We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but not for everybody”
Review of Le Sirene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Sirene Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portisco
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Le Sirene is in a marina development and as all marinas in this area, the food and drink prices are high and the choice is limited. It does mean that the area around the hotel is very respectable and safe, with a good atmosphere in the evening around the marina bars and restaurants, but this is not a place for anyone on a tight budget. I found the nightlife interesting and pleasant but not intrusively noisy, even with a room on the front.

I was travelling with my dog, and the hotel was fine about this though I would recommend confirming this in advance.

The rooms are fairly basic, and typical of hotels in hot places, with tiled floors and fairly basic furniture. They have tried to achieve a sort of tropical washed out look with the furniture and fittings, including rustic lookings brass taps which unfortunately makes them look not entirely clean on first inspection, though they clearly were. I checked out very late and sat on the terrace while they were cleaning the rooms, and it looked extremely thorough. The air conditioning worked well and the television channels included a few english language news channels. Front facing rooms looking out over the marina are more desirable, as some of the side rooms looked out over the marina service road.

The terraces for the rooms are not private and form part of the walkway access to other rooms. I didn't like this initially, but it didn't prove to be a problem as the terraces are huge, and spacious enough to stay out of the way of other guests.

The breakfast room is inexplicably situated in a lower basement floor, with no view, making it not the sort of experience you would wish to linger over. Breakfast itself was on the basic side with the usual selection of cold meats, cheeses and no "cooked to order" option. Not bad, but not overly exciting either.

I think anything over a three day stay in this hotel could get boring, so I would not book it for a longer holiday unless I had transport.

There is not always an english speaker on reception, so any special requirements should be sorted out by email plenty of time in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garfield56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 85 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel had promise, but they could not deliver. Booked reservation from travel agent, but the reservation never made it to the hotel, and they were unprepared. They showed us 3 rooms that hadn't been used since the previous season, and all of them stunk with mold and mildew!!! Opening all the windows did nothing, and turning on the a/c made it worse. The hotel staff did their very best and were friendly enough, but all they could offer us was furniture polish spray. We had to leave the hotel after one night because we couldn't breathe very well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

If you want to see more than the port area which is certainly nice, do you need a car. The area is fairly isolated. Classik rooms are small and simple, the beds are hard. Simple breakfast without variation, things like butter may not be low. Very closed in the area at the end of the season. Walking distance to beach
Maximum 3 stars

Sweden

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiking54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We got the ferry from Livorno and booked this complex based on where it claimed that it was located. Turns out it's nowhere near the Ferry port and no other mode of transport services the route. We paid €50 to get there in an a taxi When we arrived we asked if we would have been better off flying into Olbia and she said that it would have cost a €50 fare aswell. The property is a complex really and not a hotel. Staff were fine. Breakfast not great- but ok. You are very much marooned if you don't have you own mode of transport. There are 3 restaurants and bars on the marina but beware it is a monopoly as you're so removed from any other services; they charge pretty much what they like. We were told we could get a 10% discount if we dined in the marine but in fact the opposite happened, we were over charged!! And, they weren't very gracious about the correction either. The only lively bar had a waitress who was paraletic drunk when we arrived and proceeded to charge us extra for each drink we purchased. She was rude more to the point and proceeded to strip in the bar- classy!We asked about renting a scooter in the marine and were quoted €60 per scooter per day- la la land - not a hope! We went with an external company and spent as little time as possible in the resort. All in all it was ok, food was crazy expensive. We wont be returning. Oh, sorry there is a wee upside; the local beach that was a a few minutes walk away was lovely but not sure how many days you could spend on it before you get cabin fever ;-(

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed there the night before getting a charter boat on the Marina, so as it is located on the middle of the Marina, was perfect for us.
They was really kind with us they booked for us transfer for the airport and they kept our luggage before leaving. Really kind people, so very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChechuZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Le Sirene is a good hotel but the price - value relationship was a bit out of balance.

The room itself was good, and I can only reiterate the recommendation from other reviewers to ask for a room that's a little further away from the marina if you prefer peace and quiet.

Only real drawbacks were the somewhat spotty service (we asked for an iron and ironing board on arrival and didn't get it until day 2, at which point we found out that the plug didn't fit any of the room sockets) and the fact that internet access is limited and very expensive (€ 5 for 4 hours).

The restaurants in the marina are also overpriced for what they offer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were touring Sardinia and wanted to explore the Costa Smeralda without the premium. We came across this hotel in the port of Portisco about 15 mins drive to Porto Cervo. Had we stayed in Porto Cervo we would have been paying double at least. Sardinia is for exploring not sitting in a hotel complex. The Le Sirene is terraced into a hill sloping down to a yacht basin (harbour). Reception is actually on the port level down a steep flight of steps. The room was a little quirky, a four poster bed with curtains and a distressed look wardrobe. The bathroom had a great shower and the aircon worked well. We had a port facing room with its own balcony, table and chairs. We sat there well into the evening watching the hustle and bustle of the harbour with a nice bottle of wine from the supermarket a few hundred yards away. The harbour is well served with shops and restaurants – a bit pricey but OK. Breakfast was included and was fine, ask for the cappuccino instead of the thermos of pre-prepared coffee. Parking was quite easy and free. For a short visit I would gladly recommend this hotel. Wi-Fi is available in reception €5/24 hours. Would not rate it as 4* though.

Room Tip: Only go for the harbour view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portisco
1.0 mi away
Costa Ruja Residence
Costa Ruja Residence
#2 of 2 in Portisco
163 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo
Hotel Palumbalza Porto Rotondo
#3 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
233 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#6 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Colonna Hotel Du Golf
Colonna Hotel Du Golf
#1 of 1 in Cugnana Verde
267 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#1 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#4 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sirene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirene Hotel

Address: Costa Smeralda scenic road Km 0,100, 07026 Portisco, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Portisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portisco
Price Range: $79 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Sirene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Sirene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Sirene Olbia
Hotel Le Sirene
Le Sirene Hotel Sardinia/Portisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing