We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,location,location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Almendros de Ocotal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bdrm beachfront in December and you can't beat the location! It was so nice to grab a coffee and go for an early morning beach walk waiting for the teens to wake up, or a quick walk to the tidal pools at low tide. We drove by other places we looked at, and while many were quite lux with amazing views, the fact that you had to shuttle or drive to the beach every time lost out. Coco beach, about 5 mins, has great restaurants, groceries and alot going on - handy but Ocotal was peaceful. A myriad of birds at the inifinity pool right out our door, and the main pool a few minutes walk. We had a blast at the mudbaths at Las Hornillas, Miravelles Volcano and saw lots of wildlife on a river tour of Palo Verde. Our unit had air in the bedrooms, but comfortable sleeping with the window open and listening to the crashing surf. We have already booked Los Almendros for the Guanacaste portion of next winter's trip!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saunders4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 115 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

If you want a peaceful, quiet getaway in a beautiful location-this is the place to go. We just returned from spending the month of February at this idyllic resort and I can't say enough about the location, the staff who work there, and the weather. Can you imagine 35 Celsius every day without a cloud in the sky! Stefani (who works in the office) is invaluable; answering questions, giving recommendations, booking tours, car rentals, etc. Playa Coco is only 3 kms away if you need to get groceries or have a meal or a night out. Father Rooster's is next door and they have good cold beer, margaritas, and pina coladas that you can enjoy while sitting on the beach and listening to the surf. How much better can life be? If you are into scuba diving, Rocket Frog Diving has a shop on site, so you could "make some bubbles with them". Or if snorkeling is more to your liking, the are lots of fish and rays to be seen right off the rocks at the north end of the beach. We made trips to the Monteverde rain forest, Nicaragua, and Palo Verde. If Costa Rica is on your bucket list--come, stay at Los Almendros, use it as your base and see all the wonderful sights and experience the adventures this country has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinnamon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Superb location on a quiet beach. All units are close to the beach and have great views. The staff are very friendly and very accommodating. The condo units are spacious and have most amenities, some do not have washer and dryer. Pools are excellent and the weather in March is sunny and hot (35 Celsius) EVERY day!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were thrilled with everything about this property. The Staff is accommodating and very friendly. For those worried about language, there were no issues. Or issues about money, water or safety.
The location is perfect on the ocean, with the beach and two great pools. A few restaurants located nearby and a quick trip into Play Del Coco. Our unit # 41 was in a great location at the top of the hill with a incredible view of the ocean from the dinning area and master bedroom. A large patio to watch the boat and wild life.....

Room Tip: Ask for unit #41.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of four just returned from beautiful Costa Rica. We decided to stay at Los Almendros because of all of the great reviews we had read on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in Condo #42 which was a very nice 2 bedroom unit which also supplied snorkel equipment for their guests. The view of the beach was beautiful. We spent lots of time exploring the black sand beach which also had all sorts of rock formations that the kids had a blast climbing. The tide changes made the exploration different each and every time. The snorkeling was right off of the beach and was really great with lots of beautiful fish and the kids were excited to even see a couple of stingrays. There is a nice restaurant directly on the beach called Father Rooster which had great food and was so convenient on the nights we didn't feel like heading to Coco, the touristy neighboring town. The condo complex had several swimming pools which were all very nice, and we always stopped at the pools for a short swim after going to the beach. Stephanie, who runs the desk at Los Almendros was always very friendly and helpful. Our family doesn't like crowds and Playa Ocotal was never crowded and a perfect location for our family. Having the snorkeling opportunity right there was even better. We spent lots of time at the beach and also booked a snorkel tour with Pelican tours which are located right on the beach in Ocotal. Our guide spoke little to no English but was fantastic and went out of his way to show us lots of things off shore. We saw a pod of dolphin and then stopped at a beach where he knew howler monkeys hung out and sure enough, there they were eating mangos out of the trees. We came across a giant (and I mean giant) school of black fin tuna. When Brian, our guide, saw them he got out his rod and reel and almost immediately hooked one and allowed my 15 year old son to reel it in which was quite a work out and very exciting. Needless to say, we got a deep sea fishing adventure that my son will never forget! And yes, we also stopped at 3 snorkeling sites which were also very nice. We also made a stop at a "cave" which we thought we were going to snorkel in but it was really a place where the water had created a huge hole in the cliff and water rushed in and out. Our guide walked us to the top of that hill for a gorgeous overlook so that made up for the disappointment of not snorkeling in the "cave." Brian did a great job showing us Costa Rica by boat! I would definitely recommend Los Almendros and Playa Ocotal for any family looking for a great vacation. We took a couple of tours with awesome zip lines, horseback, white water kayaking, volcanoes.... The kids had a trip with so much fun, excitement, and adventure that they will never forget. Costa Rica is a beautiful country with so much for an adventure seeking family to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirsten728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it didn't disappoint. The condo was spacious and the view was incredible. Staying in Ocotal was a great decision. It isn't as popular as nearby Coco so the beach was always nice n quiet. Perfect romantic get away.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have been to Ocotal seven times and Los Almendros is my favorite place to stay. The condos are spacious, comfortable, well kept, very clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and we were just a few minutes walk from the beach and pools. We were close to the dive shop which made it very nice for going diving every day as well. I cannot say enough good things about Los Almendros. We'll be back next year for trip number eight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCOWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
#1 of 2 in Playa Ocotal
127 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
6.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
736 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Almendros de Ocotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Almendros de Ocotal

Address: Playa Ocotal Beach | Next door to Father Rooster's restaurant, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Playa Ocotal
Price Range: $81 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Ocotal's best beachfront value!!! Modern 2, 3 and 5 bedroom condos with beautiful ocean views. A/C, WiFi, cable TV and fully equipped kitchens. Three swimming pools. Beautiful landscaping. 24 hour security. Covered parking. 2-3 minute walk to Playa Ocotal Beach. Playa Ocotal is a prestigous "Blue Flag" beach. The beach has no dangerous riptides and offers excellent family swimming and snorkeling. The rock formations directly below Los Almendros protect numerous species of colorful tropical fish and offer excellent snorkeling. Bilingual staff on duty 7 days a week. General Manager has several years experience planning Guanacaste vacation activities. 5 minutes from Coco's excellent restaurants, souvenir shops, discos and grocery stores. Rocket Frog Diver's office is nearby. Los Almendros guests can walk to Rocket Frog's business office and boat launch site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Los Almendros de Ocotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Almendros De Ocotal Hotel Playa Ocotal
Los Almendros De Ocotal Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing