We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our holiday experience”
Review of The Sarann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sarann
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel has 49 rooms , 12 of which face the sea and are probably very nice, each with its own pool. The rest of the rooms have no view of anything other than their own little courtyard. Some of the rooms are meters away from the busy little road alongside the hotel.
Our first room was on the road side, we found it noisy for holiday type accommodation, we had problems with a dysfunctional shower, but what upset us the most was when we filled our personal jacuzzi, and 15 minutes later it had emptied due to a faulty plug. To the hotel management's credit we were immediately offered another room, which was in a quieter location further away from the noisy road, the shower was better and the jacuzzi stayed full.
There is no beach area in front of the hotel, access is by way of steps at the side of the hotel, no handrail provided for older or younger residents.
The very nice rim pool was difficult to enter or get out of due to the very large steps, no handrail either for older or younger residents, in fact no proper pool steps provided. I wonder how they get these facilities approved by the authorities, but I can guess.
We were disappointed with our stay, and would not recommend the hotel to friends, nor would we return there.

Room Tip: Only choose the rooms with private pools, if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 509 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at The Sarann in march 2012 for 4 nights.
When we first arrived at the hotel at 10 AM our room was not ready. We took place in the lobby and waited. After 10 min. the hotel manager came by and talked to the person in the reception - here after we were told that we had been upgraded to a jacuzzi villa :-) Superb service.
The room was large - a little bit dark, but very nice.
The outside jacuzzi was lovely and we used it a lot.
Breakfast was very good with the most beautiful view at Chaweng beach.
A downside is the few sunbeds at the pool - only 6 or 7 for the whole hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisSkott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just about 20 mins from the airport, this property is small but located right on the beach, close to Chaweng beach where all the action is. It has an infinity pool, a nice deck and an open air restaurant. It is cozy and cute.

Prices were good and so was the service. They were accomodating about our late check out. The rooms don't have a view, but are huge and very well maintained. Try and get the room with the outdoor jacuzzi - it's brilliant.

We stayed here 3 nights with friends. It's a comfortable stay for both couples and groups. The hotel has a desk which arranges for renting bikes (this is a MUST if you get the most out of your stay in Samui), booking cabs, etc. And its quite reasonably priced.

The gym looks good but we didn't use the spa facilities. The staff are friendly. I'd say this is the ideal place to stay (unless you want luxury) even on a honeymoon - location and room wise. Also free wi-fi which was good speed.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor has huge jacuzzi and patio area. Room on 1st floor has balcony but not good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just got back after 8 nights in a pool villa room. Hotel staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Location is great for relaxing and not too far from the main Chaweng area for a huge range of food and bars if that's what you are after, food at the hotel is a little more pricey than a lot of the other hotels and bars in the Chaweng area but what we did eat was good. The included breakfast was great (the omelette's are perfect) got in early and we had the place to our selves, perfect way to start the day over looking the water having breakfast.

It is not right on the beach but only a couple of meters from it and there is a great choice of beach bars (with food and well priced cocktails) and massage places (the best on the island too), this beach seems to be a lot safer for swimming than Chaweng (seeing someone drown turned us off swimming at Chaweng pretty quick). There is a river between the 2 beaches so you can't walk right down the beach to Chaweng without cutting through a resort to get over the creek/river (will take 45mins or so though, but it is a lot safer than walking the street (seen someone get hit by scooter doing that). The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to Chaweng twice daily 1 and 5 pm and it only costs between 100 and 300 bht to get back with a taxi/ute. Don't let these things turn you off it is a great place to go; Koh Samui and The Sarann made it even. better.

The only let downs we had were the time of room cleaning changed daily so it was hard to plan when to be out for them to do their business without getting in the way, the other was that they didn't change he sheets daily, we kept forgetting to tell them not to change but they just didn't change them without our direction (must of known we didn't want them changed). The rest of the room was cleaned way beyond expectation. One other thing, the a/c was a little noisy when on high.

All in all was great and would highly recommend for couples, may not suit families so much.

Room Tip: Pool villa rooms are great, ask for one that doesn't have someone booked in next door if possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very nice hotel. Not in the crazy heart of chaweng, but easily accesible. Wonderful spa (and great deals) hubby and i got a 3 hr spa day each for a total of a liitle over $100. Not much of a beach which is unfortunate, but can easily rent a moped or take the hotel shuttle to town. Gorgeous huge rooms. Excellent breakfast and hotel restaurant with happy hour. Would definately stay again. Affordable too.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Basically me & my partner stayed at this hotel at the very end of our holiday for a bit of luxury, in all fairness I did pay alot of money considering it is in Thailand for the Hotel for 3 days. But i thought, hey why not, a bit of luxury to the end of a fab holiday.

Well there were a few things about the Hotel which really annoyed me to be honest and was not very happy about.

Arrival and check in was fine, first impressions you think WOW very stunning and beautiful, and we stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite/Villa, we really loved the room, very large and spacious, massive bathroom, was pretty cool, and then the Jacuzzi was pretty cool. ALTHOUGH this was the biggest problem...

The Jacuzzi takes a while to fill up, so we pottered about, did bits and bobs until the Jacuzzi filled up, once we turned on the bubbles/pump the whole Jacuzzi filled up completely with lots and LOTS of black grimey dirt!!! There was loooads of it, I really am not kidding you it was a lot, me and my partner couldnt believe it! we emptied the jacuzzi out and filled it again, not wanting to be annoying moany guests we thought we'd give it another go, once it filled we tried again and again it did the same thing, just not as much this time. But still we were rather annoyed and called reception to come and have a look at it. It was an absolute nightmare to be honest, about 4 male workers, and 4 female workers including receptionist all came to the room eventually, prodding, and doing the exact same thing my partner was doing which was cleaning the pumps out with one of the hotel tooth brushes!! they were all in silence and my partner tried explaining again and again and again to each of the different people that kept coming to the room and none of them said a word, just stared at the tub! Was a joke, they didnt offer to upgrade us or anything, and must say they were coming in and out more people then different people for a good few hours! joke!

while they were in the room, we had a complaint also about the shower, it was a lovely stunning shower with an enormous shower head, really lovely, BUT when using it, it would take forever to wash as the water just went BOILING BURNING HOT TO FREEZING COLD on its own accord without touching it! i got very angry and just filled the bath up from then on! They tested it, but again lots of different people had to keep explaining it to and nothing happened about it AT ALL, they just forgot about it.

The hot tub/round bath in the bathroom was nice but was a bit grubby i think, had candle burn marks or funny coloured stains, and quite chipped and cracked rounnd the edges.

The pool is lovely, but it is very dangerous to get in and out of i think?! didnt have any steps, just had a strange lip that same up and could easily trip over?! really odd, no grippy floor. bit weird we thought.

The beach isnt where the hotel is, but that didnt really bother us, we spent most of our time chilling or traveling round really.

Is ok, but i dont think i would go here again really purely for this reason, as we were only there 3 nights and 2 days, as we left very early in the morning when we left, so was annoyed that 1 of those days was pretty much spent with lots of people coming in and out of the room. There really are some stunning places around, so i would look around if i were you, and i think that maybe some of the bad reviews you should listen to, to be honest as most are right, and AIR CON DID SMELL, was a very eggy smell, that was also very off putting.

SPA IS GREAT THOUGH!!!! IF THAT HELPS! HONEYMOON PACKAGE IS AWSOME!!!!!

BREAKFAST IS FINE.

Was quite dissapointed which is a real shame.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasrose89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

but it could be if it makes improvements. Positives: a very good room rate with free upgrades to two Jacuzzi Suites for 5 nights over the New Year holiday. Access to the beach through Restaurant Buco next door. Privacy in very spacious, well-designed suite layouts/floorplans. Child-friendly staff. Negatives: A really lousy breakfast--they provide a wide variety of foods but it's all pretty much at the fast-food/take out level of quality: buy it from Tesco, slap it on a tray, serve it to the guests. This is a hotel that has prioritized quantity over quality. This all-you-can-eat supermarket-food approach was applied to the mandatory New Year's Eve Gala Dinner, a very sad affair where seafood, sushi and Thai curries were served as if for 20 bus loads of tourists, definitely not fine dining, more like KFC serving seafood and sushi... simply not appealing. Additional negatives included poor housekeeping, we were never sure if we would get fresh towels even as our old ones would be removed. Over five nights, my room might have been swept once. Staff are friendly but this masks a consistent failure to follow-through. I asked for an airport transfer three times and the front desk left me on my departure date frantically waiting for an outside taxi because no one had actually bothered to do anything with my requests. And finally, and most importantly: while nice, the hotel's pool is a death trap: the underwater electrical lights are hanging loosely from their sockets, the stone tiles around the pool get slippery and when a guest falls, there are no staff who offer assistance. Beware.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tryitoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#42 of 104 in Chaweng
742 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
463 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#37 of 104 in Chaweng
635 reviews
1.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $84 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sarann, Koh Samui is a sublime blend of luxury and nature where is located on the tip of the beautiful and serene Chaweng Noi Beach, just 20 minutes from Samui Int'l Airport. The short drive from the airport is a dazzling introduction to the eclectic spirit of Koh Samui, winding through small villages and passing through a lively emergent quarter, before arriving at the resort's scenic surroundings of a lush tropical forest backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing