We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE, VERY POOR AND OLD HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Treasure Cay
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE, VERY POOR AND OLD HOTEL”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Old hotel in need of repair. Rooms are poor shape and very, very tired and beat up.
Stay away and save your money.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    136
    63
    21
    10
See reviews for
90
210
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

The beach here is breathtaking and amazingly quiet in January which is off-season. I walked blissfully up and down the 2+ mile stretch several times. Only once or twice did I actually run into another person. Facing the ocean be sure to turn right and walk all the way to the end until you reach the peach house on the ocean.

Yes, the help can be a little surly, but in a funny kind of way (think Della Reese). Yes, the food is overpriced and ordinary. Yes, you will find little ants running around in your unit (just buy a can of bug spray). Yes, the furnishings are a bit dated and frayed around the edges. Don't expect luxury accommodations.

With all that I can't think of a better place to spend a quiet get away from it all vacation. You have no choice here but to be very relaxed. Patrick Fetsch, the GM, is on top of everything and can be seen everywhere. He is a native Oregonian and now works for the German family that owns the resort.

Rent a bike. Stop for some cinnamon buns or Johnny Cake at La Florance. Talk to the owners, Florence and her husband, "Captain Forty." They are very friendly. Visit Abaco Ceramics for some interesting souvenirs. Walk the main boulevard during the day or evening where you will see some beautiful homes.

We were fortunate to get the accommodations on the cheap as they were "excess inventory" from our travel club, planwithtan.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerryi36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Treasure Cay beach was amazing but the rest of the resort could have been better. Having dinner in the restaurant several nights in a row was not appealing when there were only 6 entrées on the menu and they were out of the chicken option every night. The rooms were clean but dated. Our room had a kitchen which came in handy with the lack of dinner selections at the restaurant. There was a grocery store, liquor store, bakery, bike rentals, and vehicle rentals on sight which was very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenrojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My wife and I have traveled to the Bahamas befor, but we wanted to try one of the "out islands" we chose Grand Abaco, Trasure Cay. We stayed at the Treasure Cay Resort and Marina. We where given a great room with ocean view, clean and cozy. Icongratulate Mr. Patrick Fetsch, the General Manager and his staff! By far the best beach I have ever visited! we purposely went off season, and glad we did, we practicall had the place to ourselves. Try the lobster and fried cheesecake at Spinnakers...great!

If you are looking for glitz and 5 star french restaurants, this is not for you. But if you want a laid back, relaxing experience and the best beaches I have seen, this is for you.

Alfredo & Olga

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubanito305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Treasure Cay Hotel Resort/Marina is within the Treasure Cay closed resort community in North Abaco, Bahamas. The rooms (which are more like small villas) overlook the marina, and all have either a small balcony or yard where you can sit down and relax. Our room was on the second floor of the villa, and for all practical purposes, it was a small apartment, with a complete kitchen (stove, oven, microwave and fridge), dining room, two full bathrooms, family room and second floor bedroom. The decorations are rather simple and the furniture looks a bit aged. Nonetheless, the room was very comfortable for the two of us and it was a very nice place to come back to after a day outdoors. The only two problems that we encountered was with the shower (you have to pull a small lever to turn it on and the lever was too hard to move) and flickering lights (which were fixed by the second day). Housekeeping is very good.

The facilities of the hotel include a pool, bar (the Tipsy Seagull) and two restaurants (the Spinaker and the Coco Beach Bar). Plates went from US $20 to $40, and dinner (at the Spinaker) was rather good, although a bit pricey. Their dinner menu varies according to the day and are country-themed. Some plates, like the ones at the Italian night tasted a bit bland, while others, like the lobster, were very good. A constant feature is that their portions were generous and the service very friendly...and by all means, request a basket with Bahama Bread.

In case you don't wish to eat out, you can do some shopping in a small, but fully stocked supermarket in the hotel grounds and cook in your room. The prices at the supermarket are rather high (I've never paid US $6 before for a small pack of Chip Ahoy's cookies and $12 for a bottle of sunblock, but then again, the supermarket is at a resort, and the resort is on an island where everything has to be shipped in).

The best place to be at is the beach, which is across the road from the main grounds of the resort. The turquoise, calm waters of North Abaco seem like something out of a dream, and the beach will keep you coming back every day. If you're interested in doing something else rather than the beach, you can try a dive shop in the hotel grounds or go island hopping in one of the adventure boats that depart the marina during the weekends.

At night you can go to the Tipsy Seagull for some drinks and some fun. Besides that, there is virtually no nightlife in the place.

Our visit took place in the low season (July - December) so we didn't have any problems with getting a seat at the Spinaker or at the Coco Beach Bar for breakfast. However, if you go in the high season, you are encouraged to make reservations. The Spinaker is the only place that regularly serves food at the hotel and the resort community, and the other inhabitants of the resort community (which is full of other small resorts, villas, fishing boats and houses) might be tempted to visit the restaurant as well.

In all, if you're looking for a place to unwind, relax and forget about everything else in the world, this is the place to visit and your best bet for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FZambrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

They lost my reservation thus when I arrived they said that the rate was more than I had reserved. They charge for maid service that was non existent and the whole property is dirty. There is trash everywhere. The food was just edible and service surly. I had been to this property in 1979 and it was gorgeous but they have not updated since. The rooms are old and the bathrooms are tiny. The pool was dirty and small.The island is still beautiful but I would not stay at this property!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neverstaysahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We received a 2 free night stay at this resort. We flew in with Yellow Air Taxi (DON"T FLY WITH THESE GUYS, THEY STRANDED US AND 15 OTHERS AT THE AIRPORT JULY 5TH 2010).
The resort was well laid out and the beach which is across the street is fantastic. Now for the bad.
8.00$US for a hotdog to start. The tastless way overpriced food is a joke!
We had a 36.00 Buffet meal times 2. The buffet had mac&cheese as part of it. MAC&CHEESE in a 36.00 p.p buffet!! My girfriend also tried the overbreaded and tasteless conch @ 9.00 for 6 small pieces of breading with little actual conch!
The food was rediculously overpriced and for the most part tasteless. At the restaurant no one bothered to ask us how do we find the food...they were obviously too afraid to ask.

Our 1st morning we were awoken at 6am by and clock radio alarm in the adjoining empty room..I told the front desk to please make sure it doesnt happen the next morning...sure enough, the next morning a 6 am buzzer that would not shut off. ALSO, we had slept in because of the alarm and we asked for later check out. The front desk person actually seemed annoyed at our request like we were inconveniencing her! No apology about the alarm either..It was all as amatter of fact attitude which is why this place has gone downhill the last 2 years!

On the day we were to leave July 4th, good old (I mean old! 40 year old planes!!) Yellow
Air Taxi did not show up nor did they attempt to contact us!! Left stranded we were forced to return to a lousy value resort. We explained to them what happend...no sorry no compation and NO DISCOUNT on the 3rd unexpected night! 200.00!!

For 3 days this adventure cost us 1,700.00$ and remember 2 nights were free! I would not go back there for free! This will sound arrogant, but these people have to realize that tourists come first otherwise, they would not have jobs! I am going to the keys on my next short vacay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripper328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Cay
22.2 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
286 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
35 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#1 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
17.0 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
8.2 mi away
Green Turtle Club & Marina
Green Turtle Club & Marina
#2 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort

Property: Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
Address: Treasure Cay Road, Treasure Cay AB-22134, Great Abaco Island (Formerly Treasure Cay Hotel Resort and Marina)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Treasure Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Treasure Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 200 miles from Florida’s coast, the Bahamian island of Abaco is home to the village of Treasure Cay and our laid-back resort where more than three miles of sleepy white sand beach anchor a genuine Caribbean paced experience; reminiscent of a truly relaxed way of life. Served by multiple daily direct fights, our fun for all ages oasis operates a noted 150-slip marina and classic Dick Wilson golf course.Ocean-front rooms,fully airconditioned, free internet. Vacation at one of the most famous three mile long beaches in the world, according to NATIONAL GEOGRAPHICS. Swimming, boating, golf, tennis, watersports and much relaxation. Complete ocean-view pool- and beach-bar and restaurants. Available rentals: bikes, cars, golf-carts and motor-boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Treasure Cay
Resort Treasure Cay
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort Bahamas - Abaco Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing