We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Spectacular Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Almendros de Ocotal
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Spectacular Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Last month my husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at #11 in the Los Almendros gated condo development at Playa Ocotal.

I was not prepared for the beauty of this location. The photos just don't do it justice...they can't capture the stunning drop from the back porch down to the black-sand beach and reefs below, the vast sweep of the view to the edge of Ocotal Bay to the left...and beyond the cliffs to the distant mountains and beaches of Northern Costa Rica to the right. Tall and nearly-leafless trees growing up the steep slope that plunges to the beach make perches for a multitude of wild parakeets and other tropical birds.

Although we brought our snorkeling gear to take advantage of what we've been told is a wonderful reef right below the condo, we found ourselves spending much of our time just sitting and gazing out the back windows or off the porch at this amazing view, listening to the waves crashing on the beach and reef below and to the birds singing in the trees.

Yes, we walked on the beach every day. Yes, we picked up lots of tiny sea shells, watched the fishing boats coming and going, and explored the tide pools. Yes, we spent time every afternoon soaking in the "infinity pool" located directly across from the condo's front door, talking with other vacationers. But the highlight of our visit was the time we spent relaxing in this spotless condo, drinking in the view, preparing simple meals in the well-equipped kitchen and eating them on the glass-topped table in front of the floor-to-ceiling window that overlooked the bay (you could actually look through the table and down to ocean).

The condo has dozens of CDs, though we preferred to listen to the waves and the birds. Also available is a vast library of high-quality DVDs for all ages. I imagine this could be a wonderful destination for a family wanting to stay in an area with little commercial development--teens might be drawn by the snorkeling or by taking advantage of the tours (www.Mardigitours.com) recommended by condo owners Carol and Gordy...and this condo also has high-speed Internet. It was a spectacular destination for a couple who just wanted the chance to relax and reconnect with the beauty of the world and each other.

Thanks, Carol and Gordy, for responding to all our questions, reassuring us about directions, grocery shopping, laundry, etc. and for providing such a comfortable, welcoming place so we and others can enjoy this bit of paradise, too.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PeacefulCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    24
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed in #14 with a beachside view for 3 nights. Condo was clean and well kept, though more rustic than what some might perfer (Beds very firm and AC limited to bedrooms). Two pools were in the complex and were clean. Staff that oversee Los Almendros were extremely helpful and always available. This is simply a great place to enjoy a remote beach at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Condos up through at least #20 are beach front. Some are better furnished than others so try to cla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Los Almendros de Ocotal in Condo #42. The beach and area was perfect for what we wanted to do. The staff was friendly and helpful, the condo perfectly furnished and clean and the grounds beautiful and well-maintained. The beautiful pool halfway up the hill was perfect. We did a riverboat tour, a zipline and hiked at Rincon de la Vieja National Park, but we most enjoyed just staying at Los Almendros. We snorkeled nearly every day, usually twice, and saw many beautiful fish plus some exciting rays, eels, colorful moon jellies and lots of pipefish. We snorkeled at both ends of the beach, but the best experience was right in front of the condo. We spent many hours enjoying the beautiful screened patio. We saw over 30 species of birds from there, including mot mots, trogons, anis, parrots and parakeets. We enjoyed the large iguanas, watched a family of raccoons come down out of the trees, a coati wandering right by the patio, the big squirrels and we watched a large troop of howler monkeys by the beach. We went out to eat every evening (love seafood) and we were never disappointed – many wonderful choices and since I had researched them on TripAdvisor we knew what to expect. Father Rooster’s right on the beach was perfect for those times we wanted to stay close. We enjoyed the local atmosphere in and around Playas del Coco. The people are very friendly and helpful. The AutoMercado was almost like a supermarket from home and we enjoyed the more local Luperon and Super Compro markets. The road from Ocotal to Coco was quite an experience. I had imagined open road! It truly was a dream vacation for us and we hope to be able to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Spend a few nights right on the beach with good snorkeling, nice birds, and a great 2 bd. fully equipped apartments with excellent service. The location is much less crowed than other beaches in the area like Playas de Coco etc. and you can walk right out onto the beach and have a lovely view of the sunset

Room Tip: The front rows of houses and apartments are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Clean, well appointed lodging in a beautifully landscaped beachside setting. You can sleep to the sound of the surf by night, and enjoy the many water sport activities by day. The staff is friendly and helpful. Shopping for all necessities, restaurants and entertainment are a short drive away. This is one you won’t want to leave.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the condos that overhang the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife, three kids and I stayed in room 29 in September. I live in Costa Rica and I can tell you this is one of the best deals you will find in the country. This is our first time in this resort.Our villa was pristine clean, very well equipped and we feel just as in home. The owners will provide everything you need to have a great vacation time: coolers, snorkel equipment, portable beach chairs and rollaways, etc.

Ocotal is a peaceful and safe place, very clean and quit beach. It is 3 km away from the buzz of Playas del Coco where you will find all kind of shops for your needs. We even took a fishing trip and within a couple of hours we hooked a dozen tuna fish, enough for eating for like a month. If interested in fishing just walk in front of Father Roosters restaurant and you will find people offering these trips.

We will definitely come back to this place. Also, you will need a car to take full advantage of the zone, unless you want to stay only in Ocotal.

Room Tip: It is better to have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreattimeinCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playas del coco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

my husband and i stayed at los almendros for 2 nights in condo # 11. Gordy and Carol donated the stay for a fund raiser we do for poor children at Christmas, we really needed a break. we relaxed and felt like we were home, the condo was so beautiful and clean we were very impressed. it was wonderful to hear the ocean all day and especially at night. The front office was completely informed of our coming and greeted us very nice. we would like to stay again. i hope that Gordy and Carol will donate it again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyduckincoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
5.7 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
7.7 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Coco Palms
Hotel Coco Palms
#6 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
7.7 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
#5 of 11 in Playas del Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Almendros de Ocotal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Almendros de Ocotal

Property: Los Almendros de Ocotal
Address: Playa Ocotal Beach | Next door to Father Rooster's restaurant, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Playa Ocotal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Ocotal's best beachfront value!!! Modern 2, 3 and 5 bedroom condos with beautiful ocean views. A/C, WiFi, cable TV and fully equipped kitchens. Three swimming pools. Beautiful landscaping. 24 hour security. Covered parking. 2-3 minute walk to Playa Ocotal Beach. Playa Ocotal is a prestigous "Blue Flag" beach. The beach has no dangerous riptides and offers excellent family swimming and snorkeling. The rock formations directly below Los Almendros protect numerous species of colorful tropical fish and offer excellent snorkeling. Bilingual staff on duty 7 days a week. General Manager has several years experience planning Guanacaste vacation activities. 5 minutes from Coco's excellent restaurants, souvenir shops, discos and grocery stores. Rocket Frog Diver's office is nearby. Los Almendros guests can walk to Rocket Frog's business office and boat launch site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Los Almendros de Ocotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Almendros De Ocotal Hotel Playa Ocotal
Los Almendros De Ocotal Costa Rica/Playa Ocotal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing