We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Los Almendros de Ocotal-Pura Vida at its Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Almendros de Ocotal
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Los Almendros de Ocotal-Pura Vida at its Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We loved our stay in Costa Rica and Los Almendros was a perfect place for home base. We had a fun filled vacation with friends, and made new friends along the way! The condo owners were extremely helpful in recommending places for groceries, including a local farmer's market where we bought fresh papaya and other wonderful fruit and vegetables. The condo was clean and neat, and I was delighhted to find a really good stash of books and movies. We had coffee every morning on the deck, overlooking the ocean (easily accessible). The pools and common areas were beautifully maintained. One of the pools was just across the street! The owners also recommended Mardigi Tours and we knew right away that this company was a gem. We took four tours with them and every one was our favorite! Check them out on TripAdvisor too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    24
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Plains, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

This trip was a wonderful funfilled vacation shared with friends. The accomodations were very nice, clean and well maintained. Staff were very helpful and owners did much more than anyone would expect. They were really helpful in helping us decide on where to eat, and what excursions to go on as well as who to use. Mardigi tours. made all our side trips funfilled adventures and we made new friends with them as well as some of the other vacationers. The little cove where this located is beautiful. We went to many high end resorts to pick up others and even the tour guide said he liked this spot best. Peaceful safe beach with great snorkling at high tide on right side of beach. Nice restuarant on beach. pool located 50 feet from door. Beautiful affordable vacation in best area of Costa Rica

Room Tip: ocean view close to pool #11
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

These were the last 3 days of our ten day trip, I had been surfing in Nosara and wanted to get my kids in the water for some snorkeling I had read that this was the spot. So I called the hotel to book 3 nights starting the next night. I had told the office management when booking my desire to spend these days snorkeling, and was told yes we could walk a few steps to the beach and snorkel. What I was not told was there had been red tide for many weeks and the visibility was horrible and the water dangerous to swim in. I would have appreciated honesty that it would not be possible over next few days. I was very disappointed the afternoon of arrival. But let I let it go. Playa Ocotal is an incredibly picturesque spot. Very quiet but good proximity to restaurants and shopping in Playa Del Coco. The condo we stayed in was really comfortable and super clean. Steps to the beach and or the pool. I would not hesitate to come back. In the future I will not rely on the office management to be honest with me about the conditions of the ocean.
I left the Service portion below blank because I felt my experience could not be summed up on a 1-5 scale Other than the dishonesty I felt about the booking I had no problem with it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank GHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Last month my husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at #11 in the Los Almendros gated condo development at Playa Ocotal.

I was not prepared for the beauty of this location. The photos just don't do it justice...they can't capture the stunning drop from the back porch down to the black-sand beach and reefs below, the vast sweep of the view to the edge of Ocotal Bay to the left...and beyond the cliffs to the distant mountains and beaches of Northern Costa Rica to the right. Tall and nearly-leafless trees growing up the steep slope that plunges to the beach make perches for a multitude of wild parakeets and other tropical birds.

Although we brought our snorkeling gear to take advantage of what we've been told is a wonderful reef right below the condo, we found ourselves spending much of our time just sitting and gazing out the back windows or off the porch at this amazing view, listening to the waves crashing on the beach and reef below and to the birds singing in the trees.

Yes, we walked on the beach every day. Yes, we picked up lots of tiny sea shells, watched the fishing boats coming and going, and explored the tide pools. Yes, we spent time every afternoon soaking in the "infinity pool" located directly across from the condo's front door, talking with other vacationers. But the highlight of our visit was the time we spent relaxing in this spotless condo, drinking in the view, preparing simple meals in the well-equipped kitchen and eating them on the glass-topped table in front of the floor-to-ceiling window that overlooked the bay (you could actually look through the table and down to ocean).

The condo has dozens of CDs, though we preferred to listen to the waves and the birds. Also available is a vast library of high-quality DVDs for all ages. I imagine this could be a wonderful destination for a family wanting to stay in an area with little commercial development--teens might be drawn by the snorkeling or by taking advantage of the tours (www.Mardigitours.com) recommended by condo owners Carol and Gordy...and this condo also has high-speed Internet. It was a spectacular destination for a couple who just wanted the chance to relax and reconnect with the beauty of the world and each other.

Thanks, Carol and Gordy, for responding to all our questions, reassuring us about directions, grocery shopping, laundry, etc. and for providing such a comfortable, welcoming place so we and others can enjoy this bit of paradise, too.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PeacefulCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed in #14 with a beachside view for 3 nights. Condo was clean and well kept, though more rustic than what some might perfer (Beds very firm and AC limited to bedrooms). Two pools were in the complex and were clean. Staff that oversee Los Almendros were extremely helpful and always available. This is simply a great place to enjoy a remote beach at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Condos up through at least #20 are beach front. Some are better furnished than others so try to cla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Los Almendros de Ocotal in Condo #42. The beach and area was perfect for what we wanted to do. The staff was friendly and helpful, the condo perfectly furnished and clean and the grounds beautiful and well-maintained. The beautiful pool halfway up the hill was perfect. We did a riverboat tour, a zipline and hiked at Rincon de la Vieja National Park, but we most enjoyed just staying at Los Almendros. We snorkeled nearly every day, usually twice, and saw many beautiful fish plus some exciting rays, eels, colorful moon jellies and lots of pipefish. We snorkeled at both ends of the beach, but the best experience was right in front of the condo. We spent many hours enjoying the beautiful screened patio. We saw over 30 species of birds from there, including mot mots, trogons, anis, parrots and parakeets. We enjoyed the large iguanas, watched a family of raccoons come down out of the trees, a coati wandering right by the patio, the big squirrels and we watched a large troop of howler monkeys by the beach. We went out to eat every evening (love seafood) and we were never disappointed – many wonderful choices and since I had researched them on TripAdvisor we knew what to expect. Father Rooster’s right on the beach was perfect for those times we wanted to stay close. We enjoyed the local atmosphere in and around Playas del Coco. The people are very friendly and helpful. The AutoMercado was almost like a supermarket from home and we enjoyed the more local Luperon and Super Compro markets. The road from Ocotal to Coco was quite an experience. I had imagined open road! It truly was a dream vacation for us and we hope to be able to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Spend a few nights right on the beach with good snorkeling, nice birds, and a great 2 bd. fully equipped apartments with excellent service. The location is much less crowed than other beaches in the area like Playas de Coco etc. and you can walk right out onto the beach and have a lovely view of the sunset

Room Tip: The front rows of houses and apartments are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
5.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
7.7 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
7.7 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
#4 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Almendros de Ocotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Almendros de Ocotal

Property: Los Almendros de Ocotal
Address: Playa Ocotal Beach | Next door to Father Rooster's restaurant, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Ocotal's best beachfront value!!! Modern 2, 3 and 5 bedroom condos with beautiful ocean views. A/C, WiFi, cable TV and fully equipped kitchens. Three swimming pools. Beautiful landscaping. 24 hour security. Covered parking. 2-3 minute walk to Playa Ocotal Beach. Playa Ocotal is a prestigous "Blue Flag" beach. The beach has no dangerous riptides and offers excellent family swimming and snorkeling. The rock formations directly below Los Almendros protect numerous species of colorful tropical fish and offer excellent snorkeling. Bilingual staff on duty 7 days a week. General Manager has several years experience planning Guanacaste vacation activities. 5 minutes from Coco's excellent restaurants, souvenir shops, discos and grocery stores. Rocket Frog Diver's office is nearby. Los Almendros guests can walk to Rocket Frog's business office and boat launch site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Los Almendros de Ocotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Almendros De Ocotal Hotel Playa Ocotal
Los Almendros De Ocotal Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing