We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Nearby Hotels
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$157
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$97
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$74
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$136
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muang Samui Spa Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$257
$251
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Buri Rasa Village Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$177
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$147
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$226
$206
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,022)
Filter reviews
2,022 results
Traveler rating
1,226
530
144
67
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,226
530
144
67
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge pool roomtree tops restaurantocean kissfruit kebabstreetop restaurantour honeymoonkoh samuishared pooloutdoor bathroompool barmosquito netcold towelsfire showturn down servicemain poolamazing hotelprivate beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,410 - 1,415 of 2,022 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed here for our honeymoon in a Deluxe room/villa with private plunge pool. The position of the resort is perfect and the room was immaculate. We arrived to rose petals on the bed and champagne on ice. I cant fault the service and the infinity pool on the beach is fantastic. We travelled in July which is off peak for there. It did rain nearly every day but mainly late on and it never lasted. It also helped to clear the air for fantastic sunshine the following morning. We ate as a treat in the Sky Hug - Michellin star'd chef etc and really romantic hut in the trees - well worth it for a honeymoon treat. We also enjoyed dining on the beach for their beach BBQ party.
I would say though that to eat in any of the resorts restaurants every day is extremely expensive. The alcohol esp - but there is a 7 Eleven over the road and the hotel are happy for you to bring in your own food and drink in with you. Also they have an amazing Spa but it is very expensive - I would recommend the Orange Massage place over the road or on Choeng Mon beach. Chaweng is good for a night out but very noisey so we were glad that the resort is a short taxi ride away from Chaweng. Its a very romantic place to stay and the staff are extremely helpful too. Lovely place for a romantic escape.
The actual cost of staying there was very reasonable - we got 10 nights for the price of 5!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBride_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Dear HappyBride_10,

First of all congratulations again for your Wedding and all the best wishes from the entire team at Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa for a great future.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though you raised some concerns about our pricing in some areas.

Even though we are confident that a higher quality is justifiying a higher price, especially when looking at items you are consuming like food and beverages or applying to your body like during a massage I am glad sharing with you that we reviewed our pricing based on regular customers feedback and adjusted it in many areas where we can justify this without compromising in the quality.

So for your upcoming vacation or Wedding Anniversary you will be able to enjoy even more of our fantastic offerings at an even more reasonable price. My team and I are looking forward welcoming you back and sharing some nice memories.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We had an awesome time at Anantara Lawana. The staff, especially Chris Adams and Som, provided great service - recommending places for us to go and taking a genuine interest in our happiness during our stay. The dining in menu could be improved but the cocktails we had down at the pool bar were some of the best we had on Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeygal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Dear Journeygal2010,

your feedback is highly appreciated and your positive comments about the two members of my team even more. It is always very encouraging to hear when we succeed in our ultimate goal to satisfy our customers.

I perfectly agree that our previous in Villa dining did not match up with the rest of our resort. Therefore I am even happier being able to confirm that we have worked out together with Chris a fantastic new in Villa dining menu which even includes your private in Villa BBQ. With or without Chef to finish it, up to you...

We would be glad welcoming you back and trying out the new menus and sharing your feedback with us.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed in the resort with our 6 years old daughter for 7 nights. Although it seems more like a honeymooners' hotel our child had a fantastic time there. Even at low tide in the morning you can walk in the shallow water to the 100% sandy area to play with your child for a long time. We stayed in the plunge pool room and it was just great. The weather was hot and not so sunny but that means that you don't get sun burn easily and stay in the water for a very long time.
I could only comment on the food which is more on the thai side. I would strongly recommend if they could cath a cook from the RICE restaurant and bring him out there. Little Holland just accross the street is a very nice oppurtunity for everyone especially the monday barbeque night (199 bahts!!).
The center chaweng area was not so interesting for us but if you want to go there just take an open van type transprt which only costs 100 Bahts.
I would deffinetely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to be happy; with the staff who always had a big smile on their faces all the time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umuraydogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Dear umuraydogan,

I'm glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with your family so much and that you took the time sharing it with us through TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your feedback about the food and are glad to learn that we did well on the Thai dishes for you. My apology if we haven't been able to meet your expectations on the Western dishes. Unfortunately we haven't been able to grab the Chef of the Rice restaurant, but believe that we have been able to make a much better catch with our newest leadership additions to the kitchen team which will be joining shortly.

It would be my pleasure welcoming you back and hosting you one dinner with Western dishes in one of our Restaurants and hearing your feedback about them.

With best regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I have chance to staying for one night in Anantara Lawana Resort and Spa ...Pool awesome, Staff always smile with helpful...enjoyalble to stay here...see you next year again

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aooBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Dear AooBangkok,

a short and crisp review... very much appreciated!

Looking forward seeing you next year showing you all the improvements we made.

Best regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had a 10 night stay at the end of June for our honeymoon and we genuinely loved this place. Perfect for couples it's situated in an ideal spot on Samui, right on the beach and just north of the main town, Chaweng. You can get a taxi into town in 5 minutes for 150 Baht but we just spent most of our time in the resort relaxing! The accommodation is lovely and clean modern thai style with every thing you need. The rooms with plunge pools are perfect!
The staff are very friendly, most speak good english and seem to genuinely like getting to know the guests. The food is beautiful and i can recommend the sky hug restaurant high in the trees for a private dining experience! The food at the resort is expensive for thailand but still cheap compared to european prices and it really is great. if you want to eat cheap just go down the road into town and there is something for everyone.
The hotel infinity pool is the real attraction of this place as it has a simply awesome view out to sea, with not a single person on the beach, ever! We spent most of our time here as it was so amazing, truly relaxing. We booked through Virgin Holidays and got a great deal so shop around...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotteandjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews