We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveler rating
472
195
65
27
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
195
65
27
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suite villa koh samui outdoor shower western food the cottages nice balcony direct access sea view rooms are great minute drive swimming pool is fisherman's village hotel is beautiful happy hour chaweng area sun loungers vana belle
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 768 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2015

Stayed with family for 6 days starting sep 16th 2015.
Booked a cottage, which was nice enough but Dan, our super friendly host from the Philippines offered us an upgrade to a beach front villa for 3000 extra Bat per night which we finally got down to 2500, and since it was way bigger and better appointed, we went for it. It turned out to be a wise decision since we got to spend quite some time in room due to lousy weather the first couple of days.
The resort is placed in a small beach close to Chaweng, which is the most famous and crowded beach in Samui. It has a beautiful infinity pool and in general the resort is very nice and well kept. Food in general is very good but what had us impressed was the presentation of the dishes. True works of art. I had not seen food presented in such a delicate and provoking way,kudos to the chefs.
The only time where food was bellow par was during breakfast buffet. Apart from the omelets, the rest was a selection of unappealing overcooked, soggy and often enough, cold, dishes. Coffee machines took forever for a capuchino. Anything other than plain black would come out cold. Mosquitoes and flies where everywhere and no pest control in sight (those lamps with the blue light, for example).
The wellness center inside the resort was marvelous indeed. We all had massages that will remember for the rest of our lives. Also, you could go for beachside massages which where also fantastic.
One thing that bothered us somewhat was the mattress in our villa (01). It begs for a replacement. My wife would complain of not having a sound sleep because of this.
Resort offers to take you to chaweng or the fishermen fair, but at a price. No complimentary service is offered. Not a huge deal, but Ive been to resorts that offer a similar service for free.
This resort could run much better, with a better trained staff. Once I had to get up and go pay for my dinner because they simply forgot I was there, other times, by the beach, they would come and offer drinks. On other days, no one would come around to offer you anything.
Even so, I have to point out that everyone was super friendly and happy to help you out.
Dan, Black and Prom where particularly helpful in making us feel at home.
So, should you come and stay? Yes, Yes, Yes. You will have a great time, feel at home, enjoy yourself and leave happy with a grin on your face. Like I, you will forget the ridiculous amount of time you had to wait for your cold coffee, and only remember that beautiful beach and the smiles you got from those less than perfect staff. After all, who is perfect anyways, right?

Room tip: Beware, if you take a beachfront villa, privacy could be an issue.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear Our value guests,

It was great to see your wonderful feedback sharing your experience in trip advisor review

your kind compliment on Mr. Dan our resort host is highly appreciated

Happy to know our Food standard, room and public area are meet your satisfaction. it is our aim to ensure of guests stay are a memorable one also thanks for The feed back of staff friendliness which had been passed on to them accordingly

we shall look forward to welcoming you back to the new star beach resort again soon

Best regards,

Chanupong Manachamni
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015

We booked a deluxe balcony room and was upgraded to a beach side villa for free! What an amazing experience! We chose to stay here since it was close to Chaweng but not in the middle of the hussle and bustle of Chaweng. The beach and water was nice and clean.

We were able to attend the cocktail hour they have on Tuesdays and the free drinks and apps were really good. Pom took some time to talk with us and took a bunch of photos for us around the beach and with the giant rubber ducky and we really appriciated it. We followed cocktail hour up with the romantic dinner on the beach also offered on Tuesdays and we loved it. The dinner was a little too long (almost 3 hours) but we really enjoyed our food and would do it again. The on-site spa is top notch and the prices are on par with similar spas in Chaweng. We did a 3 hour spa package on our last day including a tub soak, oil massage, foot massage, and facial and it was the perfect way to end our trip to Thailand.

The villa was clean and had a great layout the view of the beach was great. The bathroom was spacious and the outdoor shower just off from the indoor shower was really neat. We stayed in villa 103 which was one villa away from the bar, breakfast, and pool area, so it was conviently close but not too close to everything. The bed didn't have a mosquito net but when we asked for one they set one up for us.

The infintiy pool was very big and had some cool in pool seating areas. Above the breakfast area was a pool table and ping pong table. The buffet breakfast was really good and had a great varity of western and asian style food.

We would definately stay here again, even without a free villa upgrade.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear Michael ,

Greetings from New Star Beach Resort.!

Thank you for leaving a good comment for us here in trip advisor.
We are delighted to know you were generally happy with our facilities and service provided.

Beach is one of the best highlights of our property and we are trying our best to keep it clean at all time

We also happy you like our Beach front Villa and mentioning the good service that you received during your stay in our hotel as guest satisfaction is very important to us and we are also happy to know that our Ocean pool villa privacy is to your liking .

I will for sure inform all the staff about your compliments so they will continue to render great service.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Sincerely Yours,

chanupong manachamni
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015

Stayed in Aug 2015 for a few nights. For the past 7 years, I've chosen to stay at Imperial Samui never having once bothered to check this resort out. As Imperial Samui closed down and replaced by Sheraton, after reading reviews on TA, we decided we want a place that has exactly the same quality of beach and water and hence choose NEW STAR. We were happy being a couple traveller without kids to enter a resort that was both quiet, sophisticated and not filled with screaming kids and big families or with travel groups that come by the hoards from North Asia (I'm trying to be politically correct). Most of the clientele were European couples and the whole resort gave a sophisticated feel without the stuffiness. The breakfast often makes a resort and it was refreshing not to arrive at a crowded buffet where you need to queue up. It was quiet, with ample selection and personalised service.
Rooms were wonderful spacious, clean with rustic yellow walls and wooden floors.
The service makes this resort. It is impeccable starting from the check in to the dining staff: all very professional. The Manager of the resort calls himself "Mr. Big" a very jovial Thai man who has a perpetual smile and is always approachable for any requests or even a chat.
We are definitely going back for the quality of the staff/service, the lovely beach/water, spacious rooms.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam_ahmed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Dear Our Valued guests ,

Greetings from New Star Beach Resort.!

Thank you for leaving a good comment for us here in trip advisor.
We are delighted to know that our service and facilities were to your satisfying during the recent stay with us at New star Beach resort

Beach is one of the best highlights of our property and we are trying our best to keep it clean all the time to meet our guest expectations. Breakfast is our aim as it is the most importance meal of the day ,

Thank you for mentioning the good service from our team that you had received during your stay in our hotel as guest satisfaction is very important to us, of course I will for sure passing it all to the staff about your compliments so they will continue to render great service.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Sincerely Yours,
\
Chanupong M chamni
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week at the end of July.
Lovely place to stay not to far from Chaweng, and good dining spot across the road from resort alot cheaper then the resort.
We stayed in room 506 the floor was very slippery so just be cautious.
But overall its a beautiful handy spot

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank shekhanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

Chanupong manachamni
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015

We had been many times to Chaweng Noi and surely after seeing the Chaweng beach we concluded that we made the right choice. New Star Resor is very nice resort in a plush garden. Water flows everywhere. Breakfast and the food at the beach restaurants is very nice. The beach is gorgeous. The large mango tree provided shade for many people. Staff was friendly and effective. We will return.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mucho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

Chanupong manachamni
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews