We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If your looking for a really relaxing stay in a...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Twoswedis...
Stockholm County, Sweden
1 review
“If your looking for a really relaxing stay in a great house with a fantastic host, this is the place for you.”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We rented the entire second floor of Calins "mansion". Two families with 4 kids in total from the ages 6 months to 3 years. The upper floor has three rooms with double beds and 2 bathrooms and a large kitchen/ livingroom area. Absolutely perfect for kids with plenty of space to run around and also perfect in the sense that the bedrooms are on each corner of the apartment hence at night the kids did not wake eachother up. We cooked almost all our food in the well equipped kitchen. A couple of times we went down to father roosters restaurant at the beach. Lovely place, fabelous drinks and very kid friendly.

So the apartment is very spacious and well planned andon topof that there is a lovely terrace where we had all our meals and also a well taken care of pool which the kids could not get enough of. Everything you need when you are travelling with kids.

Calin is a great host. We felt more like family rather than just guests. He gave us a lot of information about the area and helped us get a great price on our further transportation. He also took us grocery shopping twice during our one week stay. We would highly recommend casa sueno, especially for families travelling with kids.

PS. On the bottom floor there was also one apartment (for 4 persons) and 4 studios with chared kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying at our guest's beautiful property and feeling like a friend there.
Liked least: Having to say good-bye to our host's and go home.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aurora, Canada
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The caring of the hosts.
Liked least: Somewhat isolated and the driveway was very steep.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2015
Thank you Brenda. We are glad that you enjoy your vacation in our villa. As you know we choose to offer our guest a tranquil and peaceful place, very close to the beach. It isn't to far from the noisy Coco village and as I did with you, I am happy to help my clients to take them there with my car or if I am busy, a taxi is only $6.We wait to have you here any time. you were a woanderful and perfect guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2015
Thank you for your appreciation. You are also very special and fantastic people!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Klapautzi...
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pure Paradise - Pura Vida indeed!”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

First time in Costa Rica, stayed with our hosts Silvia and Calin, who were so wonderful to us and made the stay memorable. The wonderful building, the scenic view of the beach, the green lush forest across the street, all was a marvelous get away from the Canadian freeze. We were treated to gourmet meals on the terrace, every day our hosts surprised us with healthy and tasty dishes.
Go there and enjoy! Be happy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunman49
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Start your Costa Rican adventure here!”
Reviewed December 21, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Whether travelling with friends ,family or solo Villa El Sueno is a fabulous place to start your Costa Rican adventure. Calin and Silvia are wonderful owners. They are very kind and knowledgeable and will gladly answer any questions you may have about the area. The villa itself is beautiful. Tucked in the tree tops, it offers a spectacular view of the ocean ,mountains and wildlife. Just outside the front gate is a quaint little waking path that, in only minutes, will lead you right to Ocotal beach . Playa Ocotal is a lovely little beach with great swimming and snorkeling. It also has one of my favorite little ocean front beach bars," Father Roosters"( great view ,food, and music.).Economically it is almost impossible to find a place which offers so much for so little. This is my second time staying here and hope to have a family reunion at Villa El Sueno sometime soon. I should also mention that Playa Del Coco and 2 other lovely beaches are just a short taxi ride away. It's also great to be so close to the airport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable eaceful and economical place to stay
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing