We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location..............but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nora Lakeview Hotel
Ranked #68 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed December 5, 2012

First of all i have stayed here on many occasions,& only last month stayed for 10 days, the rooms are spacious clean & the staff always friendly. the location could not be better with the beach a short walk of about 7-8 minutes, i always went to the Kings gardens & got a beach seat for 60 baht.Breakfast at Tropical Murphys 250 baht, pool upstairs & live rugby & football at the weekends,a chemist,subways also just across the road & a supermarket next door. Yes its all there so whats the ..........but. Noise has been mentioned before from the Reggae club across the lake but thats never been a problem for me, either stay in the central rooms without the view or go for the view & put up with the noise until 2pm. No the problem is the noise from within the hotel & the inconsiderate guests coming in at all hours (French it has to be said) & the inability of the staff to deal with this problem which kept occuring. Walida the manageress take note, a lovely girl,but you need to sort it.Hopefully it was a 1 off as i want to come back as long as the internal noise is sorted.

Room Tip: Take a cental room & avoid the noise , say rooms 204,205,206
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fatszone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Location is spot on but be prepared to hear loud music till late night of your windows are facing the front or back of the hotel. Center rooms are ok. 24 hours McDonald's is just next door and Murphy's for breakfast. There's also a mini Mart next door

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CastelloPikkard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Great location on the main road at Chaweng but bring ear plugs as it very noisy especially from the Reggae Bar & Beer Camp located across the lake from the hotel. Even with ear plugs in its noisy... Apart from that good value for money accomodation and the staff are friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_CB_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at the Nora Lakeview Hotel for a week over the xmas period of 2011 and had a great time.
We traveled from Koh Phi Phi to Koh Samui on a coach for a day so we were exhausted by the time we got there. There was a bit of confusion at first when we arrived, I think they had given our room to someone else but when we were eventually shown our room we were very happy.
It was of a very big size, lovely furnishings, very good air con, really nice bathroom and it had a mini bar.
We soon realized you can hear live music from across the street quite a lot at night so this might be a problem for families but we didn't mind. We had no complaints with the room at all during our stay it was only the receptionist that let the hotel down. On our arrival and during our stay she was very rude every time we spoke to her or asked a question.
The location of the hotel is perfect, it is located on the main street on the island and is surrounded by bars and restaurants but is not too noisy. The beach can be accessed through another resort opposite the hotel which is great.
There are a lot of places nearby to book tours and trips which was very helpful.
The lake at the rear of the hotel was very nice and you could even do a bungee jump at a bar on the other side of the river.
There are internet cafes nearby and also in the hotel.

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely recommend it and go back ourselves. I would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't for the rude receptionist but don't let that put you off staying here.

There was no swimming pool or restaurant as far as we were aware.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

A nice clean hotel in a good location. Nora is located in the centre of chaweng only a five minute walk from the beach and right on the doorstop of many bars and restaurants. Being central suited us as we were only there two nights before moving on but after the hustle and bustle of Bangkok Nora was a nice spacious a/c room with nice views for a reasonable price, and being central to all the amenities of Chaweng. Would recommend Green Mango as a place to end your night ifyou like a party.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank englander87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

The room is very clean and big. If you like the live music then you should choose the room in front of the main street. The back rooms have a lake view and so quiet. The location of the hotel is ok. Hotel staff extremely helpful.The hotel is not on the beachfront but it is only a 5 minute walk away so no problem and for the money you save is worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The hotel was in a great central location on Chaweng Beach with a nice and helpful staff. We had a clean large room that had a nice view of the lake. Even though our room was far from the street the noise was still unbearable. There are 2 bars in front of the hotel that play really loud music till 3am. You cant even be saved with earplugs since the bass vibrates through the floor. If you want to party late and have a nice clean cheap place to stay this is the place for you. If you want peace and quite and sleep then stay away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vancity6043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
0.0 mi away
Behind The Scene Boutique Hotel @ Samui
0.8 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#67 of 104 in Chaweng
127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nora Chaweng Hotel
Nora Chaweng Hotel
#53 of 104 in Chaweng
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Lakeview Hotel

Address: 18 Moo 2, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $23 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nora Lakeview Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nora Lakeview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Lakeview Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing