this, we would have gone elsewhere. The standard deluxe rooms are were large, but a bit cold and tatty in places.

The location of this hotel was not good at all, not even the standard 7/11 store nearby, and nothing at all within safe and convenient walking distance. After a night along Chaweng, there is nothing better than a stroll home along the beach to your hotel (as is the case with the Amari), and that could never happen staying at Nora Buri. On that subject, the beach at the Nora Buri was very, very poor. When you step from the pool onto the beach at the Amari, you really are greeted with super soft, luxury white sand, with a 5 minute stroll on it to all the action. The Amari literally has the perfect location.

There are many comments on breakfast at Nora Buri. I will have my say, average at best, much like a canteen, and too busy at times. Once or twice the food had something different which was tasty and not over or undercooked, the rest was cheap and mass produced stodge. The Amari on the other hand, the breakfast there was world class, and a class above in every department. Also stayed at the Amari in Phuket this year, and again, breakfast there was a feast full of class and healthiness combined. The Amari run delicious beach buffets for around $22, where as the Nora Buri charge $30 for theirs. After sampling the breakfast, we would take the risk at that money.

They gym at Nora Buri was not great, dated but ample, and the swimming pools quite nice. However, and like most of the hotel, it all needs modernising a bit to be honest. Like others who have reviewed, I found the concierge staff friendly enough, but certainly expectant of tips at every opportunity. The buggies do add something different, but I would not expect to pay a $1 each time I jump on one for 30 seconds, which seemed the case. Actually, to our room #801, one of the best for sure and far back, the steps for anybody of reasonable fitness levels were no killer.

The food around the pool and room service was quite nice and reasonable priced, but the drinks were not. Am sure I paid $13+++ for 2 small milkshakes. They know you are isolated there, so you should be very careful when the happy hours are not live.

Would I stay there again - at the standard price of maybe $400 for a pool villa, I am not sure to be honest. The absolute perfect scenario would be room #801 at the Amari, and then well worth the money for quality, stunning views, class, location, breakfast and lovely beach buffets. What the Nora Buri really needs in my opinion, is more western direction within its management. It has something quite pleasant, but lacks too much in key areas for me. Overall, the accommodation in high season in Chaweng is massively overpriced, and for sure, the Amari is way too highly priced at around $250 for a standard room with no views.

So, all in proportion I guess when a deluxe room at Nora Buri is at $150 with a partial sea view and average breakfast, some may feel this makes more commercial sense when payment a few $'s each day for tuk-tuks here and there. If I were on a tight budget, I would certainly stay here for a compromise.

Having said everything, I have to repeat that room #801 made it a way more special stay for us, especially as the weather was extremely poor. In those conditions, a normal deluxe room at Nora Buri with views of a bush and a wall could have been somewhat depressing. Thanks again to Bo and the management for making sure we did not leave Noru Buri disappointed. Nora Buri could be better, but for the price and time of year, I guess there could also be lots worse on Samui.

Room Tip: Unobstructed front row deluxe hillside or hillside pool villa is a must!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanupong901, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Paul C,

Thank you for your value comments and review in Trip Advisor

we were happy you were generally happy with our pool villa and its facilities as well as our food both at the restaurant s and by pool side that up to standard and reasonable prices

I have taken noted of your comment regarding breakfast was too busy and the hotel is away from the town. with respect to your comments One of our high light point is 5 minutes away from the busy town of Chaweng beach and 5 minutes away from the airport . we provide 5 free round trip shuttle bus daily to and from town and once you get back to the resort it is a real paradise here ! quiet , elegant atmosphere and top safety

we shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon

yours sincerely

chanupong M chamni

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews