We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a catastrophe! What a disaster !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Altra Tappa

L'Altra Tappa
Reserve with
L'Altra Tappa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Ciampino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant "L'altra tappa" is situated in a panoramic hill of Grottaferrata, and Ciampino. Ideal for your moments special offers Menus for all occasions.On Tuesday and on Friday we will be happy to offer you our fish specialties such as the appetizer of raw. Every evening you can also enjoy our wood-fired pizzasthe GardenIn the private garden you can organize Aperitifs, Antipasti buffet dinners outdoors admiring the one hand and on the other the Castelli Romani Rome.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a catastrophe! What a disaster !”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Arrived hungry after 8 pm, at the hotel reception they recommended us to go to eat within walking distance to the Altra Tappa, where, according to the nice girl at the front desk, clients would eat well and on Tuesday they serve fresh fish.
It would have been better to arrive on another day of the week. Kitchen and cook nightmares . Manager in clear denial. Where's Chef Ramsey when you need him. We ordered : octopus salad , spaghetti sea food, fettuccine homemade sea and mountains, mixed fried fish. After refusing to eat the appetizer and after eating four forkfuls of pasta 'cause we were starving, having lost all faith in the restaurant, we canceled the fried fish and fed ourselves with a margherita pizza . To tell the truth it was neither better nor worse than pizzas we eat in "non- Italian" restaurants in Germany. What a shame !
And to think that before ordering, we had asked if the octopus was fresh , instead it was soft , flabby , and (where in the world did they see it doing it! ) served with celery , carrots and olives from the can. No lemon, no freshness. No beautiful live red skin on the octopus flesh, no suction cups. Over-boiled, or boiled and re-boiled, or just weeks old. The most disheartening sadness is the manager's justification quote: " it would cost us less work not to peel the skin off, if customers would eat it as we do in Livorno." What an offense to their own customers, it seemed he was only clutching at straws. What a shame . In his defense, he did not charge us for it.
Restaurant absolutely not recommendable. Tripadvisor does not allow to give less than one star. That would be my pick. If they weren't in business, no one would miss them.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabriele p, Proprietario at L'Altra Tappa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Google Translation
non sono abituato a rispondere in modo scortese alle recensioni anche se ricordo bene la vostra visita....sua e del suo accompagnatore che non perdeva occasione per rimarcare il fatto che a napoli si mangia meglio e che a roma non si puo' mangiare pesce......opinione che rispetto solo perchè è una città che adoro.... ma vi siete seduti già insoddisfatti e ipercritici prima di iniziare a cenare....ho provato ad essere gentile per accontentarvi lo stesso,sostituendovi ciò che avevato ordinato con una pizza che al momento sembravate gradirla e non facendovi pagare l'antipasto anche se le vostre rimostranze non le condividevo, comunque non posso accettare una recensione del genere...... fa sembrare inconpetenti noi e tutti gli altri recensori che ci apprezzano.......comunque questo sito da a tutti la possibilità di sentirsi un pò Cannavacciuolo almeno per un giorno.Grazie lo stesso del suo contributo. LEONARDO PAOLINI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    272
    85
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
glenrothes
2 reviews
“lovely food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Fantastic food, excellent service, we had seafood and it was devine, the home made sweets are simply delicious

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unexpected restaurant visit”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in hotel Residenza dÈpoca Pietra Di Ponente one night just before
going to the Ciampino airport early the morning after. The hotel made us a reservation at this
good restaurant LAltra Tappa. We had no clue what kind of restaurant it was, but since it only was
a 5 minute walk from the hotel we decided we had nothing to loose. When we arrived to the restaurant it was almost full - a good sign! Everyone sat outside in the garden, hardly no other tourists but us. Lots of Italian big families on a thursday night 21:30.

No english menues but a great Italian menue with pages of good food, they also had some nice fish dishes but only served on "Mardtedi & venerdi".
I had ravioli filled with ricotta and pumkin in a lovely citrus sauce as a starter - a tasty big starter
we could have shared one portion. Then I had their meet carpaccio on a bed of rockets and
lots of parmesan cheese all over, it was really delicious. Now I was more than full but since it was my last night in Italy for a while I could not resist their Tiramisu - it was to die for and worth every carb and calorie!

It was a great experience and I can say a lot better than some other restaurants in Tuscany.

The price level was OK and the staff was very friendly I do recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YlvaBromma_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Had a delicious meal in this lovely friendly restaurant. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Altra Tappa also viewed

Ciampino, Province of Rome
Ciampino, Province of Rome
 
Ciampino, Province of Rome
Ciampino, Province of Rome
 

Been to L'Altra Tappa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing