We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eish...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eish...”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Great place...good memories. Cold water. Even after complaining at 21h00 - no hot water. Same thing in the morning. Pity. When staying at a low budget hotel one would at least want to have hot water. But we will be back...I think...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Jan, firstly we must repeat our apologies for your hot water problem.

Unfortunately between discovering the problem at nine o'clock at night and the next morning there was nothing we could do to ensure hot water in the morning. Our recently installed heat pumps were working perfectly and we could not identify the root cause of the overnight issue. Murphy played his usual role and by 9h00 when the plumber arrived the water was piping hot and we could not identify a problem. There has been constant hot water since. Once again our sincere apologies and we hope to make it up to you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Wife and I returned for our 30 th anniversary had so much fun and entertainment was excellent and "mischievous" by Craig .Lucille and Gavin ,great owners and fantastic people, spoilt us with good food and complimentary bubbly to go with it. We relaxed in "our room no.1" which has been refurbished tastefully. Had fun dancing in the pub together with all the friendly locals and served by the two pleasant charming barman. Village was rocking with all the people who were attending the "book fair". This was our fourth stay and we will be back soon as this has become our home away from home & peaceful retreat for mind and soul.

Room Tip: My better half wants a front facing room as to not miss the goings and coming of people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Keith,

My apologies, we only read your review today.

Thank you once again for staying with us. Lucille and I are pleased you enjoyed the new bathroom. We are especially pleased that you decided to spend your "30th" with us. The news is that we have now completed all the en-suite rooms and now turn our attention to the bathrooms that serve the Historic rooms. We want to ensure that those whose budget does not extend to the en-suites or who prefer the deep history of the 1820's rooms also experience great accommodation. We look forward to hosting you again. Gavin & Lucille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We travelled to the Pig & Whistle Inn as a family and it made for an excellent part of our holiday. The location is perfect, right in the middle of Bathurst .... I believe the pub is the oldest, licensed pub in South Africa and we found it very charming + enjoyed a few 'pints' there - the locals are very friendly and we enjoyed some good banter. The bedrooms / bathrooms are basic but anything else would have been disappointing as the hotel is a period piece in itself ... The whole family can't wait to visit again!!!

Room Tip: Come here to step back into the 1800's and enjoy the experience as a whole (hotel, town, locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your review of our Historic Inn. Really appreciated, I trust that on your return visit you will enjoy our refurbished bathrooms. If you return soon it will be room 1 to ask for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pig and Whistle for 4 nights in early November 2012 and we enjoyed our stay very much.

The inn has retained a wonderful old world feel and we had a lovely large room with comfy beds. My only gripe is that the bathroom needs updating and rather lets the otherwise charming façade down.

But, it was perfectly serviceable and clean with good and friendly service.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We thank you for your valuable feedback, Lucille and I are grateful for all feedback regarding our 181 year old Inn. You are right that our bathrooms are in need of a tweak. After a false start earlier in the year we will be commencing with the bathroom refurbish on 7 January 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I both enjoy history. After reading about the Historic Pig and Whistle Inn with the oldest pub in SA we added Bathurst to our holiday plans. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable (Although there was no TV in the room we could watch rugby in the pub). We also enjoyed the little town with its 1820 British Settlers history, old churches and buildings. Only negative, the bath/shower can do with some upgrading.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu-Gerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Hi Lu Gerda,

thank you for your positive feedback, we are very focuses on providing an authentic stay in our 180 year old Inn.

This friday (tomorrow) the first of our bathroom upgrades begins! Of course to be truly authentic to the 1820 settler bathing habits, you would have welcomed a zinc bath and a servant into your room!! Market testing of that idea is not going down so well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Bedroom was charming, clean and vintage South Africa. Hotel was like going back to the good old days as was the rest of the town. This is the oldest pub in SA, so it lives up to that expectation.
Only downside was the bathroom which could do with a revamp, but it was servicable and clean.

Room Tip: Old and quirky, but the bathrooms need a bit of a refit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieW1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for the valuable feedback Jackie, we appreciate the time you took to write the review.

We really do strive to maintain what we have and improve slowly. Our project last year was the dining room. The bathrooms are also on our list.

Loving the oldest pub in South Africa is a special mix of classic structure and modern facilities. We aim to keep the balance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Spent an early evening on the verandah at the Pig 'n Whistle in Bathurst overlooking the green valley and beautiful pink sunset sky. The whole scene, including quaint street lamps, take you back to a bygone era. Great meal and service made this a special end to a lovely trip to the Eastern Cape.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavca, Owner at The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathurst
7.0 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
293 reviews
21.5 mi away
Bartholomew's Loft
Bartholomew's Loft
#6 of 26 in Grahamstown
21 reviews
13.1 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
30 on Oatlands Road Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Morley House Historical Accommodation & Tea Gardens
2.2 mi away
Kingston Farm
Kingston Farm
#3 of 5 in Bathurst
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn

Property: The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn
Address: 268 Kowie Road, Bathurst 6166, South Africa (Formerly The Bathurst Inn Pig & Whistle)
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David Bristow's latest Book "Been there Done That" (Struik March 2011) rates the Pig and Whistle as a unique place to Stay, Eat, Drink. It appears as number 33 of his top 50!! The Pig & Whistle Inn has 10 beautifully restored rooms with magnificent antiques. There are 4 en-suite rooms and the 6 traditional original rooms with communal bathrooms. All rooms have recently been equipped with new beds and Percale linen. The first owner, Thomas Hartley, built this house in 1821, a three story dwelling with 2 bedrooms on the top floor. The original rooms are rooms 5 and 6 in this Old Settler Inn. We are now rated number one in Bathurst on Trip Adviser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Historic Pig & Whistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing