We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gourmet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Forest Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Certificate of Excellence
telford uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“gourmet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

i have visited this hotel on several occassions and alway found it a good all round place to stay
its easy to get to chester liverpool and if you want to shop chesire oaks
the veiws are amazing and if you like walking theres plenty to do and next door is a golf course
the hotel itself
staff
all the staff are very helpful and friendly you only have to ask and they will do their best
food
the food in the restuarant is very good and reasonably priced
they have about 4 gourmet evenings a year were the food and wine are amazing (well worth trying)
the hotel is clean and friendly and includes a leisure centre with pool,steam room,jaccuzzi etc. only thing didnt like you have to pay for snooker (good tables but cues resemble bananas)
this hotel well worth a visit for a short break only thing i miss they dont sell real ales

Room Tip: use it for a trip to chester,chester races,chesire oaks.liverpool or just to lay back and relax roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
jillian48

Thankyou for your review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read your kind and positive comments concerning the facilities, food, staff and our location I agree we are ideally placed to visit the surrounding area of the North West and its many attractions.

The Gourmet Evenings in the Hilltops Restaurant with the views over the Cheshire plains really are quite special and we have a few planned for this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, take a look at our website for the current what's on information.

Thank you again

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    242
    93
    35
    21
See reviews for
199
227
20
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I arrived at the hotel on a Sunday evening. The hotel was quite empty and when I went to find the bar/restaurant etc I was told it had shut at 9pm because of a very low occupancy rate. If it was not for that I would have probably rated it excellent. I was able to get a drink to take back to my room. The staff were certainly friendly and the check-in and check-out process was very good and swift.
It is in an elevated quiet position and if your room is in the right area you have good views over the Mersey and up the estuary.
The room was spotless and very spacious (Executive Room). The WiFi is free.

Room Tip: Executive rooms in the 101-111 range I imagine. I was in 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveL_Canterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear SteveL

Thankyou for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your kind and positive comments I was pleased to read that you thought us a nice hotel in a quiet location and that you found all the staff friendly.

Occasional Sunday nights can be a little quiet for us and we do shut down different areas and offer a porter, room service for food and beverage.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future when you return to this area on business.

Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We've been going to The Forest Hills for over 10yrs as an escape hole, and even got married there.(Thanks Tracey who is still there 7 years later). It's great to see that being taken over by Best Western hasn't changed the quality service and the fantastic friendly atmosphere. Many of the staff are the same as 10 years ago which I think says a lot!
The rooms have had an upgrade and look fantastic, just a pity that they couldn't stretch to getting rid of the peach bathroom suites.
The leisure facillities are great and just what is need for a relaxing break.
Would highly recommend it, Go for DB&B and look out for deals and offers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Ij99

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I would like to thank you for you kind and positive comments we are very lucky to of retained so many staff over the years.

We are still independently owed and managed Best Western is a marketing consortium that we bought into enabling us to move the business forward, to a wider audience.

We have many planned events and promotions taking place over the coming months keep an eye on our website for find out more.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
framlingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at Forest Hills whilst visiting family nearby. Nice hotel with plenty of parking and easily found with the satnav. Pretty good all round with a decent standard room which was very comfortable with magnificent views over the estuary especially at night, quite stunning with all the lights.

My wife enjoyed the pool and the steam room. The only thing that let the hotel down was the breakfast. Toast arrived too early, eggs were hard and the bacon was undercooked and not very hot. I guess that's the price you pay with buffet style breakfasts. Had porridge and kippers the following morning and that was much better.

All the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and all in all had a good stay. Will return again when next visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear jerry c

Thank you for your recent first review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you found us a nice hotel and pretty good all round.

My apologies for breakfast on your first morning not being up to our usual high standard I will be discussing this point with the team at our next Food & Beverage meeting and I'm glad that it will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team that you found them extremely helpful and friendly, keep an eye on our website for the many planned events and promotions that take place through out the year.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in the Best Western because we were attending a wedding reception at the hotel. To be honest, it's so run-of-the-mill it's hard to know what to write! There's nothing intrinsically bad about the place, but then, there's nothing to get especially excited about. Our room was of a decent size (as was the bathroom) and it was clean, comfortable and well-stocked; we had a quiet night's sleep.
Although we didn't have chance to use them, the gym and swimming pool looked pretty nice.
They did the usual breakfast buffet, which, in hotels like this, is often overpriced at around £10, but it's of a good standard and there's plenty of it, so if you're particularly hungry you can certainly get your money's worth!
At the end of the day, it's a decent enough hotel with no real complaints. If you're in the area, you might as well stay here as anywhere else :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msprichj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear msprichj

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I was please to read that you believed the bedroom and bathroom to be a decent size, comfortable and that you had a quiet's night sleep while attending a Wedding reception here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel recently.

Its a shame that you didn't get chance to use the leisure facilities may be next time your in the area, we have many planned events and promotions that take place through out the year that are individual to this hotel keep an eye on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

An overnight stay in this comfortable and very well run hotel. A superb pool and fitness faclility, the room was spotlessly clean and more importantly the bed was ultra comfortable. I was attending a conference in the Hotel the next day and I must say I was impressed by the level of attention to detail from the manager through to the receptionist. Well done Forest Hills Hotel.

Room Tip: If you get a room facing the Mersey estuary it looks spectacular both in daylight and at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear BobShropshire,

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us prior to the conference recently.

It will give me great pleasure to pass on your kind and positive comments concerning the attention to detail given by us to all the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.

I totally agree with you the views of the Mersey Estuary really are quite breath taking we ourselves never tire of them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to stay here at very short notice. We had booked another hotel but on arrival did not want to stay there. We found this Best Western hotel around the corner and were happy we did! As we were booking at reception to stay that evening, the very helpful and welcoming receptionist gave us a special offer. We saved £10 on our stay, which was a nice gesture and one we appreciated. Communal areas of hotel were very clean and tidy. We didn't use the gym or pool though the pool did look very nice. Rooms we're spacious and very clean. Bathroom was quite dated but I'm into vintage so suited us! Breakfast was delicious, very fresh for a buffet and our eggs were cooked to order. Every member of staff we saw from the receptionist to chef's were all friendly and welcoming. I will certainly be staying there again if we venture to Frodsham in future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear OJ08

Thank you for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you found us just lovely the rooms spacious and very clean along with the communal areas of the hotel.

I will pass on your kind and positive comments concerning breakfast and the hotel to all the team here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.

We have many planned events and promotions that take place through out the year keep an eye on our website for the most up to date information.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future

Kind Regards

Kieran McCabe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
9.1 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
14.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest Hills Hotel

Property: Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Address: Overton Hill, Frodsham WA6 6HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Frodsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Forest Hills Hotels a modern 3 Star Hotel.Situated just off the M56 yet set amidst beautiful Cheshire countryside.The panoramic views across the Cheshire Plains and the Mersey Estuary instantly tells you that the Best Western Forest Hills is something different.Set amongst quiet woodland,away from the hustle and bustle of the city,for a perfect nights sleep,yet just minutes away from the M56 which opens up the delights of Cheshire and North Wales and just a 20 minute drive from Chester.A perfect base for exploring the countryside,with the sandstone Trail on the doorstep.Ideal for families and Leisure Breaks.Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village for shopping and fun for the family at Chester Zoo,Blue Planet Aquarium and Gullivers World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Forest Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing