We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$37
View deal
Booking.com$42
Hotels.com$37
Priceline$42
Travelocity$37
eDreams$42
CheapTickets$37
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
927 results
Traveler rating
533
205
88
55
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
533
205
88
55
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jungle house koh samui steep hill free shuttle the main road beanbags scooter taxis thai relaxation hillside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 927 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of august 2012 after a busy week in Chiang Mai. The Jungle Club is a great place to enjoy the scenery, have a swim, read a book and just relax. We booked the Jungle Bungalow, which was pretty good. Getting there was easy: our taxidriver made a phone call to have us picked by the 4x4, which took us up the mountain. The Jungle Club is a great place to stay with your girl/boyfriend, though it can get a bit cheesy with all the couples kissing and holding hands. Not to mention the cheesy music. (So if you're not the romantic type, this is probably not the best place to stay.)
Pro's: scenery, location and accomodation are great. Free WIFI
Cons: Breakfast wasn't great. Some of the staff don't really speak english (eventhough they pretend they do) which made it hard to order a sandwich without ham or to have a hardboiled egg. These aren't major issues: overall we had a great time!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrTice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Jungle Club is undeniably beautiful. Our room (the deluxe lodge) was really stunning and a bit of a splurge for us on our Thailand trip. Housekeeping did a great job keeping everything spick and span. We loved the views and the infinity pool. The trip up and down the mountain was not really an issue as we weren't interested in making too many trips during our stay, more active travelers might find this frustrating. The biggest issue was the understaffed restaurant. The wait staff during our trip were all male, and although very friendly, would smoke next to us and while taking orders and hang about the place generally while it took over an hour one night to receive a meal. The golden rule with Jungle Club (and every where in Thailand for that matter) is to order Thai food off the menu and leave the Western food well alone. The curries and rice dishes are all delicious, the pasta looks and tastes like a dog's breakfast.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights to finish off a few weeks in various parts of Thailand.

The pros? We loved the location, high on the hill with magnificent views. We loved the atmosphere of the restaurant, and many of the dishes were good. The pool area is superb, and most of the staff were friendly and accommodating. We weren't bothered by the trip and and down the hill, as we had no desire to return to the backpacker district other than for a quick shopping and massage venture one day. We stayed in the Jungle Deluxe Villa, spacious and comfy with amazing views.

The cons? All minor. There was just one staff member whose over-familiar attitude was disconcerting. Not a huge issue, but they were constantly present in the restaurant during the few days of our stay, so it was unavoidable. There were minor maintenence and general cleanliness issues with the villa - a plant area full entirely of weeds, mould on all of the cushion covers. Again, nothing major, but when you are charging significantly more than most properties thoughout the country, guests have an expectation you need to meet. Nothing a decent scrub-up and a day of maintenence couldn't fix, and for all I know, it could well have been done by now.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay, and spent most of it hanging by the pool, eating and drinking. I doubt I would return to Koh Samui again in a hurry, but I would consider staying here again if assured the minor issues mentioned had been addressed.

Room tip: Loved the Deluxe Villa, although it needed a little maintenence and cleaning attention
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for several days and extended... it is beautiful. The views are breathtaking and the food, drink and pool... excellent. If you want to be away from the commercial area and want somewhere with great views, excellent service and stunning food, stay here! We will return!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

There is no denying that this place is stunning. The views, the accomodation and the pool/restaurant areas all give you that 'wow' feeling. Unfortunately there are a few niggly things that let it down as well as a major issue with Management. The little things that were annoying - paying for wifi, ants in rooms, no air-con, extremely slow service for food/drinks, paying per person to get down/up hill and no flexibility on being taken to anywhere other than chaweng. On a pick up from town one evening, the driver had clearly been drinking and pulled away before id managed to climb on properly (pick up truck) leaving me to fall back into the road! Everytime we went down that awful hill i was clinging on for dear life. Luckily we were only here 2 nights, but i couldnt have managed a week of it! We were also made to walk down it with our cases on check out due to road works (not their fault) but it was very dangerous and they could've at least made a make shift pathway of some sort/cleared the builders rubbish of mangled wire etc & maybe carried our cases?!
The big issue for us (which totally ruined our stay) was the general attitude of the place. Whilst most members of staff were friendly and smiley, the manager is rude and clearly feels a lot of self worth. When we tried to raise concerns with her about the poor attitude, blatant laziness & lack of services we had encountered since arriving (example, they had no food our first evening as were 'too tired to go to market'), she got angry and started shouting - telling us if we didnt like it, we could have a refund and leave. Amazed, we said we didnt want this we merely felt we had a right to complain about the poor service we'd recieved and we wouldnt be leaving, so she simply said 'well, if you stay you need to realise this is the jungle club and don't be expecting it to change'. She was extremely unprofessional and clearly thinks they are above any critism.
It's all such a shame because it's a beautiful place, simply poorly managed. It was the last place we stayed, the most expensive and by far the worst in terms of service and being made to feel welcome. We had mentioned to a few of the other places that we stayed that this was our last stop and we were confused when the mention of its name was met with raised eyebrows and a knowing nod. Now we know why! I would never return here and would not recommend it, however I know they will continue to get business from all the lovely pics and the good reviews it recieves from others - I only wish we'd had their experience...

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k-tipsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews