We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa De Mar(Chaweng)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,026)
Filter reviews
2,026 results
Traveler rating
1,229
531
144
67
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,229
531
144
67
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge pool roomtree tops restaurantocean kissfruit kebabstreetop restaurantour honeymoonkoh samuishared pooloutdoor bathroompool barmosquito netcold towelsfire showturn down servicemain poolamazing hotelprivate beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,461 - 1,466 of 2,026 reviews
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 4, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

My husband and I checked in early to Villa Lawana (30th) , and was amazed at the quality of this hotel. It sits off the main road in North Chaweng Beach, but once you enter the property, you would never tell. It truely has a relaxing atmosphere, but still close enough to the nightlife, shopping, and adventures. The staff at the check in were very sweet and polite. They speak decent enough English to help answer any questions we had. They greeted us by taking all our bags directly to our room, giving us beautiful fresh flower necklaces, and a beverage. One of the staff members walked us to our villa and pointed out the highlights of the hotel and how to get to them. We stayed in the Private Pool Suite, which was beautiful. You have your own entrance gate that opens up directly into the outside sitting room. The sitting room has comfortable sitting cushions and pillows, a small table where you can enjoy peaceful/romantic room service. It also has steps into the plunge pool directly across from the sitting area. The pool was clean and is about 3 to 4 ft deep. Perfect to dip/lounge in all day, which we did! From the sitting area/deck you enter into the main suite which was so clean and just plain blissful. There is a queen size bed which was decorated with lovely pillows and fresh soft linen. The furniture just sets a peacful, clean, and chic look to the room. There was a fully stocked mini bar and fridge with complimentary teas, water, coffee, and fresh fruit. The television was a nice flat screen 32 inch with enough channels if you want to stay in and watch t.v. (HBO, news, Discovery, etc.) There is a wardrobe which is actually the closet, along with a safe inside. Depending on how much clothes it may be a bit small, but I just folded and stacked our clothes on the shelf. The restroom was very interesting. You go into the double doors from the room into the vanity area. There were plenty of towels to include beach towels, and plenty of toiletries. To the left behind the wall was the toliet and to the right behind the wall was the shower. Interestingly both are technically outside which adds that lovely feeling. Don't be alarmed, there is plenty of privacy from all the plants that are stratigically placed on the premises. From the bathroom area is another set of double doors that leads straight into the plunge pool. Makes it very convient to go from the pool into the bathroom without soaking the entire floors in the room. The restroom area is not air conditioned, but if you open the double doors from the room, you can always let some of the air conditioning in. The weather now is hot and humid, but the bathroom area was not hot our opinon. Like I said it was perfect! There is free Wi-Fi available which the signal wasn't strong inside, but I could sit outside on the deck and use my laptop. They also have a library where you can check out movies, books, or music for free. Also has two resturants in the hotel, which has great food. It was on the pricey side compared to some resturants on the town. The main infinity pool sits below one of the resturants and over looks the beach. The beach water seemed pretty low, but it was still a gorgeous view. In the evening the staff comes to your room for turn down service. They make your bed, remove all the fancy decorative pillows, remove trash, bring extra water, and bring a small snack all in less than 10 minutes. More or less, I would definitly recommend this hotel and spending the extra money to have extra comfort and a relaxing vacation. Oh, and definitly bring mosquito repeallant because the humidity brings those pests out!!!
Pros-
lovely villa, up to date room and accomodations, friendly staff, pool, bars, cleanliness of room and hotel grounds, air conditioned rooms, location, quiet.
Cons-
beach wasn't the greatest (water was low), pricey resturant

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 25, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 25, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at this resort for two nights in the middle of May. As it was low season, it was very quiet. But this was to our advantage as we had booked a grand poolside villa for a anniversary treat - which shares a medium sized pool with four or five identical villas all facing in towards the pool.
Loving that low season of May in Thailand, hardly any rain (and when it does is a welcome short respite from the heat), hardly any people, lovely sunshine, lots of choice on accomodation.
I can't rave about this hotel enough, but as it was low season it was quiet, and we had the villa with the pool to ourselves! The ulitmate romantic holiday.
The service was top class, the rooms absolutely stunning. Lots of little touches to everything, your every need thought of. Beautiful bath treats, walk in wardrobe, enormous over 6 foot bath, waterfall shower looking on to rock garden. The best bit was the bath in which you could roll back the wooden doors to make the inside the outside sitting in the bath looking out onto a warm night. Beds excellent.
The service was very discreet, but if you needed anything they were there right away. As the hotel wasn't very busy (as alot of places there at the moment with all thats going on in the economy seems to have hit Thailand hard as everywhere), one of the restaurants was closed most of the time we were there, but they would open it just for you if you requested a seat there. We were happy as there were plenty of options in town, or we could eat at the open restaurant or in our compound in the beautiful Sala which was outside next to the pool.
As we had a pool in our bit we never felt the need to go down to the pool next to the beach, but it looked amazing. The beach is nice, but is in the northern end of Chaweng beach - the quiet end with lots of fishing boats, suited us as were not big fans of Chaweng anyway...................
I'd say this place is perfect for a romantic getaway and one we will never forget purely for the room, and the pool, so private, lux, and peaceful - felt like a million bucks after that - ready for the madness of Bangkok.......
excellent - stay here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews