We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in koh samui!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

First of all we would like to thank all the staff for being so friendly,attentive and making our holiday experience very special.An extra special thankyou to Yot and Pia in particular who looked after us throughout our eleven night stay.
We stayed in villa 318,lovely comfy bed,very spacious with a lovely balcony area to relax in.The villa was cleaned to a high standard daily and there really is nothing you can fault!
The ocean kiss restaurant was fantastic!We loved the breakfast buffet in particular,there is so much choice and you can never get bored with the variety!we will miss sitting in the morning sunshine overlooking the ocean..a truly beautiful start to the day!
Infinity pool very good size with good sun loungers and beds that gives it that extra luxury.The beach part is the best in comparison to the rest of chaeweng.It is kept clean and it feels very private.There are a few beach sellers that walk around but they're only trying to make a living and they did not bother us at all!I got a few nice anklets and bracelets and a lovely tablecloth as souvenirs.
We highly recommend tree tops restaurant at the hotel.We have travelled and eaten in top hotels and this restaurant would be up there too!its definitely worth an evening meal there to experience fantastic food and ambience.
The hotel is situated just 15 mins from the main town so it's easy walk or catch a taxi.The town has great shopping stalls and loads of restaurants and bars.
If you want to eat locally there is a lovely restaurant opposite hotel(extremely reasonable prices and very good food) it's next to the hair dressers and mini supermarket.
We definitely will return again as we had a truly fantastic holiday in Koh samui and without hesitation we would choose anantara lawana.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misshannahbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Misshannahbana,

There is very little left to be said by me rather than a great Thank You for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that we succeeded providing you with a wonderful holiday experience.

We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very good service and spa ... Great place for a relaxed vacation .. Hospitality is amazing ... Food is good and very close to chewang market area .. Get scooter to make commute to market cheaper ... We had the pool villa with sea view and it was breathtaking .. The infinity pool is decent size .. Very good for honeymoon

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pompi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Pompi14,

Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your positive feedback here with us on TripAdvisor.

We are all looking forward welcoming you back to Koh Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Me an my wife just got back from a 7 day stay at Antara Lawana. we stayed in a villa that was situated on a 2 floor giving us a little sea view and a very nice feeling being in the middle of the wilderness as the whole resort is set with beautiful trees all around. The room was a good size with a big bathroom. a huge plus for the room was the "terrace living room" it had a relaxed sofa where we spent a lot of time after the beach and after dinners.
Tree top restaurant was simply amazing! Wounderful setting and great food.
The beach is perfect if you want to have a relaxing time as it is quiet but only a small walk into Chaweng. The hotel is astonishing from the beach side with a great pool bar and restaurant. They have double bed sun chairs on the beach which are super to hang in for a full day.
Last of all I would like to mention the wounderful staff. I travel a lot in both business and pleasure and this hotel has the best kindliest staff I have ever met. Most of them speak good English and will help you with anything you need.
The vsitors to this hotel seemed to be most couples around 30-40 from Australia, New Zealand, Germany and Russia. All the guests were very relaxed and quiet.
Last of all I would like to mention the Breakfast. This is AMAZING! Me and my wife would sit for at least an hour every morning enjoying all the great dishes, fruits and coffee. They also supply you with lots of different fresh juices and special dishes every day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear ChrisSch11,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay that much.

The team will be excited to hear that they made such a positive difference to your stay and we are all looking forward welcoming you back hopefully very soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are just getting ready to leave the hotel to go to Phuket. We have had an incredible time at the anantara.
When we got here we decided to upgrade our room to a pool villa. This is well worth doing. The villas are fantastic. Being able to jump into your own pool when you like is well worth the extra cost. As is the outside bath and shower.
There is a happy hour every day from 6-7 down at the beach bar. We loved this as we could just relax and enjoy cocktails while the sun goes down.
The staff at the hotel are all fantastic and very helpful. Especially Tanya on reception.
We hired a scooter for the 7 days we were here. Being able to get about the island when we wanted was great.
Most nights we went to chewang which is about 5 mins away on the scooter. There are loads of shops and good restaurants.
There is an amazing restaurant called cafe 69 which is absolutely incredible- so cheap and amazing food!! We ate here twice in the week! Food round the pool at the hotel is nice, quite expensive tho as they add service charge onto everything and tax.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christurner_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Christurner1,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed your Pool Villa and the service of our team.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

It has taken me 2 weeks to write this review if I had wrote it when we returned or whilst in Anantara Lawana the rating would of been terrible.
The best part about the place was Ocean Kiss great breakfast and Poo at breakfast was always happy and very helpful.
We arrived at reception greeted by Sunny who was very good we were given cold towels and a nice drink, we booked a Pool Villa and had emailed the Hotel months ago to upgrade to a sea view pool villa and also put in a request with our travel agent but no one had any idea about this. We arrived at our Villa the pool had not been cleaned and a leech was on the water side, the room was clean ish but not sparkling.
Day 2 the smell from the bathroom was terrible we informed housekeeping who came and put a scented candle near the toilet hence smell still there.
We tried to order room service with the time difference we were hungry around 3am (room service is 24 hours) we ordered a cheese board and was told this was not possible as there was no ham! So no room service. The next night we tried again this time a selection of cold meats and we had run out of gin from the mini bar only to be told no ham (again) and no gin so once again no room service.
We had a invite to a cocktail party at the beach bar which we attended to meet the management we felt that because we had problems they really were not that interested and spent more time talking to the people who were pleased with the place.
Next day the smell from the toilet was worse than ever so I asked for management to come to the villa first thing, after this meeting we had 9 people visit our villa, pool cleaning, bathroom mending, maid service and the internet man, after everyone had gone the villa looked mint and smelt clean, the pool was clean and the villa was as it should of been when we arrived, its a shame that we had to have someone to visit to get something done as this was well into our holiday, we were paying £550 per night to stay in Anantara Lawana and it was not worth it.
New Years eve party: we had already paid for this in our package as we were told it was compulsory, it was £150 each for a buffet help yourself menu and was not worth the money, the cheapest bottle of wine on the menu is £32 and it is terrible, the management did find us later on and presented us with half a bottle of white wine and a cheese board I think that this was for the lack of room service. The entertainment on New Years eve was very good and so were the fireworks but when you are paying £300 for a couple for the night we expected more.
We left feeling disappointed it was not the 5 star trip we were expecting and in hindsight wished we had gone to the W Retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LVGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear LVGirl79,

Thank you for sharing your praise of our breakfast and Khun Poo in particular here on TripAdvisor which is highly appreciated, as well as your constructive criticism in regards of the cleanliness of your villa and the room service.

Please accept my apology for not having met you personally during the cocktail invitation. We try our best to meet as many guests as possible during those times but unfortunately it might happen that the time is not enough for everyone.

I am glad to hear that we have been able to rectify the cleanliness issues and apologize that it has taken that long.

We investigated as well the challenges with the room service orders and discovered that it was rather a communication challenge rather than unavailable items. The “no ham” comment made us curious in particular and after having spoken with the staff member we discovered that he meant “no have” as he misunderstood your order and was not aware that you were ordering cheese and gin. We will certainly put additional efforts into the English training we are performing for our night room service staff.

Unfortunately we were facing some severe weather conditions during the New Year’s Eve party which certainly has spoilt some of the decoration and presentation of the night. Great to hear that you enjoyed the Entertainment though. With the discount we have given you it came down to a charge of actually UK Pounds 130 in total and we operated that evening on a loss. Therefore I would hope that your value for money perception of that evening might improve.

As mentioned previously, we appreciate that you shared your comments during your stay as it enabled us to address and rectify most of them to your satisfaction.

With the best wishes for 2013

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have been staying over the festive days enjoying the right load of Xmas spirit. Creative eye catching & not overwhelming, you do get reminded the Xmas days even with tropical temperature. Turn down service on 24th with Xmas sock on our bed, Santa & his Santalinas singers on the dinner buffet. We felt having the exact portion of the holly night and it was a hard time to choice the right location of restaurant that day. Macigal lightening in their fine dining restaurant Tree Tops and then the white set up in Oceankiss with live music and a buffet to die for. Wondering what these guys pulling out for New Year's Eve.....
We stayed in a Deluxe Plunge Pool & felt it been the right choice for our needs. Enough space, charming design & good amenities in the bath rooms. Our room been even cleaned twice a day and we loved the daily messages delivered via frangipani leaf.
Thank you Anantara & your fantastic team for making our Xmas stay special & so memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear FaF,

Merry Xmas and Thank you for posting your kind compliments here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that we have been able to provide you with a great Christmas experience in the tropics and that you not only enjoyed our restaurants but as well the room and service experience.

We wish you all the best for 2013 and hope seeing you back soon.

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

After spending 16 K on this our special holiday as it also combines both our sixtieth birthdays, I have to first say that 7K of that was allocated to what we thought was tto be the highlight of our trip,our stay in the Anantara with a deluxe sea view (front row beach front) pool villa. Nothing in the world to us is more relaxing and therapeutic than the timeless sound of the waves. It was worth the seven grand.
After leaving the Shangri La hotel in Bankkok ( where we spent four unforgettable nights and I couldn't rate this hotel enough) we arrived in Koh Samui only to find that our transport had not arrived. After lugging all our cases , and there is quite a lot for a round the globe trip and with the help of another transfer group we eventually left the airport an hou and a half later. On arriving at the hotel I must say the reception was quite poor with the staff seeming to be more attentive to the transport drivers grumbles that he had heard nothing about our pick up. I began to wonder at this point about my booking at the hotel as every one seemed to be looking blank faced. Recognition was soon thwarted however when I introduced ourselves and requested our sea front pool villa. There was no such villa available. The villa I was offered is three rows back with a two metre slot to look through the roof tops to the sea. Quite frankly I'm sick of looking at the same wave every morning,and the timeless sound of the waves... Well.
On entering the restaurant that night during a.monssoon storm the heavy roller blind was brought down on my wife's head almost knocking her unconscious. We were then asked to sign for our meal with a hefty price tag attached. I explained that we were half board basis but made to sign anyway. I wondered. The next meal confirmed my thoughts....the hotel were not aware that I was half board and I suspect from the looks we receive at the restaurant that they still don't.
We find the food at the hotel of a very good quality, the down fall of course you will know if you are a lover of spicy Thai food as I am that you need lots of water. Beware the cost of water at the restaurantis twice the price of a good superstore wine.the management of course know the food is deliciously hot and spicy......
To sum up ,wether it be the fault of the hotel or the booking agent we feel cheated, very bitter and very aggrieved, and all the free massages in the world won't change that. Our next stop New Zealand can't come soon enough........ten days. Hindsight ,that lovely word ,7K ......I know she would have preferred the part exchange deal for the new Mercedes.

Room Tip: Get a plan of the resort before you choose your room or type of room. Do not pay any money to anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sadiekennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Sadiekennedy,

Even though we have spoken personally and discussed your comments after you have posted them here on TripAdvisor I would certainly like to take the opportunity to share my feedback.

I can indeed understand your frustration and desire that on such a special vacation everything should be perfect. Unfortunately I see as well that a lot of the frustration you mentioned here has been caused by external factors and are outside of our control.

The airport transfer wasn’t organized through us but by your travel agent (or apparently not). The driver who finally turned up to bring you to the hotel has been very “outspoken” upon arrival with our receptionists about his feelings. The situation having to calm down a driver certainly disrupted a usually smooth and calm check in process.

As I mentioned in our conversation and offered to show you in our correspondence with your agent we clearly advised several times to your agent that the Pool Villa they booked does not have any sea view. This has obviously not been communicated to you by your agent.

We also haven’t been aware or paid for by your agent for the half board during your stay. Nevertheless, we have adjusted this since and are awaiting payment from your agent for the same.

I also explained you the reason for imported bottled water like Perrier etc. being priced higher than local water and/or ice water which is all available in our restaurants.

Based on our latest conversation I felt re-assured that you are enjoying your vacation now and that we have been able to clarify a couple of the misunderstandings and challenges. We remain having you waitlisted for a Sea View Pool Villa should one of them become available during your stay.

Once again, I am glad that we have been able to have a personal talk and clarify the situation, even though I would have certainly preferred having this before above review was posted.

I am looking forward looking after you during the rest of your stay.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
899 reviews
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
2.8 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $208 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing