We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of CiampinoHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CiampinoHotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ciampino
Belfast
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked by accident. Dreadful walk from the station to the hotel, they really need to run a pick up service. This is in a run down part of town and we stayed for two nites. The rooms are fine and the a/c good. The pool area is great as are the reception staff but that is it. Poor location and a pretty run down hotel with an only adequate breakfast. This establishment is grabbing on to the coat tails of Ryan air to give it a second chance, otherwise it would be closed.

Room Tip: Pretty run down. Look at alternatives before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    220
    235
    74
    61
See reviews for
123
263
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ciampino Hotel does not offer any service to assist its guests. I had made an on line booking with this hotel and so had paid up front. When I arrived at the Ciampino railway station alone and late at night there were no taxis even though I rang several numbers. I rang Ciampino hotel twice asking for help to get there but they said they couldn't assist. Is it possible that NOBODY at the hotel had a car to come and pick me up? I was alone in the dark at the railway station with a large suitcase and no taxi was available from anywhere! This is a very dangerous and vulnerable position for a woman travelling alone. The hotel made no effort to help me so I had to go to another hotel (which did send a car to collect me) and pay for 2 nights accommodation. I would NEVER BOOK THE CIAMPINO HOTEL AGAIN!

Room Tip: Just don't book this hotel. It does not offer any service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ciampino hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner as we had an early flight home. I wouldn't book again and would have preferred to have stayed in Rome and paid for a taxi to the airport. We stayed in room 120 which was clean but with toilet paper stuck in to holes, an air con vent that has made all the wall wet and a broken camp style bed with ants in it. Yes we only paid £50 for the night but I would still expect better than this. Friendly staff made up for a crappy stay. I would not recommend this hotel and like I said worth buying extra to travel in from better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

For those travelers who know the experience of carting around heavy luggage on the Italian trains, this will speak to you.
My sister and I needed to get from the farm where we were working as WWOOFERS to Rome. We had an early morning Ryan Air flight and I wanted to stay in Ciampino to avoid taking an even earlier morning TerraVision bus. Ciampino Hotel was PERFECT!
We arrived at the Ciampino train station after a grueling train ride with no air conditioning. I almost died of laughter when I hauled the suitcases down the stairs and then up the stairs on the other side of the tracks. I was greeted by a friendly taxi driver and was happy to jump into the Mercedes van and crank up the AC. I spoke in Italian, but the taxi driver was happy to use English. The Taxi ride was 9 euros (based on 3 pieces of luggage).

We walked into the hotel and it was modern and clean at the end of a small street. I instantly saw the ice cream case and asked the reception to add two chocolate magnum bars to the room tab, he smiled and obliged. For 65 euros, the value of the stay was incredible!!

When he said the words "you are welcome to enjoy the pool after you settle in", I saw the instant excitement in my sisters eyes. A pool? How magnificent on this hot day in Rome!

The room was very clean and simple. It featured a double bed (watch the corners, it has a wooden frame and will give you a nice bruise (from experience) if you cut it too close). We used the room to spread out and repack and organize (my sister was finishing up from studying abroad, so we literally had baggage). The air conditioning worked very well. There was a desk, refrigerator, and smaller third twin bed (since it was the larger twin room).

The hotel has a restaurant (music to our ears because we wanted something close and easy). The pizza di verdure was delicious! The prices were so inexpensive, so I ordered a primi and secondi.

I was highly impressed. The shuttle service starts at 5:00am. We took the 6:00am shuttle and had no problems. The shuttle is a 5 euro charge and the Ciampino Roma Aeroperto is about 10 minutes away.

Great experience for tired, worn down travelers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 151Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Despite being close to the airport (literally next to it) it cost us 20euro in taxi fare from dropping off our rental car to the hotel. However, they do have an airport shuttle for 5euro per person that runs at specific times (book an earlier one as ours was late). Rooms very old - difficult to shut windows and therefore have working air con! Bathroom very old.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is just by the airfield, at the opposite side of the terminal: a taxi ride takes 5 minutes (20 Euros!), although during the morning they ride a shuttle every half hour (recommended to book: 4 euros). The staff is helpful and speak very good english. The rooms although small and basic are air conditioned and clean. If you book on the internet ignore the option of booking transport to/from aiport: it seems obsolete.

Room Tip: As far away from the reception as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ropongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here two nights recently. The room and bathroom was lovely - very nice, clean and good supply of toiletries, replaced daily. There were a few issues. The first night, using the hotel restaurant - the food expensive, it was not good value for money - I ordered the Big Beef Burger - and expected something great. Instead, the plate arrived with a beef burger and some fries, no salad or anything else. Also, when ordering drinks, I ordered a Coke which was three Euros which was fine. Later, before going to my room I ordered another Coke, this time the glass was bigger and was the same price as the previous smaller Coke which doesn't make sense.

The reception staff are friendly and knowledgeable of the area which was helpful and the hotel shuttle bus was great to get us to the Metro Station. The restaurant staff could have been a little friendlier however, Breakfast was also not too great, the bacon was disgusting! If you want to take anything back to your room then you have to pay for this. The staff also constantly watch what you are taking as if to say you've had enough already. There could have been a bit more choice for breakfast, a better selection of cheeses and meats. The coffee and juice on offer was very nice.

The swimming pool was FREEZING and also not deep enough, I went in for a little bit and discovered all sorts of things floating around, lots of dead bugs and there was also a packet of tissues floating around. As soon as these were noticed I got out of the pool. The lounge area chairs were also not very comfortable.

Overall, if you want basic then this is it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH1013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciampino
2.3 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
0.5 mi away
Palacavicchi Hotel
Palacavicchi Hotel
#1,054 of 1,257 in Rome
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Giulia
Hotel Villa Giulia
#2 of 6 in Ciampino
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo Laura
Albergo Laura
#1,063 of 1,257 in Rome
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Louis II
Hotel Louis II
#4 of 6 in Ciampino
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meeting Hotel
Meeting Hotel
#739 of 1,257 in Rome
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CiampinoHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CiampinoHotel

Property: CiampinoHotel
Address: Via Achille Grandi 2, 00043, Ciampino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ciampino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ciampino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CiampinoHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your CiampinoHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciampino Hotel Ciampino
Ciampinohotel Hotel Ciampino
CiampinoHotel Ciampino, Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing