We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away !!!”
Review of Nora Chaweng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nora Chaweng Hotel
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stay one night at the hotel, I was get worse treated from the reception. I was forced to dismantle the suitcase in the reception to have a passport. When I did Check Out – I forced to pay money for spending time with Thai girl and for new card room. Manager was telling me – if I do not pay she will put my videos with the thai girl - on YouTube, and she don't want people like me in the hotel. Disgusting!!! STAY AWAY.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY. bad Behavior from reception. I never coming back.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroon B, Manager at Nora Chaweng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

With the advantage of having well-trained staffs with innate sense of authentic Thai hospitality, it is not very hard for us to make a good first impression to our guests. It just comes naturally. The unpretentious smiles and greetings is not just a courtesy that we give to them, it conveys a feeling of warmth welcoming and a subliminal message to remind them that they are here to experience a great holiday. That is just one part to make you feel the “Welcome Home!” treatment. Before you head to their well-appointed rooms, we make sure that you will have a sense security during your stay with us. And in order to accomplish that, you have to go through the check-in process. Here in Nora Chaweng Hotel, we do it simple and fast; sign the registration – show your passport for identification – finish. And we do the rest for you. Smart travelers go through this process very easily. They understand that proper identification protects them against unregistered outsiders that may cause disturbance to their privacy. Occasionally, there are new travelers who would decline to provide a proper identification but would easily comply once it was explained with them. But there are also those kinds of guests who would just not cooperate. They come in the hotel the same way come in and out of a public market. In other words they are just dim-witted and dense-minded. The review posted above is a perfect example of that kind of guest. This guest declined to show his passport during check-in which is, as a hotelier, we would feel very suspicious about him. Reasoning out that he don’t want to be bothered opening his suitcase, he then sat at the lobby chair and weirdly talked to himself. After awhile, he stood up, reached for his pocket and pull out his passport. It was never in his suitcase. He was a very hard customer but our Guest Service Agents never gave up on him. He was professionally escorted to his room to show the hotel facilities and in-room amenities. He was also advised that since he is the only guest registered in his room, as a hotel security policy, no outside visitors are allowed to go up to the guests’ floors nor in the guests’ rooms. Visitors who wish to stay with a friend’s or relative’s room in the hotel must register with a valid identification and must pay the extra person charge. He responded with contempt that he understood the said policy. During his check-out he returned a damaged key card which somehow looked purposely damaged. He also declined to pay the extra person charge of his accompaniment in the room. Also, it is just plain impossible to neither record nor post his video in Youtube as we do not have cameras inside the rooms. Clearly, this is not an issue that our hotel will apologize for. This response is not intended to blame this guest but to set an example on how easy it is ruin your own holiday by being arrogant to the people who are open-heartedly welcoming you. So we are very thankful to this guest for being kind enough in setting up an example of him by posting his review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Nora Chaweng Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 243 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here twice and found it to be not only in a great location but also not far frm the beach. it has all that you will need for a great holiday. The food is not perfect (only had Breakfast, as it was included) but the service was great and they were happy to oblige with any request. Anodas Spa near the pool was the BEST MASSAGE I have had anywhere in Thailand. It was a little dearer than what you get down the road but the old addage is "you get what you pay for". The pool was cold on the first trip but this time around it was fine. All in all, great place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussianRoulette2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

After reading the reviews i was put of kind of, but after spending three days their it was amazing

1. The staff where amazing helping me find places and calling up places for me to find where they are.

2. Bedroom is amazing quality and excellent shower.

3. Location is amazing everything in walking distance

advise always find out from hotel how much to pay taxi or tuk tuk so you dont get conned

Room Tip: spend abit more to get a deulxe room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infamousranj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is quite decent with always smiling staff. The location is a plus point, as its the starting point of the main Chaweng Beach area. Its just five mins walk from the beach, as you have to take the thoroughfare from other hotel's pvt road. Treating yourself a cocktail for just 89/- Baht was awesome. The swimming pool was a disappointment though, dirty, small, indoor. The rooms were very comfortable & the breakfast didn't have much options for a vegetarian person. They even give you a beach towel (1 per person / Day) so you don't have to get bothered about carrying your own. Would conclude by saying, a safe & pleasant stay with my spouse. Thailand can be rough & rowdy.

Room Tip: Mid floor rooms are quite good.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somya139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I would like to say that after staying here recently I honk that a lot of you have been moaning just for moanings sake and not because there is anything incredibly wrong with this hotel.

Firstly the English of he staff is great no never had any problems at all with their English. Of course sometimes accents may affect understanding in both parts but guys how many of you can say anything apart from Sawadikaa? Their English is way better than your Thai I'm sure so appreciate that someone has taken the time to learn English which is an incredibly hard language.

My room was clean and I live the fact that we were told what times the rooms where serviced which I've never experienced in another hotel, very helpful. It's in a really good location in main Chaweng so close to Ark bar on the beach, Bar solo and Hush bar which are all in walking distance.

Again people complained that you had to walk through another hotel to get to the beach. Big deal! It's no more than 5 minutes away, be greatful for that.

The showers were good and the air con worked well which I thoroughly appreciated in the crazy heat.

Only complaint was that the TV didnt work properly but I only watched t for a few minutes each night whilst getting ready to go out so again no big deal.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank elohtee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Location is good.
Pretty close to everything. But its not on the beach.

But that's it.
Ants in the room. We asked to clean but they returned.
The air conditioning was leaking in our first night all over our bags.
The pool is terribly cold.
Nice wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Its our last night at Nora Chewing and our stay here has been pleasant. We booked the deluxe room as we like space (room 318) It was spacious. The rooms were clean and have a big bathroom with seperate bath/shower (at least 318 did) The bar fridge was miserably small. The biggest complaint we have of Nora Chaweng is the Swimming pool. Its undercover and the coldest pool in Asia that I have been in (solar heating would fix the problem.) And there are only 7 poolside lounges lined in a row. As such this whole area SHOULD BE NON SMOKING as we found just one smoker comes to the pool and it stinks of cigarette.
The staff have been helpful and courteous and our included breakfast was a buffet with plenty of tasty choices for all palets and they do eggs how you want.
As for location our Perth Travel agent told us it was over the road from the beach. Its actually 400 metres to beach and you have to walk through other hotels to get to it. Definitely no views. Chaweng beach is ordinary anyway . The sand is white but the water is knee deep for the first 400 meters. . The hotel is close to restaurants and shops galore.
I went scuba diving and while the dives were good. It was a 2. 1/2 hours(150 mins) each way to and from the dive site and many people were sea sick.. I doubt if we will go back to Samui after a stay at beach side Hoi An and Denang Vietnam which was far better and cheaper.

Room Tip: This is not a beach side hotel. Noisy until about midnight. Lots of young people partying maybe chec...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertMcNab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#57 of 103 in Chaweng
412 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#30 of 103 in Chaweng
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.2 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#68 of 184 in Bophut
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Chaweng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Chaweng Hotel

Address: 162/49-50 Moo2 Chaweng Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $54 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nora Chaweng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nora Chaweng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nora Chaweng
Nora Chaweng Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing