We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit of a disaster”
Review of The Golden Cock

The Golden Cock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ricardo & Anneli welcome you to their lovely country pub, serving top quality food and drink with style and warmth.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

we selected this pub as we had been for lunch and it was excellent. we were shown to our table by lovely staff this was a birthday celebration for nine, the waitress took our orders, we were very disappointed as no one seemed to know about which dishes came with veg and which didnt,there was nothing on the menu about extra veg the waitress bless her had to go and ask at least twice then we were informed that it would be £2.50 extra needless to say we didnt order. the starters were very good. when the mains arrived there were only eight. the other member of our party had to wait another 20 mins as they had written his order down incorrectly. we did complain and the the dish was removed from the bill. all in all a very disappointing and over priced experience for what was supposed to be a birthday party.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thanks for your review. That Saturday evening was a very busy evening, we had the brasserie, bar and our Farnley Room full of diners. Normally we have a manager and a supervisor taking orders, but due to the extremely high volume and to avoid delays on orders a member of staff took orders on some tables including yours. We entirely assumed the mistake on your order and addressed the problem with you on the night. The total average spending of your party per head was £21 and that includes starters/mains/drinks to all. In our perspective that is very good value considering that the food is very good. Our apologies once again on the service issues and thank you for the time you took to review us.

ps. Just a note on your opening comment; you had been to the pub recently and found it "excellent" but obviously didn't feel the need to write a review on TripAdvisor. Perhaps in the interests of balance you could write us a review of this visit too. It would only seem fair?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 644 of 842 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Visited the Golden Cock with a family group, took a drink in the bar before we were brought into the dining room, where we were seated and left, for quite some time. Eventually, the pleasant waitress came and took our order....and gave us some completely duff information on the content of two of the dishes. On a side note the choices on the menu didn't inspire us, so my wife and I went for the boring option, we normally order fish and chips when either; in a fish and chip restaurant, or at the seaside.
So in a restaurant fish chips and (posh) mushy peas for two for £10.99 is not too bad. To give credit where it's due, this dish was cooked to perfection and served piping hot.
Places do change over the years, and we have eaten in the past here when both the service and the menu have been better, especially if you were in PJ's good books that night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GingerTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Our menu reflects a modern trend of British/Continental cuisine with wide choices - Venison, Duck, Lamb, Fillet Steak, Pork Belly, Chicken Breast, Fish, Seafood and Vegetarian options. We have a selection of 32 different dishes all freshly cooked to order, so we are a little puzzled by your comment that the choices didn't inspire. We are also not sure who PJ is so cannot comment on that. Thank you for your positive comments within your review but we would like to understand the issues that you raise a little more fully if you have the time to call Ricardo on 01484 664863.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was driving past The Golden Cock with my daughter and saw a board outside stating two meals for £10.99. We said, "OK, let's give it a go." The food arrived and was really well presented and served by smartly dressed staff (the whole lot including drinks cost £15) - we had loads to eat. We're definitely going back and we're hard to please - highly recommended!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan_and_Chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Hi there and thanks for such a nice 5 star review. We are really happy that you and your daughter had a pleasant visit to The Golden Cock and loved the value and quality we provide. We always particularly like it when our guests say they will definitely return, and we look forward to that visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Put simply , this is the pub/ restaurant to dine out at the moment. The daily special ( Mon- Fri inc) of £10.99 for two is an absolute steal.
It's up to you if you wish to add starters / desserts / drinks but for the quality of the food for the price of a well known American burger chain it's a no brainer!
Getting very busy for good reason and long may it continue !

1  Thank Napril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Hi there and thanks for your very kind review. As you say the secret is very much out now as we are very busy lunchtimes and evenings every day (bookings recommended, as we can't always accomodate walk-ins). It's great to hear that you like what we do, and have helped spread the word with this positive recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having dined at the Golden Cock on a number of occasions recently we were impressed with their "2 for £10.99" menu and thought we would try the a la carte menu and booked a table in the restaurant. How disappointing this was. The quality of the food was poor and wasn't worth the gastro pub prices despite the lovely surroundings and friendly atmosphere. The service was average despite the restaurant not being very busy for a Saturday evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie_HYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

hi there, and thanks for your review. It seems that you have visited us several times recently and were impressed with food and service. You did not leave any good reviews for us on these ocassions, yet you left this review about your experience last Saturday. Does that seem a bit mean? As you don't go into specifics about what you found not to your liking it's hard to respond in any detail. What we can say, however, is that were were fully booked (as usual) last Saturday and did 92 covers, so we can dispute that we were not very busy. We always allow our guests the table for the whole evening on a Saturday, so some tables would have been booked out a different time to yours. As usual we always invite any guest that is less than happy with their experience to give Ricardo a call and he will dicuss in person. We are humble to admit that sometimes things won't be perfect, and we would love to talk with you and any other customers that think we can improve. No-one has ever taken up our invite to call Ricardo however , so maybe you could be the first?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Cock also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Golden Cock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing