We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Star Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$397
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$135
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$153
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$111
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$177
$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$176
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$298
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
426
184
60
25
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
184
60
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuite villakoh samuioutdoor showerdream weddingrefreshing drinkthe cottagesnice balconydirect accesswould recommend this hotel to anyoneswimming pool isminute drivesea viewfisherman's villagebaht per personan upgradehappy hourmassage
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 704 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2010

My husband and I are in our early thirties and love to travel to beautiful places and look for 5* quality in the hotels we stay in. We've just returned from an amazing holiday in Thailand which included 4 nights at the New Star Beach Resort in Koh Samui.

Good things about the hotel:
*Unexpectedly we received a free upgrade (from a Palm Room) to a Pool Suite Villa. The suite was spacious and it was great to have our own private pool
*The beach is sandy with good swimming opportunities
*We were very happy with the location as it was just outside of the lively main Chaweng area (approx 5 mins taxi ride) but there were plenty of nearby restaurants
*The hotel pool was fantastic - perfect temperature, huge, and beautiful views of the beach.
*Reception staff were outstanding - very helpful and friendly (although some were lacking in great English).

Not so good things about the hotel:
*Not enough sun-loungers by the pool or on the beach. Even though we were up at 8 am, we still weren't early enough to get one on the beach (maybe the old cliche about the Germans is true - the hotel was mainly full of German guests!)
*Lots of steps from the beach, to the restaurant, to the hotel reception. Good exercise if a little overwhelming in the heat.
*Whilst the breakfast food itself was good, the overall experience was not quite 5*. The staff didn't always understand our requests and it felt a bit crowded.

Suggestions:
*Instead of going on an advertised day trip, we had a private tour using the hotel limo service. For approx £12 an hour you can be driven anywhere on the island. This was great - it meant we saw exactly what we wanted to see without being herded along with other tourists.
*We had suits and thai silk skirts tailored for us in Chaweng. The results were amazing as we had approx 4 fittings to make sure the clothes fitted perfectly.
*There are some good restaurants along the beach to the left of the hotel (Beach Love and Charming) perfect for a cheap, great quality lunch or dinner.
*After a day or so we became more confident with using the local taxi service. Basically there are open-backed pick-ups that you can jump in for just £1 per person. They have set routes so you need to check before you get in. But we ended up using these to take us from Chaweng back to the hotel instead of the standard taxis which charged approx £4.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandAnnamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Dear our value guests,

Greetings from the New star Beach Resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and shared your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. Such correspondence is always highly motivating our Team but even more so when it comes from someone who has traveled widely and can appreciate the finer points of what we are trying to achieve like you.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to the team accordingly.

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles at New star again soon, we remain.

Yours sincerely,

General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This is our 4th family trip to Samui island and we went this time a bit further south to the Chaweng Noi beach. Initially we thought that the main Chaweng beach and Chaweng Noi beach are connected and we could walk to the main Chaweng beach but realized that you can only get there taking a taxi. But that is not such a hassle and the taxi fare is a fixed 200 baht going there and coming back.
We booked 2 Palm rooms but got upgraded to the Pool Villas which have sea view and let you see (if you get up on time) the morning sun rise.
The villas are great with the exception of the hard mattress which take some time to get used. This is actually the only main downside of the villas. Best of all to me were the open air private showers. Just great to take a late night shower under the stars.
The beach is very nice and we had some strong waves which was great with our kids to play in the water.
The resort is arranging regularly BBQ on the beach which we can recommend. Good food in a nice setting and life music (though the song choice is a bit odd).
If you are looking to be away from the very busy main Chaweng beach but only a short drive away to get out for some food or shopping I can recommend to stay at this hotel. The staff is very friendly and outgoing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gzbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Anyone contemplating the idea of a small-scale romantic wedding on the beach with stunning views and top-notch service should look no further; the New Star Beach Resort in Koh Samui, Thailand is just the ideal destination for such purposes.

We are returning guest of New Star and have previously experienced the commitment and humbleness of the staff, the fantastic facilities of the resort and the beauty of the beach and the entire surroundings. It was exactly these factors that contributed to our decision to trust them with organizing our wedding; a small family affair followed by a private dinner on the beach.

We have been very excited about this event and our expectations have not only been merely met but far exceeded by the level of service provided by the New Star management and staff. The outside experts involved in the wedding (make-up artist, hair stylist, photographer, etc.) have also performed exceptionally.

We ended up having the exact ceremony and dinner that we have been dreaming of for quite some time now if not even something more beautiful and exotic.

We have eagerly recommended the New Star Beach Resort earlier as simply one of the best choices on Koh Samui for a regular vacation; now we would like to extend that recommendation to those looking for lifelong memories of unique and one-time events . . .

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOVACS_Tibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Me and my partner go to Samui all the time and normally stay in Chaweng centre but when I was looking on Wotif at resorts for this trip came accross what seemed like a great deal with New Stars "Lucky Upgrade" Deal, which promised if available an upgrade to a pool suite or beach front suite. So we decided even though we would be staying far away from all the action of chaweng it would be worth it for 4 nights if we were staying in a lovely resort we would just hang around and relax. I will never make that mistake again, as Chaweng Noi is too far away to walk to all the shopping, restaurants, nightlife ect in Chaweng and metered taxi's in chaweng are a thing of the past and the taxi drivers rip you off completely. Overall the resort is nice but being in the tourism industry myself I hate false advertising which is exactly what they did. Even though the resort was dead and we did not see a single Beach or pool villa occupied the whole time we were we were not given the upgrade as advertised. Instead we were put in what was likely the worst room in the whole place, being that it was the first room on the corner when you come up the driveway. This means we got all the noise of people coming and going ( not to mention a great view of a road ) and where the furtherest room from the pool, beach and restaurant ( hence why we know the place was empty as we had to walk by all the villas everyday in order to get to breakfast/pool/beach ) Me and my partner manage a hotel ourselves and on our off season when our place is quiet we fill up our nicest rooms first, it is just common sense that if you upgrade people to a nicer room ( when that room would be sitting unoccupied anyway ) that people will be more likely to enjoy their stay and return again and recommend you to other people. Just very disspointed in the whole resort as everything was just ok. Room was big but had a small and uncovered balcony ( as it rained the whole time we were there it made sitting on our balcony impossible ) Breakfast was ordinary, hotel staff were friendly enough. The things we enjoyed in the resort was the pool and beach area. Samui itself is becoming far too expensive, we have been going every year for the last 6 years and this time was really a shock at just how expensive everything has become. We will start going back to the "less developed" islands like Koh Chang, Phi Phi and Koh Phangan were you can still get good food, accommodation and service and not be charged " Oz prices! "

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KikiC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 10, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews