We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet little place, nice pool”
Review of Nid's Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nid's Bungalows
Ranked #33 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Chaweng
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet little place, nice pool”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night after landing at the airport. Good hotel near to airport with fantastic swimming pool and pretty clean rooms. Staff were nice and friendly, free breakfast too. Don't come here looking for a party though, the place was empty when we arrived.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    14
    12
    18
See reviews for
6
27
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Nid's bungalows for 12 nights in August. We are a family of five, we had the family bungalow for three and the bungalow next door for two, both bungalows were cleaned each day and fresh bedding and towels provided. Nid and her staff could not have made our stay there any more welcoming than they did, from the moment we arrived till the moment we left they were always very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast everyday of scrambles egg and toast with a choice of coffee. tea or fruit juice and also a plate of fruit. My three boys loved the place and their ages are 11, 8, and 4. We will be back to stay at Nids again when we visit Koh Samui. Thanks Nid and staff for our stay from Gary, Juree, Eddie, Bobby and Chris. Hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nids bungalows is defiantly a place worth staying if you are on a budget and you get a decent breakfast with the price too!. Me and a friend got the double bungalow and it was very clean and worth the money we paid. We got the aircon room but we didn't really need it as it has a huge fan and does the job too. Room is cleaned every day and it's done to a good standard as well.

It was very quite as we came in quite season but we wanted to just chill out away from all the noise and we did just that sitting by the pool which is really nice :) I would recommend staying here but if you don't like animals then there is no point staying! The animals are great and most of them are rescued from the streets and taken in and they are all gorgeous specially all the little kittens running around the gardens.

The only thing we didn't like is being woken up every morning (early) to the chickens making noise but they usually stop after a while. It is a bit out of town but we didn't mind the walk and the beach and things are not that far away. If you want to be lazy you can hire the mopeds from nid for only 200tbh a day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and i booked to stay at Nid's bungalows for 3 nights to explore the island of koh samui and ended up staying for an extra two more.

The rooms are average, each come with their own cute little seating area outside and 100 Bhat extra for air con. The cabins could do with a paint job and a little tlc.

The family who owned the resort were lovely and pretty much made our stay here! The mother who loves animals introduced us to the numerous cats, dogs, chickens, fish and rabbits that lived there too along with the rest of the family.

We hired a bike for the day from the bungalow which was great. We even got to borrow it again the following evening for a couple of hours free of charge. Other facilities include a restaurant, laundrette, taxi/motorbike hiring and tour booking facilities, which are all reasonably priced.

The family are all really nice, they are pretty laid back and so are not always around, which can be a pain sometimes.

The location was okay, a little annoying as the hotel is actually situated on a sandy path which leads onto the main road (eventually), which made the walk into the centre approx 20 mins long.

We also found that we had to do a ten minute walk to a hotel on the edge of the main road to get picked up for tours and also when leaving the island, as it is out of the way for cars/buses. So I would definitely recommend hiring a motorbike!

I highly suggest staying here if you are planning to stay for more than one night so that you can explore the resort and speak to the lovely people!

Also if you are uncomfortable with animals then this place is not for you!


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived at Nids after a bad experience at anther resort so our spirits were down.

This place immediately lifted them!

The staff were all helpful and spoke good English, there was a swimming pool which for travellers and at this price is a real luxury!! There were lots of animals about so it felt homely - if you don't like cats or dogs this isn't the place for you!! The food was excellent and at reasonable prices and it was just a small (6-7) minute walk to the town and beach.

Free breakfast was included in the price, toast and scrambled eggs and fresh fruit every morning. We have now stayed in several places and this place remains my favourite!

Room Tip: There was some construction work going on when we visited but always started after 8:30-9am so no bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NattyGodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Out of all the budget places in Thailand these were the best we stayed in. Very clean rooms with air con and a fridge in ours (although not in all rooms) spacious clean shower rooms. The family who run the bungalows are lovely and also look after and feed the animals that stay there. As we are animal lovers we enjoyed our stay here. They had cute cats and dogs, guinea pigs etc so advised not suited for people scared of cats or dogs. They clean the rooms everyday and give free bottles of water.

The free breakfast of scrambled eggs and toast and platter of fruit was surprisingly good too. Nice clean pool and nice sun loungers which have been recently build is very nice touch.

Location is 5 minute walk from the Main Street. For 9 GBP a night this was very good value. They also have cupboards with security locks you can hide your possessions in but tbh your room would not get robbed as the Nids family are always around and the door can be padlocked if you choose too.

Don't expect 5 star luxury for the price you pay. Good for stays of a week or so but saying that we knew people who stayed alot longer. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is far by the best accomodation I have stayed in. I have stayed in many 5* hotels and resorts around the world and I would far far rather to come back here instead! I can't say enough good things about this place. The staff are polite, helpful, funny and eager to help you in any way they can. There are animals here which are looked after amazingly. There are so many ill, malnourished and abused animals on the streets and the staff here have taken many in and they are now healthy, friendly and living happily here at Nids (I am here right now writing this review). The dorm I am staying in is always spottlessly clean because staff are always keeping an eye on anything that needs to be done. You get free breakfast which is gorgeous (toast, scrambled eggs, fruit, juice, tea/coffee). The swimming pool in also in fab condition. As an animal lover; I am in my elimant here! :) Cheap food and drinks here and cheap laundry service. You get your own safe and fan. Bed sheets and towels changed daily. The location is great- whoever said it is way out of the way is a lazy so and so lol because it is less than 5mins walk to the main streets! There is so much space to relax in and the people I have met so far are really fab. I highly recommend this accomodation. You get so much for your money! Thanks for the great stay Nid and Co :-) :-) :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keziah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
0.1 mi away
The Avenue Samui
The Avenue Samui
#95 of 104 in Chaweng
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#76 of 104 in Chaweng
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cheeky Monkey's
Cheeky Monkey's
#7 of 76 in Chaweng
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut House Chaweng - Hostel
0.5 mi away
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#37 of 66 in Chaweng
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nid's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nid's Bungalows

Property: Nid's Bungalows
Address: 3/173 Moo 2 T. Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nid's Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nid's Bungalows is family-owned and managed, offering cool, private and tasteful accommodation in the Thai-style, located centrally on the shore of Chaweng Lake in the Chaweng Beach tourist area, only 10 minutes from Samui airport and 5 minutes from Chaweng Beach. To serve the international traveller, Nid's Bungalows offers a range of accommodation options, from new and superior levels of accommodation to a new and spacious 8-bunk Dorm for the solo traveller or value-conscious group. Nid has made the lush gardens around the bungalows and swimming pool a feature of the Resort. The Resort offers a large lap pool and sun deck, bar and games area, free WiFi and laundry facilities. Guests who stay with us are able to share Nid's love of animals, gardening and cooking. We make every effort to consider the environment by careful use of electricity and resources, and we grow some of our own vegetables and herbs where possible. Nid loves and takes care of many animals and, if you wish, you can make friends with them during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nid's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nid`s Bungalows Hotel Chaweng
Nid's Bungalows Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing