We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Expedia.com
$100
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Agoda.com
$83
View deal
Priceline$116
Hotels.com$100
Travelocity$100
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveler rating
535
210
70
31
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
535
210
70
31
13
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 859 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the first 6 nights of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a villa and our room was beautifully decorated with flower petals. We also received a honeymoon cake and bottle of sparkling on our first night. The airport transfer was also great and very reasobably priced.

The location of this resort is amazing. This was my second visit to koh samui but first time at new star. We were close enough to the action of chaweng but on a much more beautiful and serene section of beach. When we felt like being more amongst the action we simply caught a red truck into chaweng or walked in.

The gardens of the resort are also really lovely. The pool is also really nice. We looked around a lot of resorts in the area and the beach and pool of newstar are definitely one of the best!

Our room was huge, clean and comfortable. The furnishings were really lovely. There wasn't much lighting though and the tv channels were very limited. The shower was massive but not great water pressure. We also tried ordering room service on a few occasions and could not get through so gave up and went out for dinner. Honestly though these things weren't really an issue for us as we were enjoying our stay so much. We did notice some poolside and beachside cottages and they looked really nice as well.

Breakfast was included and was a buffet. The food was quite nice. Not the best Buffet I've had but we certainly didn't go hungry. We ate by the pool on several occasions for lunch and dinner and the food we ordered was delicious and very reasonably priced. For a special dinner we walked to Dr Frogs on the cliff at the southern end of chaweng noi beach. The view and food was really great and worth the extra cost.

The staff at newstar were also so helpful and always very friendly. My husband loved the saluting security guards at the front gate and Pu our driver from the airport. We were both so impressed with the Thai hospitality we experienced.

We can't wait to visit koh samui and newstar resort again it was definitely a highlight of our trip and a wonderful way to start married life!

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leesh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Everything you expect from this hotel for its rating and other good comments. The Staff especially the reception staff were all very helpful and friendly. The grounds very beautiful and the rooms comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and the pool and beach front are absolutely perfect. This is my first choice for samui and I would definately come again.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the cottages near the beach, i don't really know how are the rooms or the beachfront villas (although i suspect the last ones can't be worse). The cottages are good, not the most luxury rooms but fairly clean and well maintained. The staff came and cleaned the room twice a day. (!?!)

The beach and pool were very nice (there's really a problem with the seaside of some 'beach' hotels on this island so you should choose with great care) and quiet. Few people, few kids.

The food is very good and fairly priced. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the english is somehow good (not the case everywhere and every time).

The weather in June was so so... we had a rainy day and showers in the evening almost every day, but was good as a whole.

Room tip: We asked in advance for a cottage near the beach (there are two right on the beach) and we received one of those.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank addatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I asked the front desk guy how much for beach front.he said 2500(too cheap)in shock I said in bath?he took out a brochure and i said which one.he raised his voice n rudely said No.No.all in Bath no Malaysia and walked off.WTF?what does Malaysia have to do with it?female staff was nice to sit me down,soon flowers,towels and drinks arrive.after the check-in we were given free massage at the SPA and vouchers for laundry.
when I got to my room all had been forgotten.the view,gardens and music from birds all came together and your in paradise.rooms are huge and open with chocolates and fruits.at night there are mosquitoes but they have mosquito repellents in the room on hand.
breakfast is a bit far from some of the rooms a morning walk daily is nice the air is crisp and cool,the birds serenade you all the way. the view during breakfast is amazing.the food is more for westerners.my husband is Chinese so the porridge and bacon was the only thing he liked.for me it was like my everyday breakfast.
according to the rules the pool closes at 8 but I got out at almost 9 pm and no one said a thing.It's nice to put up flags to let us know the danger level of the sea.
going to chaweng is easier if you rent a motorbike not because it's too far but chaweng being very2 long.the front desk rent it at 30 bath/day.more expensive but you don't need to leave a photo copy of your passport.check about the insurance
free wifi in all the rooms even Centara doesn't have this.
room service charge extra 100 bath.it's better to hide it into the full cost of the meal like other resorts do then tell people that your actually charging to send them food.

Room tip: if your coming with family get the room with a dipping pool.it is more then enough for a whole family.palm rooms are father then the larger beach front villas so try to get the ones nearer to them so you don't have to walk too far to the beach or pool area.plus upper level is always better then the lower ones =)
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa_Cornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I must admit that after reading all the overly zealous Tripadvisor reviews I was sold on this place, but the reviews missed a few too many fundamental negative points that made our stay there not as good as promised.
Firstly and it must be said, the pool and beach front are stunning and the beach villas, pretty spacious and well designed. The breakfast was awful in every way, how hard could it be to make a simple breakfast? What's ironic is the fact that they advertise cooking classes, are you serious? Start by taking all your chefs to cooking class first before they embark on teaching others. The front desk staff were kind enough to upgrade us, but showed serious signs of strain at coping with our questions and demands. Few spoke comprehensible English and some were plainly rude to my mother for simply making enquiries. Add to that the beach attendant waving his arm dismissively at my request to locate a suitable beach chair, and the pretty high prices of the rooms compared to Koh Samui standards, and the tough uphill hikes to the reception every time we needed to talk to reception or leave the premises, Newstar is anything but a star. And to have such a designer pool deck and beach front and not to make use of it after 8pm is such a shame. The atmosphere at night is dead quiet, no music, no beach bar or semblance of life. More suitable for retired couples than youth. The management really need to re-evaluate their tariffs, service, food offering and entertainment if they want to attract repeat visitors.

Room tip: Take the Beach Villas flanking the pool area if you can and negotiate for an upgrade.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelswithFouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
chanupong_GM, General Manager at New Star Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2016

Dear our valued guests,

Greetings from the New star beach resort Koh Samui.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction in TripAdvisor. and delighted to learn you were very happy with our services and facilities provided at the resort . Such correspondence is always highly motivating our team

It is gratifying that our resort played some part in your enjoyment of Thailand and hope it is not too long before we welcome you back to the Land of Smiles again soon

yours sincerely

New Star Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews