We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasting away again at the Tipsy Seagull”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Treasure Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wasting away again at the Tipsy Seagull”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just back from Treasure Cay, and while we did not stay in the hotel, made great use of the Tipsy Seagull Bar and Grill at the resort. The food is good, simple, typical beach/marina bar fare, but what makes it better than average is the staff. Paula, the restaurant manager, Judi and Carolyn behind the bar, and the young woman who grilled everything everyday at the open air kitchen (sorry, didn't' get your name) were helpful, friendly and made us feel welcome every time we came in. If a marina-side pool, bar and grill where you can sit in the sun, have a dip and enjoy a burger are your thing, this is a good place to be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieCVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    130
    59
    20
    10
See reviews for
80
201
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had a group. The accommodations were great. More than we needed but we are a laid back crowd. Very clean and tidy. If you are a 5 star kind of person, this won't work. Nice little guy from the grocery store carried our groceries to our room. We tipped him of course. Rented a car, necessary to get around the island if you want to check anything else out, since taxi is 85.00 there and back, plus fee with additional peeps. We walked everywhere around the resort and down to the end of the island. We rented a boat for 3 days and had it outside our units, to island hop and snorkel at will. This was great and the unique part for us. So very glad we did this. Lots of rum punch and lots of very friendly peeps. Great time!!

Room Tip: We had upstairs, I would request that unless it doesn't make sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We really anticipated this trip because of the pictures of the beautiful beach. Maybe we were naive but were unprepared for the accommodations that came with it. Everything needs updating. The condos have a great view but supplies are very spare so you have to buy EVERYTHING except toilet paper. Pretty well-stocked grocery but dwindles by Wednesday because that is the re-stocking day. Restaurant food was decent. Best place on the resort is the bakery!! People are really nice and helpful. Lucky is the cab driver to choose from Marsh Harbor; fun, friendly, and dependable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCL1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenKappelerGM, General Manager at Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello LCL1968
Thankyou for your most positive review sharing with readers the excellent waterfront and marina views from Treasure Cay's best value, lowest priced accommodations. You are right to share information about our many nearby restaurants to choose from. We offer more choices than other Abaco or Treasure Cay resort or rental and all footsteps or minutes from your resort door. We offer every imaginable in room amenity which are stocked daily by our friendly Bahamian tenured associates who care and inspect that all your needs are met. We offer all the usual expected amenities such as free hi speed wifi which is also in every outlet for conveniences. 46 channels of cable television, many of our rooms offer flat screen TVs, Iron and board, available hair dryer, full service computer and business center from our front desk etc. Of course your usual shampoo, conditioner, bath and facial soaps are stocked daily with the toilet paper you mentioned. Your accommodation was an upgrades second floor suite with sunrise and sunset views and located near our pool and Tipsy Bar area with a spectacular view of the marina and fun activities we have planned there with a private second floor sundeck and outdoor sun-warmed patio with seating and dining table for up to 4 persons. We offer Weber BBQ grills for outdoor use on the marina front side and of course your accommodation comes with the full kitchen fully stocked with all the dining and beverage wares plus cooking pots and pans and needed utensils. Full size refrigerator, microwave, toaster, GE Range and blender are standard. As readers can see Avis our Resort manager daily accommodates all guest requests and is a 30+ year tenured manager that goes above and beyond for any request and she works to exceed expectations. The value of your suite is tremendous as it is priced less than the cost of a standard room at any nearby competitor. Our Family friend resort is a family owned business and was the original first resort built in Treasure Cay in 1985 with much history serving more guests than other Abaco resort. Our resort received the highest inspection score of any Treasure Cay accommodation with an excellent rating....consistent with our Trip Advisor rating of 2014 Certificate of Excellence. If there is any portion of your stay where we did not meet your expectations please contact me for a discussion and a refund for that portion of your stay...Our associates practice a "Yes I can-Whatever it takes" service attitude. We believe in Yes I can...if you let us know how we can better accommodate you I can assure you we can exceed your expectation. Our Resort has more Excellent reviews that our competitors have total reviews. Thankyou for being our guest and offering the very good of Treasure Cay...with the best 3.5 mile sugar white powder beach in all the Bahamas with convenient shopping footsteps from your door we have more amenities to offer than any other Abaco Resort.
Best,
Your OutIsland Friend
Stephen Kappeler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very nice room. The beds were comfortable, and the unit was clean. It was perfect for staying in Treasure Cay, especially if you have a boat in the marina. Coco Beach is beautiful. It is located across the street from the hotel and Marina. The staff at the Coco grill are friendly and the food is very good. Tipsy Seagull, at the marina is great for late night entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SAILX6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We just recently vacationed at the Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Course and had an absolute amazing time! The general manager, Stephen Kappeler, has really turned this place into an amazing getaway with all the amenities and FUN you will need for a perfect vacation! Between the spacious clean rooms with beautiful marina views and the freedom to explore the island on the golf carts, you couldn't ask for a better set up. Start by getting checked in by Avis, who will make you feel right at home and tell you everything you need to know about the area. Next head to the grocery and liquor stores just a few doors down to stock up on food and drinks for your full kitchen. Once you've unloaded everything into your room take a stroll down the dock to Tipsy Seagull Bar for some drinks, music and you may even catch a local Junkanoo (look it up, it's a dance festival!). Any of the bartenders here will be happy to pour you their local drink, a Goombay Smash (or anything else you're heart desires)! During the day you can walk or take your cart over to Coco Beach Bar just across the street. Here you will encounter the most beautiful beach with light rose colored soft sand and the clearest water that will take your breath away. Coco's has great food and service as well (breakfast, lunch and dinner). I had the grouper fingers for lunch that were just perfection! Next, go see Cleveland at the sporting good rental booth and enjoy an array of options from stand up paddle boards to kayaks to rafts. If you are going out on the boat you can also rent snorkel gear here. We had the opportunity to take a boat out to some local areas that were great for spear fishing and conch catching. We cooked up our catch later that night for a delicious seafood dinner. Every night they have a different activity going on that gathers all the visitors and locals that make for a very fun evening. This was by far the best vacation my fiancé and I have taken in a long time. Great for relaxing as well as some late night music and dancing! We cannot wait to go back and see all the friends we made while there...be ready for us!!! Holly & James

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I’ve stayed at the Treasure Cay Hotel on a number of occasions for business purposes, and I’m more than please to say that each experience was a memorable one as each business trip has turned out to be a wonderfully well spent mini vacation. I say this because the services at the Treasure Cay’s Hotel and Resort are very commendable. The hotel staff and employees of this fine resort have accommodated me exceptionally well during each stay. It is clear to see that each employee is well trained as they provide the most exceptional customer service. Chef Noel, Ms. Paula Morley, Avis Miller, the cleaning staff and many others at this resort have ensured that I am extremely comfortable during each stay. More so, they all exceed my expectations in providing any additional items if possible. This is certainly very impressive. The location of the hotel just before the waterfront is to die for. The tranquillity I’ve always needed, the relaxation my mind yearns for, and even the food at the Spinnaker Restaurant and the Coco Beach Bar and Grill is exceptional......(I just have to have it, Chef Noel’s Specials... are delicious!). I know that the Treasure Cay Hotel Marina and Resort will exceed in its ratings within the near future with much expansions and new ideas. Every night here there is a theme night with fun, food and entertainment. I’d rather not stay anywhere else but at the Treasure Cay Hotel Resort & Marina while I’m in the Abacos. It is truly, the most beautiful place to be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Treasure Cay, 5/16-5/23. To sum it up, the resort is dated, but it is exceptionally clean, and the staff was very friendly. We had a two level suite on the marina, and it was very quiet, the bed was very comfortable. The beach here is beautiful, and most days we had it all to our self. The beach did have quite a bit of sea weed the first few days, but the weather was windy and rainy, and once that cleared out, the beach was cleaned up. There is a grocery and liquor store on the property grounds, as well as Cafe La Florence, the bakery. Not only do they have great cinnamon rolls, but we caught some fish on a boat excursion and they cooked that for us as well, it was delicious.
We attempted to take the "ferry" (really just a guy with a boat) to Nippers on Guana Cay for their Sunday pig roast, but there weren't enough passengers for him to make the trip. So the 6 of us that had been waiting for the ferry rented a boat from JIC Boat Rentals right at the marina. Nippers was great fun, and the most people we saw the entire week. The pig roast was excellent, but you do need to get there early before the big crowds come in on the main ferry.
We also chartered a boat with a captain through JIC. Captain Stumpy took us snorkeling, fishing, to see the pigs on No Name Cay, the shark and stingrays on Manjack Cay, then we had a walking tour through New Plymouth and lunch on Green Turtle Cay. It was the most expensive thing we did, but was a great way to see other cays, and Stumpy was a great guide.
Overall the food on the resort is fine. We ate most meals at either CoCo Beach bar or the Tipsy Seagull. Again, both were very clean, and although there were very few guests dining, the staff always seemed to be busy cleaning or restocking.
We have traveled quite a bit to various islands, the pace is slower, but if you have a good attitude and are friendly with the staff, you will get the same in return. We never had to wait for a drink, and were always greeted with smiles by all of the staff. That and the incredible beach go a long way for making a great vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Cay
0.4 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marin...
#2 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
10.7 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
17.0 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort

Property: Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
Address: Treasure Cay Road, Treasure Cay AB-22134, Great Abaco Island (Formerly Treasure Cay Hotel Resort and Marina)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Great Abaco Island > Treasure Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Treasure Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 200 miles from Florida’s coast, the Bahamian island of Abaco is home to the village of Treasure Cay and our laid-back resort where more than three miles of sleepy white sand beach anchor a genuine Caribbean paced experience; reminiscent of a truly relaxed way of life. Served by multiple daily direct fights, our fun for all ages oasis operates a noted 150-slip marina and classic Dick Wilson golf course.Ocean-front rooms,fully airconditioned, free internet. Vacation at one of the most famous three mile long beaches in the world, according to NATIONAL GEOGRAPHICS. Swimming, boating, golf, tennis, watersports and much relaxation. Complete ocean-view pool- and beach-bar and restaurants. Available rentals: bikes, cars, golf-carts and motor-boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Treasure Cay
Resort Treasure Cay
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort Bahamas - Abaco Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing