We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best take away curry for miles!”
Review of Taj Mahal

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taj Mahal
Ranked #29 of 47 Restaurants in Frodsham
Restaurant details
England
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best take away curry for miles!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ok, so it's not the best curry I've had in my life. I've lived in Asia, dined in posh Indian restaurant like the cinnamon club and there is no doubt there are better curry out there.

But you'll have to put things into perspective. It's a take away restaurant, not competing for a Michelin star! And it's in middle of a small rural town. And when you consider that, I think their curry certainly tastes much more flavor some than any other takeaways (and restaurants nearby), with decent potions and friendly service. You can see the kitchen from the counter and its a reflection of their confidence in their own cooking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RisingZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“excellent food - this is our regular place to go - can't beat it !!”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

As a family we regularly order food from the Taj Mahal and I cannot fault it one bit. The staff are very friendly and helpful and if you want something a bit different from the menu they are more than willing to accommodate. We live in Frodsham and there are also 3 other restaurants that you can order Indian food from which we have tried but we have found that the Taj Mahal is the better option and have never been disappointed with the food. For the reviewer that said that the curry was runny I suggest that you order a different type of curry as they are all different in texture. The food is cooked in front of you including all of the breads which are made from scratch.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowsarenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“what a take away”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

i could have this every night greta food cook as you wait,

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So far, so good”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Tried twice since moving to Frodsham area.
Excellent food and friendly service both times.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virginiaplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Peshwari naan delicious as is the chicken tikka. Salad questionable, but don't suppose you go for an Indian Takeaway to have salad anyway! Staff always really friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovefood5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Frodsham, Cheshire
 
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing