We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded beach resort with friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2010

It was a nice change not having to stand in line to check in at a hotel. Alighting from the Toyota SUV sent to pick us up from the airport, we were ushered to a rattan sofa, and the staff brought the necessary forms for us to sign. In the meantime, cold towels were borught to help us refresh, and a lei was placed over our necks. A golf buggy then transported us to our Deluxe room, which was nice and spacious.

We had 2 gripes. One was with the bathroom. The water pressure was exteremely low, and the hot water was more lukewarm than hot. No doubt, the weather was in the sizzlings 30s, but hot water would have been nice for a 5 star resort.

Our other gripe was with the aircond in the room. Extremely hot. It could have done with servicing or pumping in gas to make it colder. We kept setting the thermostat at 20, and it kept reverting back to 29. That's how hot it was. Impossible to sleep. It was so humid, that we asked to change rooms the next morning. Avoid Room 508, unless they've fixed the aircond. The aircond in the new room turned out to be too efficient. It was freezing cold. We had to leave the dorrs to the bathroom open, to let out some of the cold air, in order to sleep. Woke up in the middle fo the night, still cold, so had to open the balcony door as well, to let in the warm air. They really should inspect their airconds, to make sure that their guests are not too hot nor freezing.

Other than that, the infinity edge black tiled pool was beautiful, overlooking the sea. Complimentary fruit refreshments on a skewer were brought as well as cold towels, and we also had a 10 minute head and shoulder free massage pool side by the masseurs from the Anantara Spa. The hamburger we ordered was delicious, as was the coconut drink. Pricey food, but no worse than any other 5 star hotel.

The Library was an airconditioned oasis, with complimentary water, tea and coffee, as well as books in different languages, such as German and Russian, as well as board games such as Monopoly + free internet access from 2 HP computers throughout the length of your stay. Nice touch, as most hotels would charge for internet access.

The gym was large, cool and well equipped, and I had the place to myself most times. It was like working out in your own private gym.

The buffet breakfast was adequate, but somewhat lacking for a 5 star hotel. More items would have been nice. For instance, there was only 1 type of yoghurt every day - plain flavour. There was fried rice at the local station, but no phad thai at all. The papaya was also not ripened sufficiently, so was hard. The apple juice was terrible, but the banana pancakes were good, as well as the assortment of jams. The service was good, particularly the waitress and the cook manning the eggs station.

What was good was the fact that you hardly saw any other guests, so it was like staying at your own private villa. Bad for the hotel in terms of low occupancy, but good for guests. No queues at the breakfast buffet, swimming pool was uncrowded and no noise. Hardly any children either. Only saw one boy throughout our stay of 4 days. Nice place to de-stress and get away from it all.

Massage, mini-mart and eateries all within walking distance of 5 minutes. 5 minutes' drive from the airport. Attentive service. Whilst waiting for the SUV pick-up to take us to the airport, the staff brought over cold towels scented with peppermint, as the weather was unberably hot, and we must have looked hot and bothered.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Lyricaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2010

Dear Lyricaltraveller,
thank you for your overall positve feedback about your recent stay with us. It is certainly very encouraging for us to hear that many of the little touches we are putting so many efforts in are recognized and appreciated by our guests. I can assure you that there will be many more to come as we have just started...
Unfortunately water is a general challenge on Samui because the supply is not always sufficient and we have to work from time to time with backup systems, which are not able to provide the same water pressure as we would like to have. Nevertheless, the heat of the water should be usually fine and we will have our Engineering team rechecking your first room within today.
The airconditioning in room 508 has been checked and fixed on the day you moved to the other room. We are surprised hearing that the other room has been too cold, as each aircondition has it's own individual thermostat from which you can adjust the temperature yourself. Nevertheless, we appreciate the feedback and will ensure that our Receptionists who are escorting the guests to the room focus better on the explanation how to adjust the temperature in the room.
Your feedback about the breakfast is highly appreciated and I am glad being able to confirm that our new Executive Chef arrived earlier this week and that this is one of his first priorities. We do have actually 2 different kind of yoghurts every day on the buffet already, one plain and one with fresh fruits and I was surprised to hear that you haven't seen it.
Once again, your feedback is highly appreciated and should you return to Samui in the future it would give me great pleasure showing you the improvements we made.
With best regards
Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

The Anantara Lawana is in a good location if you want to be away from the noise and bustle of Chaweng, yet near enough to visit - it's about 5 minutes in a cab. The beach lacks the soft powdery sand of Chaweng (it's a bit gritty), but the hotel more than makes up for this with a gorgeous pool.

I initially stayed in the standard deluxe room, which was light, spacious and gorgeously decorated in pale greys and white. There was a huge bathtub and a large balcony with a day bed. Unfortunately, I had to move due to building noise (there's some construction work going on at one far end of the hotel, but it doesn't affect the rest of the resort, only the area near room 422). I looked at the Deluxe Plunge Pool room, but actually the Deluxe Lawana rooms have a nicer decor and are lighter. Also, there was no bath in the room I was shown, just a shower.

We finally opted for a Deluxe Pool Access Villa, which was stunning, and had access to a large pool shared between about 6 other villas. The room was very spacious, and had an enormous bathroom and walk in wardrobe.

My main issue with the hotel concerns their hideously overpriced and poor quality food. I visited a couple of other 5 star hotels whilst on Samui (The Library, Sala Samui, Nikki Beach) and none of them had prices as ridiculously marked up as the Anantara. The room service menu had items such as Phad Thai for £10, or a few breakfast items for £18 per person. The food at the restaurant and around the pool was also poor quality and very expensive. Little wonder that the restaurant was virtually empty every night, and that most people bought their own drinks to have round the pool. It's such a shame, as there were a couple of nights we would have loved to stay in and order room service, but the food was just too dire for us to contemplate it.

If you decide to stay, then it's worth knowing that if you go down to the beach and turn left, the first hotel you encounter (which is less than a minute's walk along the beach) has decent reasonably priced food. There is also a good cafe called Magnolia nearby (come out of the hotel entrance, turn left, and it's about a 3 minute walk) which is perfect for breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2010

Dear SJ13London,
thank you very much for your overall positive feedback about your stay and the effort to share your feedback with us and others.
We appreciate to learn as well about the areas where we haven't met your expectations completely. At the same time we are glad being able to confirm that the raised points are in the process of being address and improvement will be done in a short period of time.
When we took over this hotel just recently to rebrand it to the Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa a restructure of the Food & Beverage Department was part of our plans and is already in progress.
Earlier this month our Executive Assistant Manager with a focus on Food & Beverage arrived from Bangkok and started working with the team on new Beverage and Cocktail lists.
At the same time our own Anantara Group Wine Guru, a previous winner of a nationwide Sommelier competition, is reviewing our Wine list to ensure we have the best possible wine selection available at competitive pricing.
Last but not least, our newly appointed Executive Chef will arrive later this month. Having worked with highly respected hotel chains like Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton in Asia and the US, he will bring the necessary expertise to revamp the entire food offerings in the resort and ensure that we are providing a better value for money. I agree that your example of Pat Thai is not within the usual price range, but can assure you that this will be addressed within a very short time frame.
I would be happy seeing you again at our resort in the future and review the progress we have made. Maybe over a nice dish of Pad Thai, which I would be happy to invite you for.
With kind regards
Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Lovely private and tranquil hotel. Great food but pricey on the drinks in comparison to other comparable resorts. Staff pleasent, genuine and helpful. Beautiful grounds. Needs a better link to main beach for evenings. If you want to get out of the hotel for food and very nice reasonably priced wine, try Little Holland across the road. Excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkAllsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed here from 11th- 19th March 2010. On arrival there was a nice reception with cool drink and towel and we were told we had been upgraded. This all seemed fantastic and this is where it stopped on our first day!
Our upgraded room ( 509) was a deluxe plunge pool room which sounded great but in reality was smaller than the room i originally booked, did not have the big bath and was so far away from everything that it was a hike to do anything and the internet WIFI simply did not work- out of range.
I asked to be moved to the room i originally booked which was in a better location but the WIFI was still so slow you could not work and the water pressure was that bad ( and i am not exaggerating) the bath tub took over 1 hour to fill by which time it was cold.
I asked to be moved again as i simply had to have WIFI ( had given up on bath tub at this point) and we ended up in a deluxe pool access room where the internet was pathetic still but less so than before. I did not have the energy to move again. Even as i write this, the internet has “timed out” after 30 seconds!
Good Points:
Nice big rooms
Clean
Nice Pool Area
Location- just out of main hustle of chwaeng but close enough if you want to escape hotel in the evening ( which you will!)
SPA ( even if they did put it by the road)
Bad Points:
Lack of English which contributed to horrendous service i think.
Internet- so slow it is not funny
Advertising luxurious spa like bath tubs that you do not have the ability to fill up
Service:
- You literally have to beg to get a drink at the pool and then wait 20 minutes for it.
- The waiters/waitresses have no English to speak of. When i asked “can i order?” i was looked at as if i had just read the verse chapter of Hamlet!
- Again the waiters/waitresses have this ludicrous habit of bringing a drinks menu and not giving you a food menu and then finally giving you one to share!
- They have a very small selection of wine by the glass and the two i would have drank, they never had in stock- when i questioned why this was, i was told it was because they had a party last night?!?! So what- YOU ARE A HOTEL WITH ABOUT 10% OCCUPANCY ( This happened on 3 separate occasions and i did not ask again)
- The day menu is the same as the evening menu in Ocean Kiss ( one of only 2 restaurants) which is boring
- I could go on but i think you get the picture..

In summary it is a clean, spacious hotel in a good location but the service is so appalling it ruined the stay. The staff do try hard but after a few days you will be trying hard.... not to lose your patience Would not go back.- I suggest the GM closes the hotel for one month and sends all his F&B staff on training for 1 month at the Shangri La, Bangkok.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arh3uk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2010

Dear arh3uk,

thank you very much for sharing your recent experiences at our resort. Through feedback from our guests like yours we are able to intensify the training efforts in the areas mostly needed.

Please accept my sincere apology that we haven't been able to reach the service standards you could certainly expect from our resort. Nevertheless, I am glad to see that most of the points you raised are being addressed and I am confident that we will improve this quickly.

I agree that English communication skills are needed to be focused on and I can assure you that we are investing heavily into the improvement of this.

We are in the process of increasing our service team to ensure that customers do not have to wait for their orders. The already signed up new staff members will make an immediate impact on service levels, speed and English communication skills.

The accessibility to our free WiFi Internet access points is monitored on a regular basis to ensure that any broken access point is quickly identified and replaced. Unfortunately due to the many open areas in the resort and the close proximity to the sea those access points need to be replaced more often than usual. Based on the overall experience of our customers and their feedback I can assure you that the challenges you were facing with the internet connection have been unusually high and I would like to apologize for this.

We reviewed your feedback about the water pressure for your bathtub with our Engineering and are currently investigating the cause of the problem and possible solutions.

Once again, I am confident that the mentioned points are addressed in a way that you would be able to see an immediate improvement on any future visit. I and my team would appreciate being challenged by you and would enjoy welcoming you back to feedback on our performance.

With kind regards
Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Positives:
- Beautiful Resort - surroundings and setting are fantastic
- Staff - cant do enough to please
- Spa - offers great range of treatments st good value - comparable to London Spa prices and seem to offer lots of special promotions

Negatives:
- Eating in the hotel is v expensive. Hop across the road to a great little bar with pool table and great barlady/owner (Night Sky is the bar name)

The location isnt bad - you can catch a pick up/taxi to Chaweng town for £2 or to Bo Phut village for abt £6-8 if you want a quieter evening.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divinity54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We had just come to thailand from bangkok and were in need of some real down time. we are from australia see, and we have excellent beaches, so really it is hard to find a great beach resort matching up to what we have at home. So anyway, we arrived and were warmly greeted at the front entrance. We walked up a beutiful walkway, with lush green grass and beutiful plants either side of us. We were greeted at the reception area, and sat down on the traditional thai lounges, while bein served cold tea, and a cold washcloth. wow, i knew this place was going to be good.

We were checked into our room immediatley and WOW, just wow. It was stunning, we were greeted with our very own outdoor pool, and meditation type area, and even an outdoor bath. We took a look inside, to find a beutiful living space, and a marvelous bed. And the bathroom! There were washcloths, ready to be used, and a beutifully set out sink area. And an outdoor shower! I have to say, i never thought i was an outdoor shower person, but after using this one, i was hooked.

So anyway, the main pool area was just spectacular, a nice view of the beach, waiters serving you drinks, and pizza, and chips, a nice refreshing swim...what more could you want?!?! The folks at the resteraunt were asouloutley lovely, they catered for our every need, in fact, every person working at this resort was extremely kind, the gardeners would always say hello as you wallked past, and everyone was always willing to help. The food at the poolside resteraunt was fantastic, aswell as "skyhug" resteraunt, which is a place on stilt things, nestled in the trees, i know right, how gorgeous??!!

And the spa, well, it was something else, i got a manicure and a massage. What can i say, it was one of the nicest spa treatment i had ever recieved. My therapist was lovely, the place was spectacular and recieving cold tea while waiting for my appointment always wins me over :)

It is convieniantly located opposite Family mart and BeeMart. Great for getting your groceries. At Beemart, we stumbled across some fire works, which are legal in thailand, we bought a couple, hoping to set them off down at the beach, the hotel staff were over the moon! they all wanted to help us out, and they even had secial tubes to put the fireworks into.

What more can I say? The grounds were lovely, the staff, outstanding, the pool area was beutiful, the food? Exquisite, and the rooms, were gorgeus.

Oh one more thing, the location, just down the road from the main strip known as Chaweng. Fanatstic Markets and nightlife, but the hotel isnt in the middle of it all, so you feelas if you can truly relax once you arrive back. :)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgieporgie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We started our Thailand holiday here, late in September 2009. As it was low-season, we felt like we had the resort to ourselves. This resort is beautiful - make no mistake. It really is quite stunning. Right from the moment you arrive, it certainly makes an impression. What also stands out is the size of it and it can take a while to get around. It is certainly larger than you might at first suspect.

During our time, we received attentive service - as you'd expect at any time of the year, but also during low-season, but it really was great.

We tended to hang around the resort rather than go down into the more popular and rowdy town of Chaweng. The beach was ok, but small and slightly isloated. When we did go down to Chaweng, it was to sunbathe on the beaches for a while. Like me, you might find it odd that there is no direct beach access, but after a while you realise it is commonly accepted that you can walk through any resort to get to the beach.

The pool-side restaurant and bar area served good food, though the breakfast (included) wasn't what I would call five-star by any stretch. The hotel staff did very kindly set up dinner for us one night on the beach. Obviously more expensive, but it was well worth it.

We spent our three nights here in a villa with a private room. I was quite intrigued by the villas that surrounded the private pools (6 villa to a pool), but as it was only the two of us and not a bigger group of family & friends, it was good for what we needed.

Some people have talked down the outdoor bathroom - we really liked it. Didn't have a mosquito problem either, but that could be the time of year we were there. Just remember to keep the door to the bedroom closed so that the air-conditioning can keep your room nice and cool.

We definitely recommend this property to others looking for a nice break. In saying this, next time we will try somewhere new just to see what else is on offer, but we thoroughly enjoyed our time here at Lawana.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 103 in Chaweng
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 103 in Chaweng
877 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $204 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing