We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay - a bit far out!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nid's Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nid's Bungalows
Ranked #19 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Chaweng
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - a bit far out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place is a bit far out, it's about a 5 minute walk to the beach which isn't really far at all but it's down a lake path which although gorgeous during the day is a bit sketchy at night and very bumpy! Don't let this put you off though, the place more than makes up for it.

Great rooms, free breakfast, pretty cheap but the best bit is Nid! Really really friendly, will organise anything for you and lots of backpacker types here so easy to chat to people. The new pool is very quiet and very nice. Not a fancy place but everything you need and the grounds are gorgeous and luscious and there are animals everywhere!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    31
    14
    8
    14
See reviews for
6
24
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked into one of the newly built rooms, must say very nice! It was a little expensive but worth it for the room. It was about a 30 minute walk from the main bar street on chewing beach but it is close to other bars as it's on the other side of the lake. We enjoyed it, and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielleabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nid's is located right on the lake and walkable to the city center (about 10-15 mins). It was my first time staying in a bungalow so I can't really compare it to how others are but my impression was it was very dark inside, but we only stayed there one night and didn't stay much in there during the daytime so it didn't really matter much I guess. There were stains on the sheets, which I am hoping were just hard to remove food stain. There was apparently a scheduled power outage that we didn't know about during the afternoon while we were there and it kind of sucked because the AC wasn't on. We went out to explore and by the time we came back in the evening, we thought the power would have been back on but for some reason, the power in our bungalow was not. Staff was nice and fixed it immediately. However, during the middle of the night, it seemed like the power went off again and I don't believe that one was a scheduled outage, so it kind of got annoying. Their pool was really nice. Went swimming at night and initially the lights were off around the pool but staff saw us swimming and turned the lights on which I thought was a nice gesture. Overall, a decent place to stay as long as the power stays on.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Nid's Bungalows in a 2 person bungalow. The bungalow itself was absolutely fine and both the pool and the pool area are really great. When we arrived, we (4 people) decided to have lunch at the restaurant. Three of us found long, hairs in the food - IN THE FIRST SPOONFUL! We could see lots of pieces of hair and informed the kitchen. The next morning, one of us took a chance and ordered the free scrambled eggs - when it came, there was hair in it as well, and we didn't want to have more to do with their kitchen. Later during our stay we had a look into the kitchen and we saw spider webs and insects all over the ceiling and cats were walking around on the tables! There are so many dogs, cats, rabbits, chickens and hamsters at this place, which isn't bad at all itself, but after finding pieces of long black hair in the food from the kitchen and seeing some staff members eating their food on the floor while cats and dogs were straying around and over the bowls, we felt bad - it's definitely not hygienic! It's really sad, cause the bungalows, dorm rooms and the pool area are so great and the Australian guest house keeper is so kind!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasperMikkelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
229 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Staying at Nid's was an experience I well remember! I applaud Nid roundly for the job she's doing of keeping the Bungalow's together and running-- with a building staff that seemed to be more about relaxing than building two new Bungalows...tho, I am not Thai, so who am I to speak?
Nid was very responsively helpful-- the rainy season was at its tail end, and the walkway to the Bungalow she was offering was quite flooded-- I said I wanted a different Bungalow, and she right away set her two cleaning staff on this task, of providing me with a second choice.
Nid has a very soft and expansive heart: she leaves food out for the soi dogs and cats--and thus, many choose to stay! There are definitely more cats than dogs-- and all are well-tempered! In addition, there are some rabbits hopping about freely, tho most are in an enclosure with a bunch of (breeding!!!) guinea pigs. There's also a HUGE pig-hog-boar?, which I was told was 'rescued' from being bar-b-qued SEVEN YEARS AGO---which definitely helps explain his huge-ness! There are also the seemingly requisite run-about roosters, chickens, and caged parakeets, cockateels (or cockatoos?). A HUGE eye-opener is the large cement tank with two humongous fish-- of an ancient lineage. a real must-see!
Included at Nid's is the free breakfast-- with several set choices.... well-prepared.
I had a restful sleep while at Nid's Bungalows.

Room Tip: The roosters seemed to congregate near Nid's personal bungalow, at the end of the walkway; for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LightSplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great Place, clean and lovely rooms. Fab swimming pool. Free breakfast of eggs on toast, served until 12pm. Good location, a ten minute walk from town but lovely and quiet. Laundry service left clothes smelling a bit damp so would look elsewhere for that. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night after landing at the airport. Good hotel near to airport with fantastic swimming pool and pretty clean rooms. Staff were nice and friendly, free breakfast too. Don't come here looking for a party though, the place was empty when we arrived.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.6 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#24 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#5 of 45 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nid's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nid's Bungalows

Property: Nid's Bungalows
Address: 3/173 Moo 2 T. Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nid's Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nid's Bungalows is family-owned and managed, offering cool, private and tasteful accommodation in the Thai-style, located centrally on the shore of Chaweng Lake in the Chaweng Beach tourist area, only 10 minutes from Samui airport and 5 minutes from Chaweng Beach. To serve the international traveller, Nid's Bungalows offers a range of accommodation options, from new and superior levels of accommodation to a new and spacious 8-bunk Dorm for the solo traveller or value-conscious group. Nid has made the lush gardens around the bungalows and swimming pool a feature of the Resort. The Resort offers a large lap pool and sun deck, bar and games area, free WiFi and laundry facilities. Guests who stay with us are able to share Nid's love of animals, gardening and cooking. We make every effort to consider the environment by careful use of electricity and resources, and we grow some of our own vegetables and herbs where possible. Nid loves and takes care of many animals and, if you wish, you can make friends with them during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Nid's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nid`s Bungalows Hotel Chaweng
Nid's Bungalows Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing