We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Lion

The White Lion
Ranked #20 of 45 Restaurants in Frodsham
Cuisines: Contemporary, Diner, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A cosy, traditional country pub with stunning grounds and al fresco dining area nestled in a quaint Cheshire village. We serve fresh food, including a children's menu, from 12pm-9pm and serve drinks from our varied bar selection until 11pm. Popular for good cask beers, good food and good people, The White Lion is the perfect pit-stop for a drink or a bite to eat. We cater for large parties and offer a buffet menu for guests to choose from, or simply pre-order from our delicious a-la-carte.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Attended a family wedding here on the 14.06.14 and it was an excellent experience all round.

The wedding was held in a marque in the garden so didn't eat in the restaurant but the staff, venue and food were all excellent. The barman who worked the marque, didn't catch his name, was a great guy, funny and very good at his job. I think our table kept him entertained too.

The food which was melon to start, fish and chips for main followed by apple pie and custard. As a custard lover I can tell you it was delicious as was the whole meal.

The whole venue worked well for a wedding so would recommend no problem.

Massive thanks to the staff front and back of house for a memorable day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    90
    52
    54
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
runcorn ,cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“overated and overpriced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

very disappointed after hearing some good local reviews.4 of the specials not available.starter of garlic mushrooms served on 2 rounds of bread with an overpowering sauce.presentation of the dish disgusting.same as prawn avocado starter thrown on plate.waiters attitude to serving food very"couldnt be bothered".
swordfish special,smothered in cajun stock pot and thrown on a bed of very salty boring rice.not very special.
cod and hollandiase sauce.....absolutely smothered in galllons of sauce.
sunday roast ...microwaved to death.
plates left on table long after meal had been finished.new customers tables not being cleared or even wiped.
very understaffed.some staff doing a good job but some just dont care.
the pub isnt even painted WHITE.!!.
would not recommend.DEFINETLY AVOID.massive snob factor involved at this pub.had better meals at KFC.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank god0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

It is very nice traditional pub.
We went there on our lunch break on Friday. It was very busy and we had to wait over 45 minutes for our lunch which is not ideal. Despite that, food was very nice and I would recommend to visit the pub on quieter day maybe during weekday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beaver_brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Really Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very good service and friendly staff, welcomed on arrival, food tasted great and drinks reasonably priced and thanked for our custom on the wayout. i would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PETE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“always worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

always enjoy eating here. good quality wholesome food .not to expensive and decent beers. Always go midweek when its quieter so cannot comment on the weekends but I imagine it could get busy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Lion also viewed

 
Warrington, Cheshire
Knutsford, Cheshire
 

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing