We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Jungle Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jungle Club
Ranked #28 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Usually when people hear the word Samui, they picture an island along the likes of Ibiza where the amount of tourists outnumbers the locals, scams going on everywhere and a whole bunch of drunk 18 year olds on their first holiday. Much as I love the island, a lot of it is exactly like that.
However, make your way up to the Jungle Club to find yourself on a lovely decorated pontoon overlooking the madness which is Chaweng beach whilst listening to some chilled out music with an equally chilled beer or cocktail.
It's a great place to get away from it all for a few hours and although I have not stayed there, the bungalows were nicely spaced out from one another and away from the restaurant/bar area to offer the residents even more peace and quiet (if that's even possible).
The prices for drinks and food were good and the quality... well let's just say that I'm sure it was good but I was too busy looking at the sea stretched out a couple of miles below us to really care.

The only downside is the road to get there but at the same time, it's what makes this place so good. Although I'm sure it's possible to do this in a normal car, we had a pick-up truck and that was perfect. I would not recommend anyone doing this on a scooter unless you want to leave a little part of yourself on the side of the mountain. Even by foot it would be a hike more akin to rock climbing.
Either get them to pick you up or go with your own 4x4.

Also, bring some mosquito repellent if you're planning on staying there during the evening.

All in all, great little place and very much worth the visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoofzoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    155
    66
    39
    33
See reviews for
86
276
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had an evening with friends (8 in total). Dinner was served at a table with breathtaking views and a cool breeze. When the food turned up it was fantastic….

The service was… uncomfortable to say the least. We were the last in the place at 8pm, and as soon as we had ordered the waiters started clearing the other tables and chairs away, getting ready to shut up shop. When we had finished the main course we were offered dessert and then quickly had the offer withdrawn, as a call from the bar declared the kitchen was closed… not great service.

Room Tip: Save your money and eat else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham181181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My best friend and I stayed at The Jungle Club for 4 nights including Christmas Day 2013. This place is absolutely amazing!! We had our own rooms and booked the Jungle House. The rooms were very spacious with a King size bed and also a day bed which could sleep another person.
TV/DVD player and safe in room with a very nice clean bathroom with amenities, there is no aircon here but the rooms have fans and with the breeze coming off the sea there is no need for it. The views here are amazing with a fantastic deck and beanbags to laze around on and also Meditation style huts/ eating area which looks out to Chaweng beach. The Jungle Club also has an beautiful infinity pool which again overlooks the amazing views. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and Lec who speaks very good English made sure we were well looked after, even keeping the bar open for us after hours, Tigh was also very friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic and very well priced. Cocktails were priced the same as every where else in Thailand but the atmosphere was fantastic. Yes, you do have to pay to get into Chaweng but put it in perspective its only a couple of dollars to get into Chaweng Town or return back up the hill and its worth every dollar for the experience. If you want a great place to relax and be comnfortable please give this place a look in. I will definetly stay here again however next time it will be for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: The Jungle Lodge is on the cliff face and romantic for two. The Jungle House is spacious with sun l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rae37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

if you have just one day in koh samui then go here - the views are breathtaking.

service is not good but the views more than make up for that.

great pool, clean toilets, lots of parking & lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolecostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Ended up going here by accident, only because local said it would be a good place to visit. After 4 wheel drive up a massive hill we arrived to the magnificent view overlooking Chaweng Beach. Never checked the accomodation out but looks quite impressive. Went at dusk to see the evening view which was amazing. Drinks and food reasonable prices, Thinking next time we come back may stay a night or two. Don't think you could stay there long term as not much else around even tho they have a 4 wheel drive into Chaweng and back regularly. Can get a ride up from Chaweng and they include the cost of coming up in you tab. Amazing views

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 days at the Jungle Club, and despite the bad weather we had, this was one of my favourite hotel in Thailand. The view from the hotel is amazing, the staff is the nicest one, and the food (cocktail, meals) is excellent.
The hotel is located on the hill close to Chaweng, and you can not walk to the city if you want to go out. But there is a "taxi-like" service from the hotel, very cheap, so from our point of view it is not an issue.
We stayed in the bungalows, very spacious and no A/C but a fan which was enough. Nice pool as well with view on the beach.

Room Tip: Bungalows have hot water...the huts don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romain_RCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place was absolute paradise. It is definetely an adventure getting up the mountain! No charge to be picked if you are staying the night but it does cost to get back down when you're leaving or if you want to head down to the beach for the day.

The best possible view you could ever imagine. It was beyond our expectations, we spend hours just relaxing by the spectacular infinity pool just staring out at the islands and incredible colours of the ocean. It is a quiet environment, there were three of us girls but it was mostly just couples and honeymooners. Staff is really nice. Food is pretty good but remember you are stuck with only their menu and prices which are not at all bad.

I would advise anyone whe is looking for a relaxing, extremely romantic, stay to come here! It is one with nature as the huts are open. You are provided with mosquito nets but Geckos do walk all around the huts, and as long as you keep your lights out at night they should not come in!

One of my favorite spots in all of Thailand

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
2.4 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#65 of 104 in Chaweng
534 reviews
0.9 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#44 of 104 in Chaweng
222 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Club

Property: Jungle Club
Address: Chaweng Noi Beach | Soi Panyadee school, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#19 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungle Club 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jungle Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Club Hotel Chaweng
Jungle Hotel Chaweng
Jungle Club Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing