We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxed spot on Koh samui with roof top pool overlooking chaweng beach”
Review of Jungle Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jungle Club
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Take the hut, nice breeze coming through the open roof and very comfi.

The best ever is the great chillout area in the Restaurant and the roof top pool- so peaceful and great escaping the noise and smell of chaweng area.

Tip: no need for the beach any more when beeing by yourself on the pool! Great staff! Food similar pricey as in chaweng beach restaurants.

2 free transport to chaweng beach: 10:30 am and 6 pm, otherwise you gotta pay 100 Baht per person when you call them any time for pick up service. Return at 6pm from chaweng beach is free too.

Definately worth it!!!! Hut for 800 Baht per night in such a great place--> the best accomondation we had!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 704 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the jungle villa, which compared to Samui Mountain Village where we stayed a few weeks later, was clearly overpriced. The sleep quality could have been better, with no aircon and a noisy fan. Construction work – including a buzz saw – unnecessarily started at 8 in the morning on most days we were there. It seemed like no one rents the villa (which I understand in retrospect). DVD player was not working for instance (it was replaced) and there are broken speakers, stereo and other junk. Also one third of the villa consists of a rather superfluous kitchen. If we stayed here again we would stay at one of the newer bungalows.

That being said, to be fair we did enjoy our 4-day short stay here. Staff is friendly and helpful; food is good, premises are clean and tidy, wi-fi free and fast, and the area around the small-medium sized infinity pool is beautiful with a fantastic five-star view. My final criticism would be the lack of lounge chairs. Some of the few standing around were broken. As many before have said: A beautiful place, but 3-4 days here is enough.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin_Chillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a view, what a place!!!
We treated ourselves to this beautiful place for the last 3 nights of our trips on the islands, we'd been travelling for 1 month around Thailand and this was by far the nicest place we'd stayed! It had four walls, a ceiling, a floor, a door between the bathroom and bedroom and CURTAINS! Yes, we did Thailand on a budget, but it was so worth paying more for this beautiful place! The owner was amazing and upgraded us to a bungalow instead of a hut for free!! We literally had THE best time and would recommend it to anyone! They are the loveliest owners and the room and food is amazing. Go here go here go here, spend money here if you have it, there's not many other places where you get such great service and food! And do the bbq if you can afford it! We couldn't, we treated ourselves to a beer to share on the last night (that's how much of a budget we were on!!!), but whilst we sipped our beer overlooking the incredible view, we saw and smelt the BBQ and it looked like heaven. With a big group it would be so worth the money.
Go here and have the best time! Oh and the infinity pool is beautiful, it doesn't feel real. We count ourselves extremely lucky to have been to this beautiful place.

Room Tip: Book in advance, do not just walk in - they are too busy! Plus if you book and there are walk ins, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMAD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The setting and view is perfect for a romantic getaway. Do take note, there is no air con in all rooms. Be prepared to find insects and mosquitoes in your room as this is built in a jungle. Access is only by 4x4 as the road is step and rocky. Hotel provide transportation up and down at a reasonable price

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastelloPikkard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Before booking this resort, I read all the reviews on this page. Everything that was said is true: the view is to die for, the rooms (basic jungle hut) are simple but cozy with a real "island" feel to them, the food is pricey (and takes a very long time to arrive), the hill is very long and very steep which makes you reliant on the club's jeep.

The jeep must be paid for if you are going at any time other than the designated morning and afternoon pick up (10am and 6pm). Several times we also waited for the jeep in town for quite a while. I will say, the staff could be friendlier, with a few exceptions.

This place based on aesthetics along should be booked, it is an amazing deal for the price, but I will say I felt that the staff and management relied a little heavily on the view to make up for customer service. They often acted bored with being there and while they were never rude, they weren't overly pleasant either. Also, several of them do not speak very good english, which is understandable but makes ordering food and drinks a little difficult. The manager was also sarcastic with several of our questions, which was a bit abrasive.

Also, while there we decided to attend the infamous Full Moon party on Koh Phangan. The hotel was running an arrangement with a tour company that set up a taxi-pick up form the bottle of the hill, a ferry to the party, and a return home for 900baht. While a bit expensive, the idea of no-hassle was enticing. We arranged for 9pm pick-up at the hotel...at 10:15 they still hadn't shown up so the hotel was forced to put us in a taxi to the ferry so as not to miss it. The ferry there was a hellish experience, it was a speedboat that tour through the dark waves at such a speed that we literally felt unsafe, and came away with bruises from being tossed about. After the party, we waited for 3 hours for a return boat. A few came, but so small that they could not accommodate the number of tickets sold, which made the lines a stampede. Other companies at the same port had boats running every 15 minutes. When the boat finally came, it took us to a wrong port and we had to struggle to get a taxi to take us home...overall I would never have booked with this company had I known. I realize that this is not a direct criticism on The Jungle Club, but should be looked into by the hotel as a different company should clearly be used.

Overall I would stay here again based on the view alone. Also the basic Jungle Hut was more than sufficient and had a romantic island feel with it's simplistic, clean decor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Jungle Club really is wonderfully located and this makes it together with the pool a great place to stay. In addition too that I had a very good massage for my back. Ask for Kom, the masseur, and you can have it too.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Having been on Koh Sanui many times, we were surprised that we still were able to find such a great location with an ambient atmosphere. You will need a 4W to get up there, but can simply park at the main road call them. They will pick you up for like 50 baht minutes after.

You will be brought to a great location far above the sea level with the absolute best view over Chaweng and can even have look to Bophut and the Big Buddha. There are a lot of bungalows with a great view and a mall fantastic pool with the best sight ever.

We were there for lunch and will be back at another time for a stay. But the food was great ant you can even get some true local Thai food not seen on other restaurants. Price level is fair, not overprised, but of couse still higher that the street restaurants. But with that view, I could merely care less.

This is a great experience and a nice alternative to the busy Chaweng. For lunch - or better - for a stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank bmaschoreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.5 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#26 of 104 in Chaweng
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
2.5 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#25 of 51 in Lamai Beach
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Club

Address: Chaweng Noi Beach | Soi Panyadee school, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $16 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungle Club 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jungle Club - Chaweng Noi - Samui Island. Upon arrival at the Jungle Club, you will be welcomed by a kind French-Thai family who decided to follow their heart and settled in a coconut plantation overhanging the bay of Chaweng. A breathtaking panoramic view over the Gulf of Siam. We offer comfortable accommodations built using natural and traditional materials. Ideal to take a relaxing and rejuvenating break; nature, space, calm, freshness and privacy are all around the place. Discover our “chill out” restaurant and bar where traditional Thai and French Cuisine is served, or relax in the shade of a candlelight atmosphere while listening to cool international and local music selected by experts. The Jungle Club is often described as one of Samui’s best-kept secret. An experience not to be missed! Looking forward to welcome you as our privileged guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jungle Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Club Hotel Chaweng
Jungle Hotel Chaweng
Jungle Club Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing