We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, but slow service”

The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Bathurst
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Diner, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant is housed in The Historic Pig and Whistle Inn. The Pub serving the Restaurant and Inn is the oldest continuously Licenced Pub in South Africa.The sense of history can almost be touched in this wonderful old place. The Restaurant consists of two locations. The timeless and popular verandah which adjoins the street as a sidewalk cafe where you can enjoy a grilled fish, steak or enjoy a coffee and the signature lemon meringue tart and watch the passing parade in this quaint village. Alternatively, the Historic Dining area has recently (in September 2011) been refurbished with a focus on its historic roots. The restaurant is popular for its traditional Sunday Roasts. Affordable family fare is the order of the day.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good stay, but slow service”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at the Pig and Whistle for two nights, it is indeed value for money. We stayed in room 2 which had gone through a refurb so it was pleasant. Bathroom was also large and statisfactory.

Water pressure was an issue, but we were informed at check-in that there may be small problems due to the work that was completed the day before.

We were received by the owner who welcomed us in a professional manner and was pleasant to deal with. She often asked if we were fine and enjoying our stay.

The only negative from our stay was the slow service during lunch time. We did not complain as we were not in a rush and enjoying the Eastern Cape vibe, the food however was good. Maybe tap beer could be introduced to the pub?

All in all we had a comfortable stay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkipperZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear SkipperZA Thank you for your valuable feedback and congratulations on being the first guests in one of our recently refurbished rooms. You will pleased to hear that the waterpressure issue is largely resolved we just have the municipal feed to resolve. Your feedback about service is totally valid, as a small country hotel serving food prepared from scratch, we occasionally feel the pressure of an influx over lunch time which is difficut to plan for. We will continue to improve all the aspects of this ancient treasure that we run. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    57
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A poor experience”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Port Alfred and were recommended by a number of people to visit Bathurst and take lunch in the Pig and Whistle. Whilst enjoying Bathurst our visit to the Pig and Whistle was disappointing. We were offered lunch in either the pub or the restaurant, the pub was extremely gloomy and would have not have survived for long in the UK, we decided on the restaurant. This was a pleasant environment, we ordered our normal lunch of Greek salad. This arrived with salad that was beyond its sell by date, the extra bread was a slice of stale brown. We will not return as expected something much better.

Helpful?
Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Lucille and I take great pride in our national heritage site so of course we regard all feedback as a way to grow our business. We are certainly attending to the ambiance of our national monument within the confines of budget and the constraints of the fact that it is a national monument. Or lounge is currently "doubling up" as the Restaurant as we rebuild an old fireplace in the Restaurant.

As you will see from other reviews,our food is generally regarded as the most consistently good in our area and we are therefore mortified that you did not enjoy your salad, If you are in the area again, please provide us with an opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cold Beer”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed an afternoon's drive through Bathurst and stopped at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant for lunch. All three of us were disappointed with our food. The calamari was tough and my two friends Hake and Chips, though large portions, struggled to finish their meal. This is a well known establishment and we had high hopes for a great meal on their busy verandah. Perhaps we caught them on a bad day. We will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelvedereC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Our sincerest apologies for your poor experience Belvidere, please look us up again and be sure to introduce yourself to us for a free main course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family received friendly service and hearty pub meals ... Lunch went on for hours and we even enjoyed watching the odd horse walk down the main street - they actually stopped at the pub for a visit (think they get some sugar cubes? As a treat)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi The safari guy. Thank you for your great feedback. In fact we do allow for horses and other pets on the famous Veranda, in fact on our facebook page you can see a photo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ye olde charm”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great value for money and excellent olde charm and service.
love it, highly recommended to everyone.
Nice sitting out on stoep with a frosy and a great inexpensive meal

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank critikill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Citikill

Thank you for your positive feedback. We pride ourselves for serving "farmers portions" providing good value for money. The Famous Veranda is a wonderful place to watch the passing parade of interesting locals and celebrity holidaymakers in our quaint village.

We look forward to hosting you again...perhaps our Sunday Roast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Bathurst, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Historic Pig and Whistle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing