We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frodsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehouse Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Frodsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Although I've never stayed here I do visit on a regular basis. Steve and Whendie make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. The homemade cakes and scones are fabulous and the gardens and barn make a relaxing rest stop, either when out walking or biking from Delamere Forest. The standard of service is excellent and I have taken many friends there when out for a bike ride. Its a real gem of a B & B set in beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at Stonehouse Farm on the spare of the moment. We had obtained last minute tickets for a concert in nearby Delamere Forrest.

Our stay was perfect; Steve and Whendie were terrific hosts and the cooked breakfast was lovely.

This is a very peaceful location surrounded by wonderful Cheshire contryside. Howver, a leisurely 15 minute walk takes you to the village where there is a railway station for trains running to neighbouring villages as well as Chester, Manchester and Liverpool (changing at Chester). That village also boasts a very decent gastro-pub where the food and wine list is excellent.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stonehouse Farm, and although we initially stumbled across the accommodation, without a doubt we will be staying there again. Steve and Whendie are friendly hospitable hosts who made us extremely welcome.

The following weekend we stayed at the Hilton in Manchester - impersonal and corporate. And the breakfast wasn't a patch on what we enjoyed at Stonehouse Farm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whendiebushell, Owner at Stonehouse Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for staying at Stonehouse Farm.
We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you soon.
Whendie and Steve xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B set is lovely countryside and very peaceful. Whendie was away but Steve took great care of us serving lovely breakfasts. This is a very useful place to visit a number of National Trust properties and there are a number of great pubs nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucylocket87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whendiebushell, Manager at Stonehouse Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Many thanks for you review, it is appreciated. We hope to see when you are next back in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We found Steve and Whendie to be fabulous hosts when we had a three day stay at Stonehouse Farm. It was booked for us by friends we were visiting in the area. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfasts superb and a lovely quiet place to stay ensured a good nights sleep. We would be very happy to recommend it to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whendiebushell, Owner at Stonehouse Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Many thanks for your review, its always nice to hear when someone has enjoyed there stay with us.
Hope to see you again when you return to the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was introduced to this place last year during a bike ride around Delamere Forest. Have been going back ever since with friends for the Sausage or Bacon butties and the Scones and Coffee. Always a welcome break during a days riding. Great to sit out in the garden or under cover in the barn at the side. The food is all fresh - the scones are home made and often been made the same day, locally sourced and cheap (that doesnt mean put your prices up now!). Coffee and a scone - for £2. Wendy and Steve are both great people and can never do enough for you. Have introduced lots of people and clients to Stonehouse Farm B&B since and they have all been back for more. Try it -you wont be disappointed. Thanks folks - Ashe

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveYoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whendiebushell, Manager at Stonehouse Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thanks for the review, nice to hear we keep up the energy levels up. Look forward to seeing throughout the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were walking the Sandstone Trail, which runs from Frodsham to Whitchurch, on a particularly hot day and were in need of a break and some refreshment, when we came across Stonehouse farm. The Sandstone Trail actually passes through the property and we were delighted to find that it offers food and drink to weary walkers and anyone else passing by.
As we approached the door, we were greeted by the owner, who welcomed as if we were friends. There was a fantastic selection of food and drink on offer, all at very reasonable prices. As we had eaten a packed lunch earlier, I chose a scone with butter and jam and my husband had some delicious home-made lemon cheese cake with 2 scoops of ice cream. We ordered tea and were delighted to find that it came in a very large pot, with some pristine white mugs and a big jug of milk. I can honestly say that it was one of the best pots of tea we have ever had the pleasure to drink. As the weather was hot and sunny, we sat in the large garden and were glad of the shade from a large parasol.
We would thoroughly recommend this wonderful establishment to anyone in the area and particularly to people walking the Sandstone Trail, as refreshments, especially of this quality, are a rare find in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank happyhiker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whendiebushell, Manager at Stonehouse Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thanks for your review, always nice to be appreciated and hope we eased your walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Staying here was a great choice. The area has fantastic views and the hospitality at Stonehouse Farm is second to none. Whendie and Steve make you feel right at home and the rooms are extremely comfortable for a great nights sleep. I will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxy872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whendiebushell, Owner at Stonehouse Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on Staying at Stonehouse Farm.
We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frodsham
3.0 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
202 reviews
3.9 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
397 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
7.8 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Farm B&B

Address: New Pale Road | Manley , Frodsham, Frodsham WA6 9ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Frodsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Frodsham
Price Range: $59 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stonehouse Farm has been in the owners family for 6 generations and is surrounded with mature landscaped gardens set in the idyllic rolling Cheshire countryside and sits immediately upon the Sandstone Trail. The former outbuildings have been expertly converted into a purpose built guest wing which has its own private entrance. The wing comprises of 3 double bedrooms, 1 ensuite and 2 with shared bathroom. 2 Of the rooms can be adapted for family accomodation, a dining room and a guest lounge with french doors leading onto a courtyard. Stonehouse stands in its own grounds of approximately 18 acres. Doing our bit for the enviroment we have solar PV for electricity as well as solar hot water. Stonehouse is about 4 miles from Frodsham, 10 miles from Chester and 1 mile from Mouldsworth Railway staion which has train links into Chester and Manchester. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Farm B&B Frodsham, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing