We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Food in restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked a family meal on bank holiday weekend (on the sunday) and we were the last booking. The food was repulsive - the lamb was overcooked and the beef was very fatty resulting in a few members of the party having to leave the table to remove the chewy food from their mouths.
It was a Cavery and the food was taken away very quickly so we had no option to go and get more veg if we had wanted to.
The food is very open and people in the queue can lean over it which is not very good as you dont want peoples hairs falling in the food.
We felt quite rushed and the staff just didnt want to be there.
After the meal we had some drinks in the conservatory area near the pond and we had small children who wanted to wander around and everytime they did they were confronted with a grumpy old man (staff member) who was tutting and passing comments under his breath everytime they left the area we were sat in. They were causing no harm at all!!
In hindsight we should have complained about the standard of the food at the time however didnt want to cause embarrassment.
I would certainly not come here again as it was repulsive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Katie E
i would like to say i was very disappointed to read your review on Trip Advisor following your visit to the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel on Sunday.
Firstly let me offer you our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations as far as the standard of food is concerned and i will be speaking to all the team who were working on sunday to find out why.
We pride ourselves on high standards of food and service and on this occasion it would seem we failed to deliver
If you had given us some indication on sunday that you were not happy we would have dealt with it straight away.
Once again please accept our most sincere apologies.
Your sincerely
Kieran McCabe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 837 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

where do we start....WOW!!!!!!!!!!that is the one word that everyone of our 120 guests said,as well as us,to the way the hotel accomodated our every wish and need that made our day go faultless and so so special.a huge thanks goes to the manager mr mccabe and all his staff that made us all feel so welcome and at ease.Charlotte and Tracey the wedding organisers were brilliant from the time we got there to check the location upto the big day and beyond.we couldnt recommend this hotel enough for your big day,so thank you all,Mr and Mrs Bennett 25/5/2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Danny and Julie
Many thanks for posting such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.
I have to say it was our pleasure to host your wedding and as i promised Julie personally on her Hen night there was no way i was not going to be the one who looked after you.
The day was fantastic even though Danny got a bit of stick from his four best men
We would love to see you both back at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel very soon and we wish you all the very best for the future.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Called for meal after a day out in Wales with a party of thirty others. Superb location overlooking the Dee estuary from restaurant. Excellent carvery meal at very reasonable cost, well served and managed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowling-Greeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Bowling Greeners

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor

I was delighted to read that you and your party enjoyed an excellent Carvery meal stop with us after your day out in Wales we are so very lucky with our location close to the motorway network but in a quite location on top of Frodsham Hill and the views of the Estuary we to never tire of them.

I will be delighted to pass on your kind and positive comments to all the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your party back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We chose the venue following our meeting with Tracey Harding the coordinator, who impressed us with her professional attitude and friendly nature. Thanks Tracey ! Nothing was too much trouble Tracey who was quick to respond to my many queries. On our wedding day the staff at the hotel worked so hard to ensure our day went smoothly. Kieran was fantastic and ensured that we were all looked after and advised on all the best places for photos. The views from the hotel are stunning, our executive room with jacuzzi bath was fabulous? I cannot express how impressed we were with the venue and all the staff at the Forest Hills Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Jean E

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor

Congratulations again to both of you I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your fantastic wedding day with us it will give me great pleasure to pass on your kind and positive comments to Tracey and the rest of the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, I totally agree with you the views really are stunning we ourselves never tire of them.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed on the 26-04-2013,
My wife and I where here on a fabulous Friday promotion.Dinner bed and breakfast. Bed and breakfast was great however the dinner experience was disappointing. We were shown a menu and we had to ask for our free glass of wine under the fabulous Friday promotion. Firstly they said there is no free glass of wine then they went away to double check. Eventually they said we were entitled to this. When ordering from the menu we asked if could select a different starter from a different menu with us paying the difference in price ? Yes you guessed it we were flatly refused, as we normally buy a couple bottles of wine for the evening on this occasion we didn't bother. Having stayed at this hotel on a regular basis since 2005 and holding a Best Western platinum rewards card is this the way you reward loyalty?....Not to mention not receiving my 10% discount off our restaurant bill when checking out, which our platinum card states we should get. Might as well send my card back......Loyalty what a joke

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Alan M

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologies for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better guest experience for guests in the future.

Loyalty from our customers and clients is very important to us and I take all your comments seriously and will be discussing them with the entire team and hope that I have an opportunity to discuss these points with you in person.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. We hope you will come back and see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have recently returned from an overnight spa break with my friends and have only positive comments to make. Each and every member of staff we encountered was cheerful, friendly and helpful and only too happy to help. This is from the lovely staff in the restaurant, what looked to be the manager, the reception staff, the lovely beauticians and the secutrity man! I haven't experienced such great customer service in a long time and it certainly added to the experience. We stayed in individual rooms which were spotless. The food in the restaurant was fantastic as was the breakfast and the spa treatments were also fantastic. I will definitely be upgrading our treatments in the spa on our next trip. We will definitely return to what was a lovely relaxing night away. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Joanne S

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed a Fantastic break with us, that you found each and every member of staff that your party encountered to be cheerful, friendly and helpful.

It will be my pleasure to pass on such kind and positive comments to all the Team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

32 friends have again spent a long weekend at Forest Hills and what a geat success it was. The staff were atttentive to our needs, going the extra mile to ensure our stay was perfect.
All rooms were of a high standard and our executive suite was fabulous, very spacious with a Jacuzzi Bath and walk in shower.
The restaurant manager Chris and his team gave super service and had a joke or two along the way.
Kieran, the Hotel Manager, and his team deserve a huge pat on the back, looking after 32 Rotarians couldnt have been easy!
We hope to see you again soon.
Gail and Glyn

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear GlynGail

Thankyou for posting your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you and 32 friends enjoyed another great stay with us that the staff were attentive and went the extra mile to ensure your stay was perfect, It will be my pleasure to pass on your kind and positive comments to all the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you all back very soon as it is always our pleasure to look after 32 Rotarians our very best wishes to you all

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
0.6 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
205 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
743 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
17.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#38 of 99 in Liverpool
349 reviews
7.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest Hills Hotel

Address: Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range: $67 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Forest Hills Hotels a modern 3 Star Hotel.Situated just off the M56 yet set amidst beautiful Cheshire countryside.The panoramic views across the Cheshire Plains and the Mersey Estuary instantly tells you that the Best Western Forest Hills is something different.Set amongst quiet woodland,away from the hustle and bustle of the city,for a perfect nights sleep,yet just minutes away from the M56 which opens up the delights of Cheshire and North Wales and just a 20 minute drive from Chester.A perfect base for exploring the countryside,with the sandstone Trail on the doorstep.Ideal for families and Leisure Breaks.Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village for shopping and fun for the family at Chester Zoo,Blue Planet Aquarium and Gullivers World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Forest Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing