We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Bliss!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2009

My husband and I checked in early to Villa Lawana (30th) , and was amazed at the quality of this hotel. It sits off the main road in North Chaweng Beach, but once you enter the property, you would never tell. It truely has a relaxing atmosphere, but still close enough to the nightlife, shopping, and adventures. The staff at the check in were very sweet and polite. They speak decent enough English to help answer any questions we had. They greeted us by taking all our bags directly to our room, giving us beautiful fresh flower necklaces, and a beverage. One of the staff members walked us to our villa and pointed out the highlights of the hotel and how to get to them. We stayed in the Private Pool Suite, which was beautiful. You have your own entrance gate that opens up directly into the outside sitting room. The sitting room has comfortable sitting cushions and pillows, a small table where you can enjoy peaceful/romantic room service. It also has steps into the plunge pool directly across from the sitting area. The pool was clean and is about 3 to 4 ft deep. Perfect to dip/lounge in all day, which we did! From the sitting area/deck you enter into the main suite which was so clean and just plain blissful. There is a queen size bed which was decorated with lovely pillows and fresh soft linen. The furniture just sets a peacful, clean, and chic look to the room. There was a fully stocked mini bar and fridge with complimentary teas, water, coffee, and fresh fruit. The television was a nice flat screen 32 inch with enough channels if you want to stay in and watch t.v. (HBO, news, Discovery, etc.) There is a wardrobe which is actually the closet, along with a safe inside. Depending on how much clothes it may be a bit small, but I just folded and stacked our clothes on the shelf. The restroom was very interesting. You go into the double doors from the room into the vanity area. There were plenty of towels to include beach towels, and plenty of toiletries. To the left behind the wall was the toliet and to the right behind the wall was the shower. Interestingly both are technically outside which adds that lovely feeling. Don't be alarmed, there is plenty of privacy from all the plants that are stratigically placed on the premises. From the bathroom area is another set of double doors that leads straight into the plunge pool. Makes it very convient to go from the pool into the bathroom without soaking the entire floors in the room. The restroom area is not air conditioned, but if you open the double doors from the room, you can always let some of the air conditioning in. The weather now is hot and humid, but the bathroom area was not hot our opinon. Like I said it was perfect! There is free Wi-Fi available which the signal wasn't strong inside, but I could sit outside on the deck and use my laptop. They also have a library where you can check out movies, books, or music for free. Also has two resturants in the hotel, which has great food. It was on the pricey side compared to some resturants on the town. The main infinity pool sits below one of the resturants and over looks the beach. The beach water seemed pretty low, but it was still a gorgeous view. In the evening the staff comes to your room for turn down service. They make your bed, remove all the fancy decorative pillows, remove trash, bring extra water, and bring a small snack all in less than 10 minutes. More or less, I would definitly recommend this hotel and spending the extra money to have extra comfort and a relaxing vacation. Oh, and definitly bring mosquito repeallant because the humidity brings those pests out!!!
Pros-
lovely villa, up to date room and accomodations, friendly staff, pool, bars, cleanliness of room and hotel grounds, air conditioned rooms, location, quiet.
Cons-
beach wasn't the greatest (water was low), pricey resturant

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,404 - 1,410 of 1,933 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 25, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 25, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at this resort for two nights in the middle of May. As it was low season, it was very quiet. But this was to our advantage as we had booked a grand poolside villa for a anniversary treat - which shares a medium sized pool with four or five identical villas all facing in towards the pool.
Loving that low season of May in Thailand, hardly any rain (and when it does is a welcome short respite from the heat), hardly any people, lovely sunshine, lots of choice on accomodation.
I can't rave about this hotel enough, but as it was low season it was quiet, and we had the villa with the pool to ourselves! The ulitmate romantic holiday.
The service was top class, the rooms absolutely stunning. Lots of little touches to everything, your every need thought of. Beautiful bath treats, walk in wardrobe, enormous over 6 foot bath, waterfall shower looking on to rock garden. The best bit was the bath in which you could roll back the wooden doors to make the inside the outside sitting in the bath looking out onto a warm night. Beds excellent.
The service was very discreet, but if you needed anything they were there right away. As the hotel wasn't very busy (as alot of places there at the moment with all thats going on in the economy seems to have hit Thailand hard as everywhere), one of the restaurants was closed most of the time we were there, but they would open it just for you if you requested a seat there. We were happy as there were plenty of options in town, or we could eat at the open restaurant or in our compound in the beautiful Sala which was outside next to the pool.
As we had a pool in our bit we never felt the need to go down to the pool next to the beach, but it looked amazing. The beach is nice, but is in the northern end of Chaweng beach - the quiet end with lots of fishing boats, suited us as were not big fans of Chaweng anyway...................
I'd say this place is perfect for a romantic getaway and one we will never forget purely for the room, and the pool, so private, lux, and peaceful - felt like a million bucks after that - ready for the madness of Bangkok.......
excellent - stay here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

stayed in a grand poolside villa. was lucky to get a good deal, and even luckier to get a whole pool to ourselves for the 5 days we were there. beautiful hotel, still very new. friendly staff and great food. at the quiet end of chaweng beach, but easy enough to get into town. great attention to detail and amazing room. very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We recently spent 4 days at Villa Lawana.

Our reservation was for the Premier Private Pool Villa where each unit has a pool of their own. However, we had the good fortune to be upgraded to a Grand Poolside Villa where 7 villas share a large pool. The setting is quite beautiful and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. There is a lovely outside sala with blinds where you can sunbathe, read, relax, doze. We were fortunate in that our group (ourselves and friend on her own) were the only guests accomodated in this area. I would hesitate to make a reservation in one of these villas for privacy issues, as there is easy visibility into all the units from the communal pool.

This resort is quite lovely and has a fabulous spa where you can be pampered. Treatments are reasonably priced. The beach pool area is a large expanse of concrete with very little shade other than beach umbrellas available. I believe that the addition of grass would help alleviate the heat that is trapped in this area. In addition, the hotel is built on a hillside and you have to go up and down many stairs to get around the premises.

It is a large resort that would most likely appeal to families. I was quite relieved that it was not too full for the period of our stay. Finally, their beach restaurant has a diverse menu of great food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muggzdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We are a family of four ( 2 children aged 11 and 13) and we have been to Thailand and Koh Samui at Easter the last five years. We have stayed at wonderful hotels like Sala Samui and Santiburi Resort. We have never had any complaints to any of our hotels and also this year we stayed at Santiburi and had a fantastic stay with excellent service. We stayed the last five days of our holliday at Villa Lawana because we seen it on Tripadvisor and found it to be a very nice place. The first day we stayed within the hotel area and even though we wonder about why there were so few guests at the hotel and the service was far from what we have been used to we had a great day. But in the late evening we more or less all started to get sick at the same time and the next 24h we were not able to leave our room fighting for the toilet and we were all throwing up like mad. We contacted the hotel in the morning after a terrible night and wanted to warn them about their icecream because we found that it was the only thing we all 4 ate together the last 24h or at least that we were sure that we got the food poisoning from the hotel since we have not been outside the hotel.We also ask for some water since we had no more in our room. Two hours later we had to repeat our call since we had seen no water. One hour later we had some few bottles delivered to our room. Late in the evening ( 24h after we got sick) one of the managers came to our room with some flowers and he told us that no other people were sick. He said that in a way that we felt that he really questioned whether the poisoning was inside the hotel. The day after we were a bit better and the restaurant manager invited us for a complimentary dinner the same evening but we still not felt ready for proper food so we agreed to postpone it to the day after. He told us that he would be our waiter and he was really sorry for our situation. We did have the dinner but we never saw the restaurant manager after he delivered his regret and promise. The dinner was ok but again it felt quite akward to be the only guests in the whole restaurant. When we checked out the day after we were quite sure that the hotel would give us some kind of refund to try to repair some of our lost days. The reception manager seem to understand our negative surprise but after some 30 mins waiting for the hotel managers decision the reception manager had to call the hotel manager to get his final no . The reception manager asked us to e mail the owners and so we did but they only told us that since no other guest have been sick during our stay they are not willing to give us any refund. For us this is a remarkable decision since we strongly believe that the hotel should be very thankful that no more than 4 people got sick and we also have to say that out of the very few guests at the hotel probably none have eaten the icecream.

In total a very disappointing stay but this probably goes without saying.

Best regards
Arve

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArveNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
901 reviews
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
2.8 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $206 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing