We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely big house, just a few problems”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glenise19...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely big house, just a few problems”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely big house with the 'wow' factor when you first go in.
Unfortunately there were a few problems.
This was one of the most expensive houses we have rented and would really have expected the little things like bin bags, washing up liquid and toilet rolls. Luckily I had taken a couple of black bags with me otherwise I am not sure where we would have put our rubbish to take out to the bin. Smoke alarm in kitchen not working (unfortunately we burnt some toast). Fire in front room not working.. All the showers require shower mats, they are very slippy and dangerous when wet! And in all there were 9 lights not working!!! For the amount paid for this house we really expected everything to be perfect but thankfully it did not ruin our weekend. The kids loved the pool.

Date of stay: November 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VNA1809
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A place to go back to”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just spent Easter week at Cloud Hills with all of our family. This is a lovely place to stay. There were 10 of us and we did not feel at all crowded. The swimming pool was well used by us all. All of the bedrooms are nice and spacious, as are all of the other rooms. There was only one minor problem, a bit of a dodgy shower in one of the bathrooms, which in no way spoilt our time here. The weather was good to us which helped, but even if it hadn't been we would have been more than happy to spend our time in the house. If you are looking for a place to take all of the family, then you won't go wrong by renting Cloud Hills.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property for 10 people
Liked least: Not enough wine glasses
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james v
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic property”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
9
people found this review helpful

Cannot recommend this property enough. We stayed here for the week with adult friends over the weekend ,and then for the rest of the week with 6 teenagers for our sons 16th birthday.The property is so spacious that there was plenty of room for all of us.The swimming pool was constantly warm and a good size even with 10 adults in and got used daily and sometimes till very late.The boys had all taken their mountain bikes so went out on some great rides but did say that the area although beautiful was very hilly.
There is nothing much to do or see in Almondbury itself ,but we did visit local towns and had a few nice days out .We were very lucky with the weather and had sunshine every day.We all look forward to visiting again soon.

Date of stay: February 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
Thank you for your great review. The property sounds ideal for a large group get together. Glad to see that you were able to make good use of the pool, and that it was warm during your stay! It sounds like the property is a good touring base for local towns! We would love to get you booked in for another stay at Clouds Hill!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluemoon4...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Clouds Hill last weekend with 4 other couples as part of our friends 25th Wedding Anniversary celebrations. The house is fantastic, it is extremely spacious and very nicely decorated. There is more than enough room for 10 adults to eat, drink and be merry, as well as the large living room there are other areas to relax and also lots of outside areas to enjoy. Added to this we spent lots of time in the pool which has a seating area for those who may not wish to swim but can feel part of the party. The house is in Almondbury which is only a small village but there are a couple of pubs which are worth a try and also enough shops to get any bits you need. There is plenty to do nearby, Holmfirth and Huddersfield are only a few miles away and the taxis service was good during our stay. There is parking for 6 cars easily.
All in all if you are looking for a place to spend time with friends or family I couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

Date of stay: January 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space and Pool
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2015
Thank you for the great review. It sounds like you had a good time celebrating your friends 25th Wedding Anniversary. Relaxing at the pool and dining at the local pubs sounds ideal. Hopefully you will book with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house with great private swimming pool”
Reviewed December 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome by the owner who briefly showed us around the property. There were no towels put out in any of the bathrooms and had to hunt around to find them. The swimming pool was the major selling point for booking this property, which was very well maintained and it made the stay worthwhile. The house was spacious, comfortable and very clean and situated in a quiet location. It was just the place to chill out and relax. The only down point was the constant humming noise from the pool pump cupboard which could be heard throughout the house.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private swimming pool
Liked least: The noise of the pool pump
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiftybev
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous house”
Reviewed December 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Ten of our family stayed here for my 50th and my sons 21st birthday the house was amazing, it was very spacious, the kitchen was lovely well equipped. The swimming pool was great lovely and warm used it daily, very clean, could not fault it in any way, there was plenty of pubs in the surrounding area to eat out or just for a drink , lovely holiday will return again .

Date of stay: November 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian T
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury house very poorly equipped and finished”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Clouds Hill could be a luxurious property - it has a nice, warm swimming pool & changing area and a spacious lounge, dining room & common areas. However it has been cheaply furnished, so wear and tear are really showing eg damaged breakfast stools & rickety chairs. Service was poor - towels were stained (one with a dirty mark), stuck in a cupboard & not distributed to the bedrooms; no dishwasher tablets or dishcloth & pan scourer provided, minimal washing up liquid, no bin liners and no spare toilet rolls.
What a shame - with a bit more care this could be a great place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming Pool
Liked least: Poor quality furnishings
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing