We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other travelers have booked this property
View from Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Balcony
Living area looking back from balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
3 reviews
View from Balcony
Living area looking back from balcony
Dining area
kitchen counter with stairs to loft
Kitchen, fully equipped
Master Bedroom
Master bath with shower and tub
Guest bedroom
guest batch with shower. opens to common hallway across from guest bedroom
loft
loft bath
Living area from loft
pool showing entrance door
floorplan
our gorgeous beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Treasure Cay, Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
matthewf5...
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Renters Beware: Nightmare with Bugs, Mold and Foul Odors”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
7
people found this review helpful

My family rented Royal Poinciana 2612 for our Christmas holiday and had to leave soon after checking in because the condo was in horrible condition: bugs, mold and foul odors. Trying to resolve the issue with the owner and getting some of our money refunded has been an absolute nightmare.

Treasure Cay is paradise and over the past few years, we have rented several wonderful condos along the beach and marina. Royal Poinciana 2612 is one of the most disgusting places we have encountered and the ensuing customer service has been atrocious. We want to share our experience to save future vacationers from having a similar experience.

The condo was described online as a “luxurious oceanfront condo”, the photos looked nice and the price seemed reasonable at $200 per night. We arrived in good faith, having paid in full before our arrival.

Our nightmare began as soon as we opened the door to the unit. The whole place smelled musty and dank. Upon entering the kitchen to put away groceries, the refrigerator had leaked and there was water inside the shelves and all over the floor. The main bathroom was nasty. There was mold and mildew all over the toilet and rust stains and grime on the sink top. When we turned on the water to attempt to clean up, it smelled like rotten eggs, enough to make you gag. At this point we’d seen enough, but the worst was yet to come. As we put our bags down in the bedroom, we noticed something weird on the bed. As we pulled back the bed spread there were bugs all over the mattress, underneath the pillows and sheets. That was the last straw.

The local management company helped find us a temporary place to stay for the night. Being the busy Christmas season, we were told there were no other places available to move for the duration of our stay. We frantically searched for a day and a half (time that should have been spent relaxing) and finally found the only place available, but the cost was nearly double. The local management company had kept the owners in the loop throughout our ordeal and asked that we contact the owners upon our return to resolve the matter. This is where the second nightmare occurred.

During our first contact, the owner said they would only refund one night, a measly $200, because they said they had the place cleaned after we left and brought in an exterminator to get rid of the bugs in the bed. They had the audacity to say we should have gone back to check on the condition of the unit at a later date to see if it was inhabitable. After several more attempts to get a significant portion of our money refunded, we received one final email that stated, “Two nights. No more.”

My family has traveled to Abaco for decades and we have never had an experience like this. It’s shameful. We absolutely love Treasure Cay and will return for many years to come. However, you can bet we’ll be nowhere close to Royal Poinciana 2612.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2018
First of all, our unit is clean and is kept clean because it is often shown at a moments notice. There were indeed ants in the unit when this family arrived, carpenter ants, which were not there that very morning. As the renter stated, we brought in the exterminator for extra spraying over and above the monthly maintainance spraying, and they never went back to check that the bugs were gone after we had found a place for them the first night. As stated, they were offered two nights, not one, refund. They are insisting on a full refund, which we do not believe is reasonable given that they just left and then demanded a refund. 10 days after the rental time, another group of 6 rented and were happy with the unit, had no problems. Please check reviews on AirBNB where we get most of our renters.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKD74
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Total escape! Beautiful long white sand, uninhabited beach. Warm, calm, turquoise ocean just steps from the condo. Rental boats and ferries easily available to day trip to the out islands. Condo is beautifully appointed with all the amenities. Heavenly vacation. Only con is getting to Treasure Cay, which is also the reason it is so wonderful and not at all touristy. We've spent weeks here winter, spring, and summer. Looking forward to going again.

Date of stay: February 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing