We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful”
Review of Hotel Villa Giulia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Giulia
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ciampino
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I deliberately chose this hotel because of its closeness to Ciampino airport - but at no time did I feel that it was too close. I had anticipated arriving in the early evening, but events overtook me and I didn't arrive until nearly one in the morning. I had telephoned ahead to say that I would be late but they simply said that there would be someone on duty throughout the night. I was given a room on the upper floor and all of the facilites that you would expect were available. Breakfast was available over a 3-hour period but the coffee was always freshly made. The bed was comfortable and there was a spare blanket available if needed. Perhaps The Hotel Inspector would not have approved of the en-suite - but there had clearly been an effort made and there were always fresh towels.
The staff on Reception were very helpful; he was happy to assist me opening a bottle of wine - even though this resulted in his opener breaking - and declined a glass for his trouble. They were happy to advise on somewhere to eat (and even phoned ahead ...).
There was no lift - this might present difficulties to some visitors. I felt perfectly happy staying here, and considered that the hotel fitted in well to this largely residential area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaMary60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 128 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

I would not recommend this hotel. The area felt unsafe as many houses near the hotel had guard dogs and bars on windows, that tells you something doesnt it? When we finally found this hotel, the receptionist was too busy playing on facebook and msn to help us. After a couple of awkward minutes, he gave us the room key and tv remote control...proving not very safe. The only positive thing was that the room's air conditioning was working.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more, dont go for the cheapest hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedWineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This place is 1-2 miles from the airport. We paid around 15 euro for the taxi for here from the airport. The front desk guy was very helpful and spoke good English.
the a/c was weak and the room was small. Also we booked for a single room for 2 adults what we got was a very small room with two single camp beds.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pateln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The only reason we stayed here is because we had incredibly early and late flights in/out of Ciampino on Ryan Air. We wanted an adequate place to stay (clean, well located to the airport) for the cheapest rate possible. We stayed in their mansarda room (on the upper story with sloped ceilings) which is an extra Euro 10 off the regular price. The room was extremely tiny with twin beds and one bedside table in between. The bathroom (also with sloped ceiling) still was large enough to include a bidet and the shower was very adequate. It met our purposes more than well enough. Unfortunately, our flight was even earlier than their breakfast hour began, and was too early to walk to the train station to catch the shuttle bus to the airport. But they called a taxi for us which arrived on time (which was a huge black Mercedes limo) and he only charged us Euro 20 to get to the airport--that seems to be the going legitimate rate. We will stay here again if the rate remains low and we need early or late connections at Ciampino airport. I would not stay here for a general trip to Rome--for that I would definitely stay in the city center.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmicaDiToscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here as we had a flight from Ciampino the next morning. It's conveniently located a 7 minute walk to the train station with frequent and inexpensive trains to and from Rome. To continue with the good, the included breakfast the next morning was very Italian so just pastries and juices, but the pastries were delicious! There was also free wifi in the courtyard and breakfast room. Additionally, there was a new flatscreen TV in the room. Unfortunately the bad outweighs the good. Our room was tiny, even by European standards, it was basically a closet. We arrived late at night and the room was unbearably warm, although we turned the air conditioning unit on right away, it took hours for it to really cool the room down (surprising for how small it was!). The beds weren't particularly comfortable either as the mattress sagged a great deal in the middle. The shower water pressure was great, but it was tough to enjoy as you could see a fair amount of mildew between the shower tiles. This was just about the cheapest option in Ciampino the night we were there, but was still greatly overpriced. I don't like to sound too negative here, but we've stayed many places around the world and this was among the most disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Would I recommend staying here while visiting Rome? Absolutely not. Would I recommend sightseeing in Ciampino? Not really. Would I recommend staying here if you have any early flight the next morning? Absolutely.

The room was very nicely sized and clean with an ensuite bathroom and refrigerator. The nights sleep was great and it was very quiet. Maybe a little pricey for what it is, but I would probably stay again.

This is about 5 minute walk from the main Ciampino city train station. DO NOT take a cab from/to the airport to here. Take the bus ran by Schiaffini/Cotral. It runs at pretty regular intervals from the airport to the main the train station. It's about a 10 minute bus ride and costs 1.20.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WesNileVirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This hotel was booked mainly because it is close to family members whoc live nearby. The staff were lovely and spoke very good English. Breakfast was very Italian, lots of cakes, pies, bread and cereal but all good with a small selection. There is free internet in the breakfast room which was a great bonus. Rooms are very small with low ceilings, upstairs at least, and there is no lift. However we didn't spend much time in the rooms and the staff were very willing to help with heavy bags. Overall this is a good hotel for those who would prefer to spen theor money on the delights of Rome. The station is about 5 minutes walk and a daily travel card ony 6 Euros.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraVella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciampino
0.8 mi away
CiampinoHotel
CiampinoHotel
#3 of 6 in Ciampino
705 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
0.7 mi away
Hotel Louis II
Hotel Louis II
#5 of 6 in Ciampino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palacavicchi Hotel
Palacavicchi Hotel
#1,067 of 1,272 in Rome
451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Meeting Hotel
Meeting Hotel
#585 of 1,272 in Rome
88 reviews
2.8 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Giulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Giulia

Address: Via Dalmazia 9, 00043, Ciampino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ciampino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ciampino
Price Range: $48 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Giulia 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Giulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Giulia Ciampino, Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing