We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently fantastic”
Review of Yuet Ben

Yuet Ben
Ranked #12 of 47 Restaurants in Frodsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Yuet Ben restaurant is in a Grade II listed building, located at the heart of Frodsham, one the most unique towns in Cheshire. The building itself is a classic example of mid-Georgian architecture, and throughout most of its history served as the local school for the children of Cheshire’s elite.We are situated in the heart of Main Street and are next door but one to Cowards the butchers.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently fantastic”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

In support of the Yuet Ben and in response to the negative comments made by gizago.
What could possibly be misleading about 5pm to 7pm? I feel these comments made are very unfair and misleading in themselves but accept that everyone, in our great democracy, is entitled to their opinion.
Our's, my wife and I, is that the Yuet Bens food is, consistently fantastic. There is nothing on the menu I wouldn't enjoy because it is all great quality food and even outside the "Happy Hours" it remains very good value. I would highly recommend the Yuet Ben to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    42
    22
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ALWAYS SUPERB”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I dined at the YB yesterday in celebration of my birthday, and as always the food was superb and the staff were friendly and efficient.

I was shocked to read the review by gizago. How can he make an issue of being denied the early menu which finishes at 7:00 when on his own admission he arrived at 7:10?

As to his comments about the food and the quantity of it, I would put that down to sour grapes having quite rightly been denied the early bird menu.

Don't be put off by such an unreasonable review - everything about the food at the YB is first class!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMSBEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very disappointing. Over-priced and misleading.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to this place because it enticed people in with a sign outside claiming a Sunday Special. Upon entering we were told the time had expired (only available until 7pm - it was 7:10pm).

We decided to stay and then discovered there was no draught beers (even though the menu intimated there was). The bottled beers were the small ones at ridiculously high prices. I ended up with a Cider for £4.80!

Then, when the main course arrived they had stacked the 2 portions of rice into a single, tiny serving dish and said it was "both portions". It was a joke! Like a single, tiny boil-in-the-bag potion on a weight-watchers diet.

Basically, we felt completely ripped-off from start to finish and I would definitely advise to only use this place if you aren't hungry and want to pay well over the odds for similar quality food you can procure locally far better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gizago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuetben, Public Relations Manager at Yuet Ben, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are outraged and disappointed at the findings the client has reported about our restaurant as his assertions are incorrect and misleading to the general public.

The special the client is referring to, our Early Bird menu says very plainly 5pm -7pm, and he has admitted arriving after 7pm. There is a large billboard situated at the entrance to the restaurant stating 5pm -7pm and there is a large LED display in the window stating the same thing. What's more, the client has admitted arriving after 7pm. We are not honourbound to twist the rules for the client's own benefit. We are dismissing this complaint as irrelevant.

His assertions about the drinks menu are also incorrect. We are only obliged to state the drinks we sell and the price at which we sell them. At no point does it ever imply that we sold draught beer. Moreover, extensive market research has indicated that the prices at which we sell our drinks is at the going rate for the local market. What's more, the client was not obliged to order a drink and could have had a soft drink for considerably less. We are dismissing this complaint as uninformed and misleading.

His assertions about the rice are also missing key facts. One portion is enough for one person, and yet he has admitted to purchasing 2 portions for 3 people - patently this is not enough and therefore we will be dismissing this complaint as irrelevant.

We have been situated in Frodsham for over 30 years with the same family in control of the business. What's more, the prices at which we charge have remained static over the same period, meaning that in effect, our prices have dropped in real terms. Had the client also looked at our TripAdvisor page, he will have discovered that the average spend in the restaurant is between £16 and £44. Had the client arrived 10 minutes earlier, he would have qualified for the Early Bird Menu, and therefore would be less inclined to file a complaint.

Finally, we are deeply unhappy that the client chose not to voice his complaints to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Really tasty food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We go there quite often. It is understandably very popular. The food is really good, would recommend the sizzling platters and the yung chow fried rice. Very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another great night at the Yuet Ben”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Love this place, the staff are so friendly and always take the time to have a chat. I was put off Chinese food after visiting another local Chinese restaurant but now love it and have even started to eat it at home again. Excellent service, excellent food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChesterDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuet Ben also viewed

Frodsham, Cheshire
 

Been to Yuet Ben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing