We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel, wonderful staff, perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, wonderful staff, perfect location.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon for a week. The staff were incredible from the moment we arrived at the airport. We had a driver waiting for us with cold bottles of water (very welcome). The resort is stunning, every detail has been carefully considered, the rooms have everything you could possibly want. We stayed in a plunge pool villa, in the heat and humidity it's amazing to have your own pool!
The staff arranged a complimentary cake and bottle of wine for our honeymoon which was lovely.
Breakfast buffet is great and caters for everyone, however the rest of the food is quite expensive, especially by Thai standards and the quality isn't brilliant. However, you're only a 15 minute walk to the centre of Chawang where there is an endless selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alangdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Alangdas,

Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your feedback about your stay here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed such a fantastic stay in one of our Plunge Pool rooms and that we have been able to contribute to a wonderful honeymoon.

We will take your comments about our food offerings happily on board and will ensure that we deliver those in a consistent standard as the feedback about it is generally very positive. My apology that we apparently haven’t done so during your stay.

We appreciate your feedback and looking forward welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    478
    132
    62
    49
See reviews for
321
1,024
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,056 reviews
318 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,541 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Anantara Lawana Resort is beautifully located just a 5 min. taxi ride (200 Baht fix price) from Chaweng with all its restaurants, bars & shops. This stunning location allows a relaxed and quite day at the beach or pool in combination with evening action - if required.

The grounds are beautiful, the vegetation, the Oceankiss restaurant & the beach as you would expect of a 5* property.

We made a booking for a Plunge Pool room but didn't like it due to the location and especially the open WC which gives you the feeling you're sitting basically on the street where everybody is passing. Therefore - after one night at the Plunge Pool room - we upgraded to an Ocean View Pool Villas which was just stunning. The view from the pool deck, the infinity pool, the bathroom with two open showers... fantastic!

The Oceankiss restaurant where breakfast is served also offers a stunning view and very friendly service. The selection and the quality of the food, yummy! Very good Brezels, Croissants, German sausage, salmon (served in a "cold room") and especially jams (try the Pineapple jam). While fresh juices you've to pick at the counter they do serve a daily smoothie. Once we tried Oceankiss for dinner and it also was very good (see separate review).

The beach... great view - but we had some days with quite dirty water. Also be aware of the rocks in the water, I cut my feet twice. If I would go again I would take swimming shoes with me. Some other reviewers complain that they had to order ice water at cost - I have to say that we would have been happy to do so - because a waiter at the beach some days hardly existed. Instead we had to walk up to the beach bar to order. By the way, the pool is anyway the better choice: no rocks, cleaner water and an even better view towards the Gulf of Thailand.

So why only 4 points instead of 5? Because the housekeeping I would rate 2 to 3 stars, far, far away from a 5* experience. Example? At a 5* hotel I do expect that the ashtray is emptied during the turn down service, that the towels are always hanging at the same place (sometimes the pool towels where hanging in the bathroom and I had to run wet through the complete Villa to get them after I jumped in the pool), the shampoo is automatically refilled (and not only after you tell the reception "it's empty"), fruits are not just banana & apple (Thailand!) etc. Such small things make a 5* hotel a 5* experience.

The worst point was the lizards. We had 3 of them in our roof, huge once, more than 30 cm long. Unfortunately they were using our bathroom as their toilet. On our washing table was always some lizard excrements (size of a 2-Euro-coin) - which stinks! Since the hotel knows about these lizards (latest after we told them) you expect them to check at the turn-down service so they do remove it automatically. But, no, the housekeeping at Anantara Lawana, doesn't care. They just leave it there until you complain.

Anantara Lawana could be paradise if they would just take more care about 2 or 3 things.

Room Tip: For sure the Ocean View Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear HONKiev,

We appreciate your positive comments and constructive feedback very much, especially as it comes from such an experienced traveler as you are obviously. (I assume the “HON” in your username is referring to your Lufthansa Top Tier Frequent Flyer status)

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the resort and the overall service very much. Nevertheless, I certainly would like to apologize for the behavior of our natural mosquito repellents and the oversight of our housekeeping team to remove their droppings. I fully agree that this is not the standard to be expected in our resort. Same applies for the placement of towels in the rooms for which we usually have a standard setup that is supposed to be followed. I appreciate that you are pointing it out to us so we can take measurements to ensure a better consistency.

The lack of service around the beach is another point I sincerely would like to apologize for. We have spoken to the team to pay better attention. Sometimes it is difficult to find the right amount of attention to the guests so they don’t feel bothered. We try to give just the right amount of privacy and peace while ensuring that the team is visible enough and pays enough attention to be ready to serve when needed. As mentioned, my apology for this.

Thank you once again for the feedback and we would be delighted welcoming you back during one of your frequent journeys throughout the world.

Kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Where do I start? We absolutely loved our 6 night stay here. The accommodation was beautiful. We did not want to leave. The pool area was fantastic and the beach also was nicer than i had expected reading the reviews. We never had a problem finding a sunbed and enjoyed sitting on the beach at night with a cocktail. The food was lovely in the ocean kiss restaurant and the breakfasts were amazing. So glad our breakfast was included in the price. The staff were all lovely and friendly and were very helpful when we were organising tours etc. We also enjoyed a beautiful night out at the tree tops restaurant which i would thoroughly recommend trying when you stay here. It is expensive but it is definitely worth it. We also enjoyed walking down the street into Chewang for some shopping and eating and entertainment etc. It is a noisy, fun place to shop and it never seems to close. Also enjoyed our trip to fisherman's wharf. We loved Chewang Beach too, such a beautiful beach to relax on with lots of bars and restaurants to enjoy. Would recommend this resort to anyone and would love to go back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: we stayed in garden deluxe room and it was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Deb M,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community and us. We are always happy to hear if guest had a wonderful stay and I will be gladly sharing your feedback with my team.

We are all looking forward welcoming you back to Koh Samui in the hopeful not too distant future.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights last week with a girlfriend. We both needed to escape the stresses of daily life, and we had high expectations of serenity and relaxation, good food, beautiful beach, discreet staff, and a great spa. Upon arrival, we were surprisingly upgraded! Great start! Then we were invited to a management cocktail party! Definitely getting better! Breakfast buffet was one of the best I have experienced. The bar and poolside food was very good quality and well executed. The staff were amazing, polite, friendly and efficient. All in all it exceeded all our expectations, and we will definitely consider staying there again. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PastryMarquise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear PastryMarquise,

Exceeding expectations is certainly a goal we want to achieve. Thank you very much for letting us know here on TripAdvisor that we succeeded.

I appreciate that you have joined my cocktail party as I am always looking forward meeting our guests together with my Management Team and hear how they are enjoying their stay and provide them with some helpful tips how to make even more out of their time on Koh Samui.

Please feel free contacting me directly should you finalize a return trip to Koh Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I must thank the staff for their amazing service. Their abilities should be viewed as the gold standard in this industry. There were two young children in our party, Hugo (my son) and William, and the staff seemed to adore them like they were their own children. This made the holiday some what more relaxing knowing that they were accepted and not seen as an annoyance (which is the standard response in many resorts in this industry).

Though child friendly from this point of view, having a balcony appartment or a unit with a pool could be a little nerve wracking if you like to leave doors open.

Excellent pool, great breakfast, amazing staff. Thanks for a great 10 days.

Darren, Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Darren,

We certainly remember you and your friends and are glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay so much. Great to hear as well that you felt your children being in good hands and well looked after by my team (how can someone not adore Hugo and William??).

I certainly understand that the rooms could be a challenge with small children if the doors are not locked. Most of the guest will make use of the safety latches in order to avoid this.

Thanks for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor and we are looking forward welcoming you and the children back to Anantara Lawana soon.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed and ate a few different places while in Koh Samui and this place was by far the best resort. The rooms, the food, the staff, the amenities, everything was top notch. I can not say enough about the staff, they absolutely made our stay and go above and beyond to offer all travelers an excellent experience. Tree Tops restaurant is a must if you are a fan of fine dining. The food and service was second to none, the best meal we had while we were on the island. The sheer ambiance of the restaurant was enough to sell us, your own, private tree house to enjoy a beautiful meal and they offer an extensive wine list. This resort is the perfect example that excellent customer service will always win out. Would definitely stay again and will recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyMill88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear amyhallmill,

There is very little left to say for us rather than a big Thank You for sharing this fantastic feedback with us. I am sure my team will be delighted hearing how much you enjoyed your stay and I will be sharing it with all of them.

Thank you as well for sharing your dinner feedback on our Tree Tops TripAdvisor page.

Rest assured that we will keep striving for improvements to deliver our guests experiences above and beyond their expectations.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

wake up to the beach, but expect to wait for breakfast. Thailand is amazing (my 5th time here) but this hotel needs a restaurant mananger to handle the meal crowds--which really are not crowds. The rooms with plunge pools are amazing, but the outdoor bathroom means you are showering, brushing your teeth and going to the toilet with with the mosquitoes. I recommend this hotel if you want to experience a lovely location and have nothing but time on your hands.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear MHL8488,

I am sorry to hear that your breakfast experience was not up to our usual high standards. My apology in case that we made you wait, which must have been unfortunate timing. We do have in fact a Restaurant Manager as well as an Assistant and a Hostess. Usually I will be around during breakfast as well from time to time to see guests and ensure that this important meal is meeting our and our guest’s expectations. We appreciate the heads up and will ensure that we have a better focus on this.

Beside this I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely time at our resort.

We hope being able having an opportunity showing you our breakfast as it usually is.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,273 reviews
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,291 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort

Property: Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Address: 92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the quiet, pristine northern end of Chaweng Beach, Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa offers peerless luxury Koh Samui accommodation just steps away from the ocean. Watch the sun rise over Samui’s palm forested coastline. Recline in rooms and suites inspired by the island’s original Chinese merchant settlers. Experience the perfect romantic dinner for two in a setting of your choice, accompanied by the freshest international cuisine.With room sizes starting at 61 square metres, Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa provides leading island resort accommodation. From the luxuriously appointed rooms and spacious Koh Samui pool villas to the resort’s communal facilities and restaurants, each guest is treated to the finest in services and amenities. Take a dip in the beachside infinity edge pool, dine in our treehouse restaurant overlooking the bay, or keep in touch with friends back home thanks to free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.While Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort & Spa’s location is quiet and tranquil, the buzz and excitement of Chaweng Beach lie just around the corner, with an array of international restaurants and local shops to take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Lawana Hotel Chaweng
Lawana Hotel Bophut
Lawana Resort Bophut
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing