We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! ”

Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill
Ranked #52 of 246 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Thai, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled between Samui's native tropical flora upon a hilltop in Chaweng Noi, the award winning restaurant overlooks the expansive crystal blue waters of the island. These breathtaking uninterrupted views are just one small part that makes up the overall 5 star experience Dr Frogs offers.Delicious and imaginative cuisine sets Dr Frogs apart from the rest - the menu is a perfect balance - offering diners both authentic Italian and traditional Thai cuisine. An extensive wine list combining new and old world wines, only further complements your day or evening meal.Outstanding cuisine, breathtaking surroundings and friendly staff - Dr Frogs will undoubtedly be the most memorable and delicious dining experience your will encounter in Koh Samui.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Great view, great atmosphere, great food, great cocktails, great staff! What else could you want?! Definitely recommend!

Thank TCoop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boujis S, Manager at Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Thank you so much for your review, so glad you enjoyed your dinner. We hope to serve you again next time you are in Samui. Take care and safe travels,

Josh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

One of the best food I ever tried.
Excellent cocktails and very friendly service.
You have to try, if you’re visiting Samui

Thank sasha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boujis S, Manager at Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Sasha, thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed lunch with us and we hope for the opportunity to serve you again next time you are in Samui.

Take care and thanks again,

Josh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Disappointing restaurant from a price/quality perspective. Food was OK but not great. And the smell of sewers really ruined our evening.
If you take into account the fact that you pay double the price of a regular Restaurant at Samui Island not worth visiting.

White Chardonnay wine from Chile very good tough.

Thank DollieNaarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boujis S, Manager at Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Hi Dollie,

Thanks for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the wine, but very sorry you did not enjoy other aspects of your evening. I would like to reach out to you personally and learn more about the challenges you had with your evening in an attempt to mitigate similar challenges moving forward. Additionally, I would like to personally invite you back in hopes we can get it right for you the second time around.
We believe Dr Frogs has the best view on Koh Samui. Also, we are in the process of expansion to better serve our guests. We have changed our menu to reflect a bio sustainable model and all our proteins and produce places an emphasis on non GMO, Free range, Grain Fed, ect. These higher quality products do come at a slightly higher price, however we have learned that many of our customers appreciate knowing their meals are prepared with the absolute best ingredients available.

One concern, you mentioned an "odor"...I have to be honest, I am perplexed about this critique. We have never had any comments in 12 years related to this, and after reading your comments we have done our best to try and determine what you are talking about to no avail. Perhaps you are associating the smell of the ocean with something else?

Wishing you the best and safe travels. Again, many thanks for your response in any regard,

Josh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

After the trip to secret garden, we stop for the sunset in DR.frog we had some cocktails, the end we diced to have dinner with the best sea view. I order Carpaccio di Tuna as starter was tasty, and risotto porcini was perfectly cooked. Great place for couples not be alone.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kleinalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boujis S, Manager at Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Hi Kleinalbert,

Thanks so much for your review, we really appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed the risotto porcine, Our chef was raised to, "Rice was born in water but dies in wine", haha. Our chef takes special care in preparing his risotto based on an old family recipe- the main ingredients: Patience and heart. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Safest travels,

Josh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Dr Frog’s is a lovely restaurant serving Thai and Italian food and offering a beautiful view of the sea and to one side the island. The food is *very* tasty, although also priced according to the Western standards: more expensive than expected. The staff are kind and attentive. The owner, also friendly, came to ask us if the meal was alright and did this for every table— the restaurant was almost full by the time we left. And although it was only a Monday night, there was live music starting 7pm.
Definitely recommended for a romantic evening and/or family dinner!

Thank Kyra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boujis B, Manager at Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Hi Kyra,

Thanks so much for your review, we so appreciate it. I will happily pass your sentiment on to our staff, they will be very pleased their hard work is paying off. We hope to serve you again and wish you safe travels moving forward.

Take care,

JOsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Bophut, Ko Samui
 
Lamai Beach, Maret
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing