We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge de la Source
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bad nights sleep”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wehave stayed here 3 times on our way South. This trip we were disappointed to find the pool covered and when asked was told it was closed, speaking to the owner later we found that this was not the case and we could have opened the cover ouselves, this is probably worth putting in the book in the room in English to avoid confusion. We had a room on the front and the street noise was bad for such a sleepy village, not helped by a member of staff rearraging the ouside chairs at 5am right under our window. The bathrooms could do with a steam clean around the tiles in the shower. Good food and wine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    39
    15
    6
    10
See reviews for
33
99
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent 3 days while touring around Champagne at Auberge de la Source.

The Auberge is in a sleepy little village with very little to do but that's what we like.

So in summary:
Rooms - Lovely, spacious and clean
Food - Very Good, with a great selection of wine and Champagne.
Service - Charming, very approachable owners, who arranged a tour of The Caves at Champagne Pannier for us.

All in all thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 66BJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The first minute we entered Auberge de la Source, we immediatly felt like in the friends'house, not in the hotel. Maybe, because of care we've been wrapped in, maybe because of cozy rooms, and a charming terrace. Its restaurent is magnificient with an very interesting wine list.The fare was execellently prepared and the service staff friendly and attentive. We unreservedly recommanded this finest establishement.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrews m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

There are lots of very positive things to say about this hotel. The owner was charming and helpful, most of his staff were helpful and friendly, our room (one of the larger ones, on the top floor) was beautifully furnished with a large bathroom and free WIFI and, hidden away outside, there is a really very lovely, decent-sized swimming pool with large summer house containing a bar area with an honesty tab for drinks. We stayed here as a stopover at the end of a driving trip to the south of France and it proved a good choice before the final leg of our journey through France to the Channel Tunnel. Our thoughts on room for improvement chime with those in "Molecatcher's" review. Breakfast was, frankly, rubbish and very poor value. It was not attractively presented, the coffee was treacle thick and almost undrinkable and there was in any event limited choice. The hand held shower, with no means of shielding the bathroom from spray and no where to hook the showerhead to the wall, was annoying. Our evening meal was pretty good, but expensive for what it was. Indeed, bathrooms are not this place's strong point - the really lovely swimming pool area is let down by a rather shabby shower/changing area in a small building at the back. All in all, we were pleased with our choice of hotel, but there is definitely room for improvement here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had booked this three star hotel online and were advised not to arrive before 4pm. so we got there at 5pm only to find the doors locked. We finally located the owners (with some difficulty - in the next village) and were then shown to our room This was a quiet, beautifully furnished room at the back of the hotel. The bathroom had a whirlpool bath but only a hand-held shower and liquid soap which we find very inconvenient.
The two evening meals in the restaurant were very good but expensive and the breakfast at 12 euros each was very poor value for what was offered on the first morning, (improved second day when there was a small buffet).
The owners were charming, spoke good English and made us feel very welcome, with advice about places to visit nearby.
There was free WiFi and secure parking behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back since the hotel is on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This charming boutique hotel is in a lovely location, peaceful except on Sunday nights when the dustbins are emptied around 11pm. The food is unrelaible , last year was excellent, this year not so good, we shall definitely return next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Apart from a handful of lovely, yellow-stoned houses, Auberge de la Source is the only thing Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin.

Located on the edge of the Champagne region, the surrounding countryside is inspiring and a drive into Reims along the Route Touristique de Champagne was about the only activity we could muster enough enthusiasm to leave our sumptiously decorated and equipped room for. Oh, we did spend a large amount of time by the quiet and relaxing pool!

Our room was on the top floor of the hotel, overlooking the main road. It was bright and airy with a separate shower room and wc. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. However, the road outside is surprisingly noisy, though only at night, as the local boys attempt laps of the hamlet on their motorised scooters. Its was very frustrating and the only blemish on a nice 3-night stay. I'd seriously recommend requesting a room at the back to avoid the high-pitched TT races that take place after dark.

The wine list was excellent and we ate a magnificent dinner on our first night. As the menu didn't change over our stay we ate out on the other days but thoroughly recommend eating in at least once. There is a nice little auberge about 5 miles down the road two villages or so to the north. Breakfast is charged separately and, at 12.50 euros, isn't great value for money. Its typically French but we had better in all of the other places we stayed and these were included in their costs.

The staff were very pleasant and keen to help, whilst the well-stocked bar leant itself to creating a good evening atmosphere and a place in which to unwind for the driver who will undoubtedly clock-up a good few hundred miles over a couple of days.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to friends who plan to holiday in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgiandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin
24.1 mi away
Le Cesar Hotel
Le Cesar Hotel
#2 of 5 in Provins
239 reviews
23.9 mi away
Aux Vieux Remparts
Aux Vieux Remparts
#1 of 5 in Provins
726 reviews
24.1 mi away
Le Manoir De Gressy
Le Manoir De Gressy
#1 of 1 in Gressy
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Chateau des Bondons
Chateau des Bondons
#1 of 2 in La Ferte-sous-Jouarre
60 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ile De France
Best Western Hotel Ile De France
#1 of 3 in Chateau-Thierry
378 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel du sauvage
Hotel du sauvage
#1 of 1 in La Ferte-Gaucher
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Source

Property: Auberge de la Source
Address: 8 Place Saint Barthelemy, 77750 Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Source 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique hotel l' Auberge de la Source*** is an attractive guest-house made of millstone and covered in Virginia creeper located at the gate of the first Champagne vineyards, only 70 kms away from PARIS or REIMS, 30 minutes by car from Disneyland Paris. This 250-years old inn was in the fifties the favourite haunt of the Montmartre painters, and of the famous French writer Pierre Mac Orlan. L'Auberge de la Source*** welcomes you to enjoy its romantic and elegant rooms, its heated swimming pool in the garden, and its many services available. With the same sense of wonder, you will be delighted to discover the luxurious and comfortable junior suites of the two guest houses Le Rond des Fees and Les Vieux Clos, located in a lovely property 700 meters far from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Auberge de la Source reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing