We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Break Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

From our arival to departure experience was first class at Lawana,the staff where very friendly and went over the top to make sure our stay was enjoyable, the room was perfect, fresh fruits, welcome card from Lars the GM and a hand written note on a leaf on the bed, the out door area had a sala where you can relax during your stay. I tried both restaurants and ocean kiss and tree tops and the food was outstanding. The chef at ocean kiss coco prepared my Thai food exactly as requested, i can highly recomend the food here. If you are looking for a trully five star holiday..Lawana is it

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Wallen_11,

Great to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us and took the time sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor.

We will share your comments about Chef Coco with him and can assure you that he will be delighted hearing them.

Hopefully we see you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have been uncertain about the hotel as some guests did not enjoy it very much. I assume they simply confused it with the other older resort of Anantara at Koh Samui.

The rooms as well as the resort is quite new, modern with high quality amneties. We had our own private pool. All employees are very attentive, especially Ms. Took and Ms. Sabrina.

The quality of the rooms has a very good value - not as good as big brands such as Four Seasons, Conrad or Hyatt but considering the price we thought it is reasonable once you negotiate a fair deal

The location of the hotel is also quite good. Very close to shops, restaurants etc. 100 m away you could rent for around USD 10/day a little motor-bike. Guess this is the best thing you could do to see the whole island.

It takes about 4 hours by motorbike to go around the island by motorbike provided it is not too much traffic.

Take care while swimming the first time in the public pool. At the very end - there is a wall under water which separates the kid-pool from the adult pool. I thought it is dangerous as you can not see it.

Room Tip: Book a normal room and negotiate for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank logman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear logman100,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments here on TripAdvisor! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and trusted in us even though your initial concerns.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to our resort in the future.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon. The staff are all friendly and we received a lovely welcome. Pool area not over crowded and plenty of space on the beach for sunbeds as well as on the fab double sunbeds above the pool area!! We didnt eat at the hotel in the evenings as it was only a short walk (15 mins) into town with a wide range of bars and restaurants, breakfast however was lovely and in a fantastic setting overlooking the sea. The room itself was nice, and the outdoor bathroom was great!!! In an evening you a brought a leaf with the following days weather forcast on, a nice touch. The only downside was we wish we hadnt upgraded to a plunge pool room - all plunge pools were on the ground floor and as a result the room above cast a huge shadow over your downstairs area!! We would rather have had no pool and some sun. As the pool area is lovely, I would opt for an upstairs room and use the main hotel pool facilities. A great hotel and a memorable stay

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MrandMrsC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear MrandMrsC2012,

Thank you for your recent stay and your compliments about the experience.

I agree that most of the Plunge Pool rooms have a rather protected pool area while the higher room categories like Pool Access villas and Anantara Pool Villas have much more of sun exposure. Something that other travelers might want to consider and I would like to offer getting in touch with us directly should anybody have certain preferences, so we can consider them when assigning rooms.

Great to hear that you enjoyed our lush breakfast, even though you opted to miss the evening experiences in our restaurants which we believe are worth staying back sometimes.

Hopefully we will be able welcoming you back to Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for 7 nights at the end of December 2012 for our honeymoon. This hotel has nothing to remind you of a 5 star hotel. I have travelled around the world and stayed in a lot of hotels and I never complained for a single thing. This hotel has ruined our honeymoon since we had to leave and try to find a new hotel. We stayed for 1 day only trying to find another hotel and had to pay for another hotel. The photos below (see link) show exactly how this hotel is. Look at these photos and judge for yourself. In my personal view it can not even be considered as a hotel. Everything was dated; the furniture and the building. The photos of the shower and toilet as you can see are disgusting. We could not even take a shower since the water had a disgusting smell. We could not even step in the shower since the floor was very dated and disgusting to step on. There were mosquitos everywhere and they bit us in several places. Below our room on the one side there was a dirty field like a rubbish area and on the other side, construction was taking place from very early in the morning until late at night. Nothing reminds a five star hotel. Even the slippers in our room where torn, see again the relevant photo. Did you ever see second-hand slippers in a five star hotel? When they came in our room after we complained they asked us to move in another room but the problems were the same. The problem was the hotel, not the specific rooms. We asked to see the manager. We explained to him that we cannot stay in the hotel since it was not what we paid for. He was not helpful at all. To be honest, first time in my life I met a manager with such a behaviour. When i explained to him that we do not want to lose more time of our honeymoon and legally we are entitled to our money and to provide us the refund he told me not to threaten him, in a very rude way. That was the behaviour of the manager. Later he promised us that he would try to rent out the room again and refund us the money. We explained him that legally we are entitled to a refund irrespective of whether the room will be booked by somebody else or not. Later, we found out from the hotel reception that the room was booked by somebody else and the hotel was anyway paid twice for that room. But the manager still did not return the money to us. Conclusion: this can not be considered a hotel. Given our experience, it felt they only wanted to take our money and never cared for us as clients even considering it was our honeymoon. We moved to another hotel and the other hotel was amazing.

https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=639FF868D4D557D6!128&authkey=!AMvsRIWndCnLwQM

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Avgousta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Avgousta F,

I would like to refer to my response to your previous review from 13th February that you posted under the username GFereos in which I am addressing your above comments.

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Anantara, a bit of an enigma.

The facilities, including plunge pool, are fantastic - the outdoor pool has the perfect beach frontage, and the poolside kitchen did a great burger. The beach itself however, is very rocky, and not the sort of place you would want to lie and sunbathe.

A lack of personal service, as well as a lack of specially trained concierge staff stands out as a weakness in comparison to the attention to detail afforded at some of its larger competitors. This is not to say however, that the staff were impolite. As you can come to expect in Thailand, service was always provided with a smile.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pegasus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Pegasus2013,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially our facilities (and beachside burgers).

My sincere apology if our service hasn’t reached it’s usual high standards. I will certainly review your feedback with the team and ensure that we are more consistent on this, as you can read in other reviews the frequent compliments about the level of service the team delivers.

Thank you for staying with us and we would appreciate having the chance serving you again.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent stay.

Every day got good start with great breakfast and the loveliest breakfast staff. Out of our 5 nights at Lawana, we ate at their Tree Tops restaurant only twice but that was simply because Chaweng's great restaurant selection was just few minutes away.

If you are into swimming, the location isn't great but it was quiet and only 10 mins walk from the busy Chaweng center where all the action from shopping to all night parties took place. They also arrange a lot of trips around Samui's sights but if you are experienced driver, just rent a car or scooter, crap a map from the hotel, get few recommendations and enjoy cruising around island - really easy & enjoyable!

The room was also very beautiful and well kept, good place for honeymooners! Huge thanks for the wonderful maid who was always so corteus and did perfect job clearing our room from the beach sand.

Thanks! We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youme2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear youme2520,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us here on TripAdvisor.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we are all looking forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We travelled with our teenage children and two other families to celebrate my 50th birthday. We were thrilled with the resort and really can't fault it in anyway. Each couple had their own Deluxe Pool Access Villa & the kids had a Deluxe Room between two, just behind us. Our shared pool was fantastic - waking up & going to bed with a quick swim just added to our magnificent days. Plus, it was great when the main pool & beach got a little windy. The resort was always spotlessly clean and the staff were fantastic. They should be commended - all were very friendly, helpful & always polite & smiling. An extra special mention to those at Ocean Kiss Restaurant (esp Kate & Yot) who made each day start perfectly & even remembered most of our coffee orders. The breakfast buffet each morning was amazing. M & the boys at the Beach Bar were also lovely & very accommodating of our late night drinks. Joy, ran our trip to the markets (a real eye-opener) & our Thai cooking class (7 of us). She & her helpers were fantastic. This is a must for everyone. We are planning a Thai dinner party asap to try out what we learned. Anantara Spa was so beautiful - the foot ritual, massages & body scrub made us feel so special & the massage in the Beach Sala (with the waves crashing) was one of the (many) highlights of my trip. It was pricey compared to Samui standards but no more than you would pay in Sydney. Tree Tops was pricey but lovely. We booked late so could only get a low "tree house". Food was delicious even "wow" esp my "volcano" dessert. The Salt & Knife "gurus" were interesting but a bit over the top & unnecesary. The Beach BBQ was a great night. The entertainment and the array of food was fantastic. The food in the resort was delicious and not overly pricey although expensive by Samui standards. However, food just outside the resort, esp across the road or in Chaweng (15mins away), was plentiful, cheap and also delicious. We often chose not to leave the luxury of our resort though. Cocktails were great value, as was the beer but wine was expensive (pretty much everywhere). We all made significant use of the tailor across the road. They were inundated with orders and despite a few unnecessary appointments for extra fittings, they came through with great quality clothing for us all.

Room Tip: The private/shared pool in the villas really added to the glamour of the holiday so we would definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JulieChivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear JulieChivers,

Congratulations once again for your 50th birthday and Thank You for spending it with your family at our resort.

We are curious to hear if the Cooking Class you enjoyed so much helped you impressing your friends and family back home.

If you need a refresher or just want to have another relaxing vacation we would be delighted welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
898 reviews
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
2.8 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $209 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing