We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a romantic setting”

The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Bathurst
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Diner, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant is housed in The Historic Pig and Whistle Inn. The Pub serving the Restaurant and Inn is the oldest continuously Licenced Pub in South Africa.The sense of history can almost be touched in this wonderful old place. The Restaurant consists of two locations. The timeless and popular verandah which adjoins the street as a sidewalk cafe where you can enjoy a grilled fish, steak or enjoy a coffee and the signature lemon meringue tart and watch the passing parade in this quaint village. Alternatively, the Historic Dining area has recently (in September 2011) been refurbished with a focus on its historic roots. The restaurant is popular for its traditional Sunday Roasts. Affordable family fare is the order of the day.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is the oldest pub in South Africa, and it has an excellent atmosphere, with excellent tasty food. Well worth spending the night if travelling through the Eastern Cape.

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hi David, thank you so much for the positive review, always very welcome in the fickle world of providing great food and service. In our small village we pride ourselves in offering up market pub food in reasonable portions and good value for money. Your feedback gives us good motivation that we are on the right track. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our family visited the Pig and Whistle for a sunday lunch. It is a worthwile stop- the food is delicious, plentiful and very very reasonable. I had the beef fillet, and it was tender, and cooked to perfection. The puddings similarly offer bang for buck: my lemon meringue came in an enormous slice and satisfied my sweet tooth. Service is quick and efficient, and I recommend this to anyone looking for a reliable pub lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kylie557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful endorsement Kylie, We pride ourselves on our good food value for money and "farmers portions". we are pleased we did not disappoint! We look forward to hosting you again. Perhaps a weekend stay-over?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

well if your are actrected by history this will be your place to be.good food and value for money.they say there beers are good to.the staff are friendly .we like the old building ...just to say that we were there was ok for us

Thank Alroy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your review Alroy. We look forward to hosting you again. Perhaps a week-end stay over

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Bathurst is a small lil place, but the Pig and Whistle certainly puts it on the map! The ambiance is very rustic and cozy. I loved the wood paneling and posters about how life was in "ye' old tavern of yore" :D. All in all, a great place to relax with a draft (Carling Black Label on tap) and have some steak egg and chips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ayush D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review Ayush we are all thrilled when someone takes the time to provide valuable feedback. We are very proud of our National Monument and work hard to make the place that you described as consistently as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Feel-good experience, especially is value for money, comfortable accommodation, super pub and grub, great staff,

Thank Aideen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin C, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Aideen Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We try to provide "farmers portions" of well prepared fare at reasonable prices and it is great when we get this type of response, we look forward to hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing